We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alishaan Cafe

Alishaan Cafe
Ranked #59 of 417 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Ecellent food,a comprehensive menu,all freshly cooked and attentive staff. Considerate of elderly relative in our party. Would eat their again and recommend it to others.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    17
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Had a takeaway from here last night ~ very bland food. The bhaji's were comically small and the chapati was like an old shoe. And the food was cold.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is the first time me, family & friends visited this restaurant, 16 in total. We had heard good reviews so decided to visit for my 30th.

The food was excellent & very delicious, best Indian food in Sunderland at the moment.

We didn't have to wait very long for food & it was well presented. It was very hot in the restaurant, but it had been a warm day. You can take your own alcohol & the staff provide glasses etc for a £1 corkage charge. Our waiter was a little grumpy at times, but all in all we would definitely recommend this restaurant & will definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LennyBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another very good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited Alishaan for the second time in a fortnight last night. Once again the food was of the highest standard. The very friendly staff are happy to discuss your choice as you order to make sure you get exactly what you are hoping for.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slandlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot and try many places offering this kind of food. have to say this has been one of the best. Attentive staff but most of all fabulous food presented very well

Helpful?
Thank anoonnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alishaan Cafe also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Alishaan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing