We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Town but with easy access to town good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in April to attend a wedding. Arrived late at night due to plane delays. No problems booking in, staff courteous and polite. Think the hotel might be a struggle for the infirm or those with walking difficulties as there is no lift. Those in this category would have to specify ground floor accommodation
Very quiet on the weekend we stayed
Plenty of parking space, would say own transport a must
Old Orleans pub restaurant next door served very good breakfast unfortunately short stay precluded us from sampling any other fayre. Other fast food outlet within short walking distance
Would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsunnw, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2011

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do aim to give great service to all of our guests and I am pleased that you found the team to be helpful and friendly.
With regard to your point about us not having a lift, we do mention this when making a reservation, and for any guest who would have difficulty with the stairs please contact us directly and we will do our best to accomodate you on the ground floor.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2011

I stayed here on business.
The hotel was small & clean, and only 5 mins walk from the job I was doing at Lloyds.
The smell in the corridor was of pine, and quite pleasant (compared with the smell of my room).
As I entered the room, it smelt of stale urine & toilets with a light smell of cigarette. This was rather ironic seeing there was a card in the room saying that it costs £100 to get the room fumigated if someone is caught smoking in it. They certainly didn't spend £100 cleaning the smell out of my room. This is obviously just a money making ploy!!
I didn't bother complaining, as I was supposed to be working all night, and was flying out in the monring.
Unfortunately, the job was cancelled, and I did have to return to the room at 3.00 in the morning and cope with the smell.

I am due up in Sunderland again this weekend, so will book this place again for convenience - however, I will complain this time if the room is the same as last time and smells in any way,
And of course I will write a report

Also, they advertise wifi, however this is chargeable - which is rather cheeky in my book. Especially these days - I can to sit outside and connect to the Old Orleans next door which was free.
Another Premier Inn tax!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsunnw, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2011

We are very dissapointed that you were unhappy with the standard of the room during your recent stay with us. We strive to achieve high standards at all times, and we obviously fell short on this occasion.
We are glad that you have decided to stay with us again, and if you wish to discuss your previous stay please feel free to contact a member of the management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Paid only £29 a night for a Family room which was clean and quiet.Hotel itself was in excellent order and staff were helpful and efficient.The Old Orleans Restaurant attached had a lively atmosphere with live Premier football if you wanted it in the bar area.Food was top class in the Restaurant .

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brighty1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

We are delighted that your had a good time during your stay with us. It is great that you made your booking using our Premier Offer and that you found our hotel and facilities to be to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service. Thank you so much for your review, we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We hadn't stayed in a Premier Inn before, and we were very pleasantly surprised by the standard of this budget Hotel. We wouldn't hesitate to stay at a Premier Inn again if this is the standard. Staff were excellent , friendly & helpful.
We ate at the Orleans Restaurant next door, unfortunately the same couldn't be said for there. The evening meal was over priced for the quality, staff not attentative ..even though they were not busy.
Quality of the breakfast was very good, although we were annoyed that hotel details said that Breakfast was served later on Bank holidays, but they decided that Tuesday 28/12/10 didn't qualify although it WAS actually a bank holiday. This was really annoying as we had to get up early. I wouldn't have booked breakfast if I had known.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckylass16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

This is a budget hotel and we felt we got more than we paid for. The location is okay - it's right off the main road however it's a little far from the city center area. There was plenty of parking and a restaurant right next door if you needed food or a drink in a hurry. We did not use the restaurant so I can't comment on the quality or selection of food.

The front desk staff were pleasant and friendly and always said hello and made us feel welcome. They have a sign on the door instructing you to leave your key when you leave the hotel but we never did and they never stopped us to ask for the key. I'm just not comfortable doing that so we just took our key with us everytime we left.
The room itself was clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of outlets to recharge cameras and phones. We had no view, other than the parking lot area but we really didn't need one because we were only in the room to sleep. The hallway was kind of gross and smelled funny but the room itself was fine.
Overall, i would stay here again, especially if on a budget.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellermdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2010

Thanks for your review, at Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay and it is really important to us that our guest are comfortable and enjoy their stay. Your review is very much appreciated as your feedback is so important to us in our endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customers needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Brilliant Value for money, the beds are excellent - comfortable and clean,the bathroom was immaculate with fresh towels and some great personal touches like free soap, Nice tv with good ammount of channels, A very well maintained hotel overall and with friendly staff.
The old orleans diner is brilliant, food was tasty and the staff there also are friendly and helpfull also, shame we slept in for breakfast though, HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO ALL!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motherwellboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Stayed for the Pink concert at the Stadium of Light. Hotel was the closest to the stadium which is why we picked it. Staff couldn't have been more helpfull, they greated us like long lost friends, full of excitment about the concert, (which my partner loved as it was a present for her). They helped us with directions for the Stadium, and explained how the roads were closed and where we could get a taxi to pick us up afterwards. Concert was amazing. Room was perfect, very clean. massive bed, slept like logs. Had breakfast in the Old Orleans, good value for what you get, but we are big eaters! The team were great again the next day, Housekeeping girls were all friendly and helped with our bags as we were ckecking out. The reception team then sorted directions for us to get to the Metrocentre, as shopping was part of the present. All in all a great hotel, with staff that are a credit to the company. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
0 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
756 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
3.7 mi away
Roker Hotel
Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel

Address: Timber Beach Road | Off Wessington Way, Castletown, Sunderland SR5 3XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Price Range: £44 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North West is close to Sunderland City centre, The Stadium of Light and Aquatic Centre, offering a perfect base from which to explore Sunderland, Newcastle, South Shields and surrounding areas. Some of the comfortable rooms at Premier Inn can accommodate 2 adults and 2 children (under 16 years). The 2 children are also served a free full breakfast, when accompanied by an adult purchasing a full cooked breakfast. The full all-you-can-eat breakfast includes cooked items, vegetarian options and a wide continental selection. Premier Inn Sunderland North West is next to ‘Liberty Browns’newly refurbished restaurant, which offers a wide variety of freshly prefared food which consists of Pizza House,Bar and Grill, offering a great experience in dining. Opposite is also D & W fitness centre with day rates available. There is free parking and a 24-hour reception at this Premier Inn. Hotel Rooms: 63. Hotel Chain: Premier Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing