We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great football ground with excellent facilities”
Review of Stadium Of Light

Stadium Of Light
Ranked #4 of 48 things to do in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great football ground with excellent facilities”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a great place to visit for both home and away fans but obviously fantastic for home fans and with another ( possibly unexpected ) season beckoning in the Premiership hopefully some goods time are ahead.
Good catering at matches and fan shops with restaurants and other facilities outside of match days.
Also used as a location for special events, music concerts and university graduations.
Ha'way the lads!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    152
    46
    28
    38
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A complete nightmare!!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Firstly, whoever thought putting a huge football stadium in the middle of a city centre was a good idea, needs their head read!

Secondly, whoever thought about using said stadium for major concert events also needs their head read! St James' Park has FAR better public transport links if you want to use a stadium in a central location.

Announcements advising venue goers that merchandise stalls were NOT available inside ticketed areas would have been helpful!!! Merchandise could have been purchased prior to entering the venue and saved the crush at the end of the night (and disappointment over lack of programmes)....my daughter and her friends avoided the merchandise booths outside the ground as they didn't they would be selling licensed products.

Despite saying on tickets for the girls to use ticket entrance 63-65 they were herded past this entrance and made to walk onto a grassed area that was like a muddy bog to go in via another entrance....absolute MADNESS!!!! Going from one queue to another's queue while it absolutely lashed down! Very well thought out....NOT!!!

Whilst they had blocked off a walk way for metro use and allegedly had more metro trains running, the sight of the queue after leaving the merchandise scrum, made me want to weep.....it was so long you couldn't even see the end of it!!! Thank God we were offered a lift home otherwise we'd have been getting home at 6am!

Took us an hour to get out of Sunderland during which time we encountered every idiot in a car known to man who had complete disregard for the Highway Code!

First and last time I agree to go to an event here......if you are listening 1D and have any plans for 2015, stick with the Metro Arena.....far easier for your fans and their parents to get to/from altho' I reckon this will be their last one!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank iwannaliveincalabona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Football nd Dinner”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ive visited the stadium to watch the football, attend functions and attend gigs and i alway enjoy my trip. the staff are friendly and well informed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Venue for football and pop concerts !!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Home of Sunderland football club. The most eventful club in the premier league with the best supporters. Great friendly atmosphere. When the season is finished it becomes home to the best Pop concerts such as Bon Jovi, Take that and many more great bands. Today One direction are hosting there first UK tour concert here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Stadium!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My friend and I went to the Stadium of light to watch a Sunderland AFC match and the venue was amazing. Clean, Spacious, well maintained, etc...
I really recommend visiting the stadium to watch a premiership match, attend a concert or even take a tour!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ramzi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stadium Of Light also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Stadium Of Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing