We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient - shame about the smell!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Convenient - shame about the smell!”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I stayed here on business.
The hotel was small & clean, and only 5 mins walk from the job I was doing at Lloyds.
The smell in the corridor was of pine, and quite pleasant (compared with the smell of my room).
As I entered the room, it smelt of stale urine & toilets with a light smell of cigarette. This was rather ironic seeing there was a card in the room saying that it costs £100 to get the room fumigated if someone is caught smoking in it. They certainly didn't spend £100 cleaning the smell out of my room. This is obviously just a money making ploy!!
I didn't bother complaining, as I was supposed to be working all night, and was flying out in the monring.
Unfortunately, the job was cancelled, and I did have to return to the room at 3.00 in the morning and cope with the smell.

I am due up in Sunderland again this weekend, so will book this place again for convenience - however, I will complain this time if the room is the same as last time and smells in any way,
And of course I will write a report

Also, they advertise wifi, however this is chargeable - which is rather cheeky in my book. Especially these days - I can to sit outside and connect to the Old Orleans next door which was free.
Another Premier Inn tax!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsunnw, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
We are very dissapointed that you were unhappy with the standard of the room during your recent stay with us. We strive to achieve high standards at all times, and we obviously fell short on this occasion.
We are glad that you have decided to stay with us again, and if you wish to discuss your previous stay please feel free to contact a member of the management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    97
    52
    16
    14
See reviews for
101
74
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Paid only £29 a night for a Family room which was clean and quiet.Hotel itself was in excellent order and staff were helpful and efficient.The Old Orleans Restaurant attached had a lively atmosphere with live Premier football if you wanted it in the bar area.Food was top class in the Restaurant .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brighty1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
We are delighted that your had a good time during your stay with us. It is great that you made your booking using our Premier Offer and that you found our hotel and facilities to be to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service. Thank you so much for your review, we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We hadn't stayed in a Premier Inn before, and we were very pleasantly surprised by the standard of this budget Hotel. We wouldn't hesitate to stay at a Premier Inn again if this is the standard. Staff were excellent , friendly & helpful.
We ate at the Orleans Restaurant next door, unfortunately the same couldn't be said for there. The evening meal was over priced for the quality, staff not attentative ..even though they were not busy.
Quality of the breakfast was very good, although we were annoyed that hotel details said that Breakfast was served later on Bank holidays, but they decided that Tuesday 28/12/10 didn't qualify although it WAS actually a bank holiday. This was really annoying as we had to get up early. I wouldn't have booked breakfast if I had known.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckylass16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

This is a budget hotel and we felt we got more than we paid for. The location is okay - it's right off the main road however it's a little far from the city center area. There was plenty of parking and a restaurant right next door if you needed food or a drink in a hurry. We did not use the restaurant so I can't comment on the quality or selection of food.

The front desk staff were pleasant and friendly and always said hello and made us feel welcome. They have a sign on the door instructing you to leave your key when you leave the hotel but we never did and they never stopped us to ask for the key. I'm just not comfortable doing that so we just took our key with us everytime we left.
The room itself was clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of outlets to recharge cameras and phones. We had no view, other than the parking lot area but we really didn't need one because we were only in the room to sleep. The hallway was kind of gross and smelled funny but the room itself was fine.
Overall, i would stay here again, especially if on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellermdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2010
Thanks for your review, at Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay and it is really important to us that our guest are comfortable and enjoy their stay. Your review is very much appreciated as your feedback is so important to us in our endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customers needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motherwell
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Brilliant Value for money, the beds are excellent - comfortable and clean,the bathroom was immaculate with fresh towels and some great personal touches like free soap, Nice tv with good ammount of channels, A very well maintained hotel overall and with friendly staff.
The old orleans diner is brilliant, food was tasty and the staff there also are friendly and helpfull also, shame we slept in for breakfast though, HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO ALL!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherwellboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Stayed for the Pink concert at the Stadium of Light. Hotel was the closest to the stadium which is why we picked it. Staff couldn't have been more helpfull, they greated us like long lost friends, full of excitment about the concert, (which my partner loved as it was a present for her). They helped us with directions for the Stadium, and explained how the roads were closed and where we could get a taxi to pick us up afterwards. Concert was amazing. Room was perfect, very clean. massive bed, slept like logs. Had breakfast in the Old Orleans, good value for what you get, but we are big eaters! The team were great again the next day, Housekeeping girls were all friendly and helped with our bags as we were ckecking out. The reception team then sorted directions for us to get to the Metrocentre, as shopping was part of the present. All in all a great hotel, with staff that are a credit to the company. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed for 1 night after going to Evolution music festival and the we were tired so didn't really observe the hotel. The room was very clean and there were three beds: 2 singles which were comfortable and a huge super king size bed that could have fitted the whole family in. The tv was modern and the toilet had a nice shower. The premier inn is right next to a retail park. We had breakfast at the restaurant 'Old Orleans' and we had no complaints with the food. Overall a good experience with Premier Inn

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank footie-angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
Thanks for your review of our hotel. It is great that our clean hotel, great location and eating facilities met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
2.7 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
727 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland Central
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
2.4 mi away
April Guest House
April Guest House
#9 of 10 in Sunderland
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Address: Timber Beach Road | Off Wessington Way, Castletown, Sunderland SR5 3XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North West is close to Sunderland City centre, The Stadium of Light and Aquatic Centre, offering a perfect base from which to explore Sunderland, Newcastle, South Shields and surrounding areas. Some of the comfortable rooms at Premier Inn can accommodate 2 adults and 2 children (under 16 years). The 2 children are also served a free full breakfast, when accompanied by an adult purchasing a full cooked breakfast. The full all-you-can-eat breakfast includes cooked items, vegetarian options and a wide continental selection. Premier Inn Sunderland North West is next to ‘Liberty Browns’newly refurbished restaurant, which offers a wide variety of freshly prefared food which consists of Pizza House,Bar and Grill, offering a great experience in dining. Opposite is also D & W fitness centre with day rates available. There is free parking and a 24-hour reception at this Premier Inn. Hotel Rooms: 63. Hotel Chain: Premier Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing