We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
124
106
53
17
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
106
53
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant next door liberty browns retail park stayed here very pleasant stay staff on reception ample parking comfortable bed excellent value for money family room city centre inns costa paula sainsburys stadium light
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This rating is offered on the PREMIER INN ONLY and does not take account of the "add on breakfast, which was AWFUL".

On first arrival we were pleasantly welcomed by the receptionist and checked in very quickly. Our room was very clean and comfortable and looked well cared for. The bed was comfy and the bathroom facility was excellent, although the shower took a little bit of sorting to get the temperature right. All in all, not a single thing to be disappointed about in the hotel.

However ................ Premier have an arrangement with a privately owned establishment next door for breakfast and I have to say it really lets the place down. It is untidy on first glance but if you look a little deeper is quite unclean. We went for breakfast at 0930 (breakfast advertised 7 - 10 so assume we would have been able to sit for breakfast at 0955 and still eat!!). Expecting to be offered a choice, having paid for a full breakfast, we were just told we had ordered the full english, as if to say "and that is what you will have", so we just had that .... we ate our meal. About half way through someone started hoovering the floor making it difficult to have a conversation with our friends then at exactly 10am they cleared everything from the self service buffet. We just managed to grab a second cup of tea before the drinks went, only to be informed 10 minutes later (approximately 1015) that we had to go as they wanted to lock up. To top it all, despite having provided room numbers on entry (how else would they know what we ordered) we were just about frog marched by another member of staff to the entry point and told to wait whilst they checked our rooms again, treating us like criminals as though we had eaten but not paid. Suffice to say, if we stay here again I will be breakfasting at the Sainsbury Superstore across the road.....

Don't let the breakfast put you off the Premier Inn but do go elsewhere for breakfast, even one of the Cafe's in Sunderland or along the beach at Roker/Seaburn ....

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuckyLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsunnw, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We do take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel, and the team constantly strive to deliver excellent service at all times. I have passed on your feedback to the Liberty Browns General Manager and be assured that the standards and service of breakfast, have improved, We do look forward to welcoming you back to Sunderland North West in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here prior to running the Marathon of the North. Needed it be quiet and comfortable - and it was. Really friendly staff as well, and a decent restaurant next door. Very large room (as we were there as a family of 4). Hugely impressed and the usual very good value. Impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40DavidF40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Yet again we got the predictable and reliable service that we have come to expect from the Premier Inn and at a bargain price. Lovely staff, immaculate room and comfy beds. And what a bonus being right next to Liberty Brown's restaurant. Lovely evening meal eaten on the first night. There is another Premier Inn just up the road but that one only has a Brewer's Fayre!

Room Tip: I don't suppose it matters which room you sleep in as the hotel is basically in a car park.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungryScarborough_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

An over nighter to attend a match at Stadium of Light. Very comfortable stay with friendly welcoming staff. Well within walking distance of the stadium. Restaurant on site so breakfast not a problem. Would stay again if attending a match again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordilindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We love the Premier Inns because we know from experience that we are going to get very consistent quality and we think it is very good value for money. What distinguished Sunderland North West was the very high level of service from all of the staff. We received a very friendly welcome; we really appreciated the Happy Easter Card in the room; staff were helpful in giving directions, ordering taxis, providing local knowledge, cleaning our room etc etc. The fitted room furnishings were a bit tired, but still all perfectly functional, whilst the beds were really comfortable. The room was too warm for us and we were not successful in trying to turn down the heating, but the window opened readily. However, the service was absolutely exemplary. I have no hesitation in highly commending this Premier Inn to you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews