We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous customer service from sunny Sunderland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous customer service from sunny Sunderland”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Superb hotel with wonderfully friendly staff who made me feel really welcome. Rooms fantastically clean and restaurant amenties next door very good again with fabulously helpful and attentive staff.

A special thank you to the marvellous ray of sunshine Paula on reception who brightened my day everytime I saw her, a wonderful asset to the organisation and she is a stand alone reason to visit this Premier Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsunnw, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We do take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel, and the team constantly strive to deliver excellent service at all times. I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    95
    51
    15
    14
See reviews for
95
72
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed here at the beginning of July with family, having stayed here on a number of a occasions previously. it was as expected. A high standard of cleanliness and friendliness. Greeted by smiling receptionist, who we have met previously. Explained everything and went to our clean comfortable room. No issues with room or bathroom. Hairdryer for those who need one and showere gel provided. we were on a B and B stay. Breakfast as good and plentiful as ever. On the first day, they appeared to be extremely busy and a lack of staff meant t here were shortages on the cereal, juice etc and we had to ask for them to be topped up. next day all was fine as hotel appeared a lot quieter. Overall, met all our expectations and will certainly return and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Excellent hotel, with first class staff, couldnt fault anything apart from Liberty Browns which was terrible and has we like breakfast as part of our holiday we will NEVER go back. The place was drab, grubby and the staff looked scruffy. The continental breakfast display was disgusting: dry bread, no plates, the preserves, spreads, tea, coffee and muffins were never replenished, there was no fresh fruit, fruit juice had been spilled all over the table and no one cleaned it up, when the milk was re-filled it was luke warm, there were only dirty cereal bowls, we ate cereal out of tea cups, it took one hour for our cooked breakfast to be served and it left a lot to be desired, totally spoilt our "Treat" of a weekend away for our grandchildren. Lovely hotel but dont eat at Liberty Browns!!!!! My review of the rating is only on the Premier Inn

Room Tip: WE had a family room on the top floor, very quite and very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scruton8179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Excellent hotel with extremely friendly and efficient staff. I understand that the restaurant next door has recently changed (now Liberty Bell?) and it is very good; excellent value for money. My only concern is that the room was very warm; no air conditioning which is suprising. The windows hardly open at all (for security reasons which make sense) which made a bad situation worse. There is a table top fan in the room but it didn't really help that much and was also noisy. The room temperature is the only problem we had with the hote.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The staff were excellent. We had a problem with the tv which they couldn't fix so they offered to move us but as the kids were settled, we were unpacked and we were only staying for a night we stayed put in the room and they gave us a refund for the room and apologised. The staff were also great and very friendly at check out & seemed genuinely cheery. One of the duvet covers had what looked like burn marks along the seems. Overall we thought it was a bit tired looking in comparison to some of the newer Premier Inns that we have stayed in. We have also factored into this a review of the breakfast which we bought through PI but which is served in the adjacent restaurant. The food itself was fine but we noted a few things which we weren't to keen on. Again the staff were very nice but one of the male waiters looked like he could have come straight in from a night out with his black jeans with holes sitting ridiculously low with his backside covered by his shirt. Hygiene was a concern for my wife as she witnessed one member of staff handle every croissant with his hands. She then noticed our friend with the jeans picking up burnt croissants with the tongs and instead of dropping them from a height into the bin, he pushed them down into the bin and then sat the tongs back up next to the croissants. Needless to say we didn't have any croissants. Finally our room and the restaurant lacked air conditioning.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rthorpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Social Media at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing.

We are very pleased however that our team at the hotel could provide assistance, and ensured that you were well looked after. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This was our first time at at Premier Inn - and what a pleasure it was. Normally we use an alternative hotel chain when we come to Sunderland to see family, but had been rather disappointed with the rooms. This was so much better. Big comfy bed, clean and welcoming room and bathroom = great showee :-}

Lovely lady on reception and parking was easy. Lenny certainly tells the truth when doing the adverising!

Unfortunately the restaurant next door was rather poor.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueFli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was our second stay at this Premier Inn, we stayed for three nights to attend our son's graduation at Sunderland uni. Incidentally it cost nearly twice as much as last time, obviously because of graduation week!

The hotel was fine, room comfortable and clean, very good shower. Could have done with some more hangers, not enough for two of us for three nights. A couple of comments the management might like to consider:

We were surprised that a modern building like this doesn't have a lift. Carrying suitcases up three flights of stairs isn't fun, and there was no offer of help. We also felt that the security was inadequate. Other Premier Inns we've stayed in have required a swipe card to get through the door to the bedrooms, but there was no such system here and it seems anyone could go through. There were several different staff members on Reception during our stay and they wouldn't necessarily have recognised someone as a bone fide guest. As a female, if I'd been on my own I'd have felt rather nervous.

The main thing that lets this Premier Inn down is the Liberty Brown restaurant. We had a full English breakfast there on the first morning, it was slow to arrive even though the restaurant was quiet, and it wasn't really worth waiting for. The bacon was pretty much inedible, very tough, like it had been cooked in advance and re-heated, although it wasn't actually very hot. The poached eggs tasted of vinegar, I assume this had been added to the water to help 'bind' the eggs, which is reasonable if it's only a few drops - this was excessive. There was no fresh fruit, when we asked about this we were just told they'd run out. At £8.25 each, this was poor value for money. No-one came to ask if the food was OK. We told the Premier Inn receptionist that we weren't happy with the breakfast, and she seemed concerned, but no refund was offered. We decided to have the Continental breakfast the next day, and it was OK (the fruit was back), but I didn't feel my complaint was taken seriously. There are several poor reviews of this restaurant and in the management responses Premier Inn seem to distance themselves from the complaints on the grounds that 'the restaurant isn't part of the Whitbread group', but the fact that the menus are in Reception and in the bedrooms could be considered as endorsement. We didn't even consider eating dinner there, and if we stay here again it's unlikely we'll use the restaurant at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quieter side further from the main road if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Roker Hotel
Best Western Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Address: Timber Beach Road | Off Wessington Way, Castletown, Sunderland SR5 3XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North West is close to Sunderland City centre, The Stadium of Light and Aquatic Centre, offering a perfect base from which to explore Sunderland, Newcastle, South Shields and surrounding areas. Some of the comfortable rooms at Premier Inn can accommodate 2 adults and 2 children (under 16 years). The 2 children are also served a free full breakfast, when accompanied by an adult purchasing a full cooked breakfast. The full all-you-can-eat breakfast includes cooked items, vegetarian options and a wide continental selection. Premier Inn Sunderland North West is next to ‘Liberty Browns’newly refurbished restaurant, which offers a wide variety of freshly prefared food which consists of Pizza House,Bar and Grill, offering a great experience in dining. Opposite is also D & W fitness centre with day rates available. There is free parking and a 24-hour reception at this Premier Inn. Hotel Rooms: 63. Hotel Chain: Premier Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing