We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, pleasant, helpful, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for money, pleasant, helpful, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We hadn't stayed in a Premier Inn before, and we were very pleasantly surprised by the standard of this budget Hotel. We wouldn't hesitate to stay at a Premier Inn again if this is the standard. Staff were excellent , friendly & helpful.
We ate at the Orleans Restaurant next door, unfortunately the same couldn't be said for there. The evening meal was over priced for the quality, staff not attentative ..even though they were not busy.
Quality of the breakfast was very good, although we were annoyed that hotel details said that Breakfast was served later on Bank holidays, but they decided that Tuesday 28/12/10 didn't qualify although it WAS actually a bank holiday. This was really annoying as we had to get up early. I wouldn't have booked breakfast if I had known.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckylass16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    96
    51
    16
    14
See reviews for
98
74
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

This is a budget hotel and we felt we got more than we paid for. The location is okay - it's right off the main road however it's a little far from the city center area. There was plenty of parking and a restaurant right next door if you needed food or a drink in a hurry. We did not use the restaurant so I can't comment on the quality or selection of food.

The front desk staff were pleasant and friendly and always said hello and made us feel welcome. They have a sign on the door instructing you to leave your key when you leave the hotel but we never did and they never stopped us to ask for the key. I'm just not comfortable doing that so we just took our key with us everytime we left.
The room itself was clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of outlets to recharge cameras and phones. We had no view, other than the parking lot area but we really didn't need one because we were only in the room to sleep. The hallway was kind of gross and smelled funny but the room itself was fine.
Overall, i would stay here again, especially if on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellermdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2010
Thanks for your review, at Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay and it is really important to us that our guest are comfortable and enjoy their stay. Your review is very much appreciated as your feedback is so important to us in our endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customers needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motherwell
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Brilliant Value for money, the beds are excellent - comfortable and clean,the bathroom was immaculate with fresh towels and some great personal touches like free soap, Nice tv with good ammount of channels, A very well maintained hotel overall and with friendly staff.
The old orleans diner is brilliant, food was tasty and the staff there also are friendly and helpfull also, shame we slept in for breakfast though, HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO ALL!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherwellboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Stayed for the Pink concert at the Stadium of Light. Hotel was the closest to the stadium which is why we picked it. Staff couldn't have been more helpfull, they greated us like long lost friends, full of excitment about the concert, (which my partner loved as it was a present for her). They helped us with directions for the Stadium, and explained how the roads were closed and where we could get a taxi to pick us up afterwards. Concert was amazing. Room was perfect, very clean. massive bed, slept like logs. Had breakfast in the Old Orleans, good value for what you get, but we are big eaters! The team were great again the next day, Housekeeping girls were all friendly and helped with our bags as we were ckecking out. The reception team then sorted directions for us to get to the Metrocentre, as shopping was part of the present. All in all a great hotel, with staff that are a credit to the company. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed for 1 night after going to Evolution music festival and the we were tired so didn't really observe the hotel. The room was very clean and there were three beds: 2 singles which were comfortable and a huge super king size bed that could have fitted the whole family in. The tv was modern and the toilet had a nice shower. The premier inn is right next to a retail park. We had breakfast at the restaurant 'Old Orleans' and we had no complaints with the food. Overall a good experience with Premier Inn

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank footie-angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
Thanks for your review of our hotel. It is great that our clean hotel, great location and eating facilities met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Stayed for 2 nights when my wife competed in Great North Run. All staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean and roomy. Enjoyed both breakfast and evening meal in restaurant next door. Did not find noise from road a hinderance to sleep. Value for money ok.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Stayed for a couple of nights. The advice about the noisy nearby road is true - I definitely couldn't leave the window open on a warm night. The room was clean, comfortable, had a decent bathroom, and was spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful given the constraints of a Premier Inn.
The Old Orleans pub/restaurant next door had a suspiciously hurried service for dinner, and this was confirmed by the food being awful. The Caesar salad was drowned in a far too strong dressing and the ingredients poor quality. The chicken fajitas accompaniments were inedible. Definitely avoid!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr-brunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
385 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
719 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
2.5 mi away
Roker Hotel
Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Address: Timber Beach Road | Off Wessington Way, Castletown, Sunderland SR5 3XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North West is close to Sunderland City centre, The Stadium of Light and Aquatic Centre, offering a perfect base from which to explore Sunderland, Newcastle, South Shields and surrounding areas. Some of the comfortable rooms at Premier Inn can accommodate 2 adults and 2 children (under 16 years). The 2 children are also served a free full breakfast, when accompanied by an adult purchasing a full cooked breakfast. The full all-you-can-eat breakfast includes cooked items, vegetarian options and a wide continental selection. Premier Inn Sunderland North West is next to ‘Liberty Browns’newly refurbished restaurant, which offers a wide variety of freshly prefared food which consists of Pizza House,Bar and Grill, offering a great experience in dining. Opposite is also D & W fitness centre with day rates available. There is free parking and a 24-hour reception at this Premier Inn. Hotel Rooms: 63. Hotel Chain: Premier Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing