We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous platters”
Review of The Glass Yard

The Glass Yard
Ranked #95 of 422 Restaurants in Sunderland
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous platters”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Popped in tonight on spur of the moment. Although very quiet this didn't spoil atmosphere. Ordered seafood platter and antipasti platter and a portion of chips between the two of us. Food was absolutely gorgeous and just the right quantity. Bill including a glass of wine and beer less than £30. Staff attentive without being intrusive. Would definitely recommend to anyone and we will be going back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sconny0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Manager at The Glass Yard, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our Brasserie. We are really pleased you enjoyed your platters and the service you received. We look forward to your return visit. If you wish to keep updated regarding future events and offers then please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    39
    16
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice but pricey.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

There was 2 adults and 4 children we all had a drink and a meal and the price was not to bad bit pricey if you have a large family, the staff where very polite and friendly we did not have to wait very long for the food and it was very nicely presented. We all enjoyed what we had would recommend it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gillybean87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Manager at The Glass Yard, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our Brasserie. I am pleased that you enjoyed the service you received and the high quality food that was delivered to your table. I look forward to welcoming you back. If you wish to keep updated regarding future events of offers then please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff excellent service and food”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We visit the Glass Centre fairly regularly and we have never been disappointed in either the Centre itself or the Brasserie
The food is of a very high quality and the staff are also friendly and efficient without hovering over you. They have a knack of being there if you need further service
A very big well done

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Manager at The Glass Yard, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our Brasserie. We pride ourselves on our service and standards and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back. If you wish to keep updated regarding future events and offers then please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cakes of your dreams”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Really warm welcome. Nice atmosphere and views of the river
Cranachan cake was scrummy as was my husbands plum and apple scone with cream. Several more great looking cakes to try so will have to return

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Manager at The Glass Yard, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for you positive feedback regarding our Brasserie. I am pleased you enjoyed the cakes and the service you received. I look forward to your return where you can try another cake from our selection. Alongside our fruit scones and cheese scones we also do a different guest scone each day so I hope your husband tries the guest scone again and gives us the same positive feedback. If you wish to keep updated regarding future events and offers and offers then please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Lunch in the Bistro.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The service was lovely, all the staff were pleasant and the crab sandwiches gorgeous. I really felt looked after, a most enjoyable lunch.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GillianAM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Manager at The Glass Yard, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our Brasserie. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back. To keep up to date with future offers and events then please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Glass Yard also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Glass Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing