We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, very noisily rooms on ground floor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, friendly staff, very noisily rooms on ground floor!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We booked a room here for a weekend in Newcastle, staying here on a Saturday night.

Having read the reviews I was a bit wary of noise from the adjacent pub / nightclub, but there was no issue with this at all, and the breakfast there in the morning was very nice.

On arrival and throughout our visit the hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The problem we had was the noise in the room. We were in room no.1 on the ground floor and the noise from the room above was horrendous. It literally sounded like there was an elephant in the room above. This went on from about 9.30pm until almost midnight. It woke our kids on two occasions, prompting me to telephone reception. Again the staff member was helpful, saying that he would find out what was going on. It didn't really solve the problem, but there's not much the hotel can do about noisy neighbours.

Overall I would recommend the hotel, but try to insist on a top floor room if you want a good night.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulmacbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    95
    51
    16
    14
See reviews for
96
72
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I would just like to say i stayed here for 3 weeks on business and had a very comfortable stay. The staff are great particularly the lady on reception with dark hair who was very friendly. Unfortunately liberty browns located adjacent to Premier Inn where you eat dinner lets you down as the service is terrible. Had it not been for the fact that the location was isolated i would of eaten else where. One suggestion is that housekeeping pull out the beds as one week i was in a family room there were grapes and a tissue underneath.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkieexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights last month while visiting family. Pretty easy to find, nice comfy rooms, (bed was huge) and very clean.
Didn't try Liberty Browns (restaurant next door) although it looked pretty busy.
Have already rebooked to stay again in 2 weeks time while visiting again. Wouldnt even consider trying any other hotels after staying here. Staff are very friendly and chatty, its a nice clean hotel and there is hardly any noise at night to say its next to a main road!
Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed 1 night. Very close to Sunderland Yacht Club, so ideal as my son was sailing there. Typical Premier Inn experience, rooms, beds and tv all fine.
The odd thing about this hotel is the restaurant next door which, given that it's in the middle of an industrial estate seems to be where a certain type of late 20's/early 30's person goes on a Saturday night! We don't eat here, but use the restaurant up the road at the next Premier Inn!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DadSupportingSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsunnw, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We do take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel, and the team constantly strive to deliver excellent service at all times. I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Conveniently situated on the way into Sunderland. The lady on reception was delightful and so welcoming. The rooms were fine - premier inn standard.

We went across to the restaurant and the service there was poor. we went across twice - once for coffee and a snack - the food was microwaved and so bad we sent it back and again for breakfast (that we'd prepaid). Breakfast itself was just ok but again the service was poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsunnw, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We do take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel, and the team constantly strive to deliver excellent service at all times and i am pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. I have passed on your feedback to the Liberty Browns, General Manager, which their have taken on board. We do look foward to welcoming you back to Sunderland North West in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We booked for two nights (a Friday & Saturday) as we were attending a wedding & it was reasonable value at £95. This hotel is next to a retail park & has a lively bar/restaurant next door which is open until 1.00am weekends - we didn't go in but it looked very popular, there is a shared car park. Our room was on the third floor & there is no lift, so could be difficult for less mobile guests, the room was standard & is perhaps almost in need of a bit of a refurb although the bed was huge & very comfortable! We did discover though, on the second night, one of the clean drinking glasses in our room had residue in the bottom & down the sides from a previous drink - a minor thing but off putting..we also noticed we could hear the person in the next room talking on his phone quite clearly, so found ourselves feeling quite conscious of the need to be very quiet - I'm glad we were 2 adults with no young children!
The reception staff were lovely & very helpful, but given the choice, I probably would select an alternative in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howesthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsunnw, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We do take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel, and the team constantly strive to deliver excellent service at all times but i am sorry to hear that you didnt feel that on all of youre visit with us. We do hope you will stay at Sunderland North West in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here last week and you get exactly what the tv adverts suggest Clean comfortable accommodation. Friendly efficient staff. I didn't feel too good in the evening and the adjoining eatery allowed us to buy pizza to take back to the room, which they don't normally do.

All in all a very good stop over

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopingtowin2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsunnw, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We do take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel, and the team constantly strive to deliver excellent service at all times. I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Roker Hotel
Best Western Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Address: Timber Beach Road | Off Wessington Way, Castletown, Sunderland SR5 3XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North West is close to Sunderland City centre, The Stadium of Light and Aquatic Centre, offering a perfect base from which to explore Sunderland, Newcastle, South Shields and surrounding areas. Some of the comfortable rooms at Premier Inn can accommodate 2 adults and 2 children (under 16 years). The 2 children are also served a free full breakfast, when accompanied by an adult purchasing a full cooked breakfast. The full all-you-can-eat breakfast includes cooked items, vegetarian options and a wide continental selection. Premier Inn Sunderland North West is next to ‘Liberty Browns’newly refurbished restaurant, which offers a wide variety of freshly prefared food which consists of Pizza House,Bar and Grill, offering a great experience in dining. Opposite is also D & W fitness centre with day rates available. There is free parking and a 24-hour reception at this Premier Inn. Hotel Rooms: 63. Hotel Chain: Premier Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing