We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minchella's Fish and Chips

Minchella's Fish and Chips
Ranked #37 of 417 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: FISH AND CHIPS TAKEAWAY WITH OUTSIDE DINING AREA.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasty food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Always love getting fish and chips from here. Love a bit gravy on them too! And get to enjoy them sitting at the seafront :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kkscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western part
Level Contributor
244 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice service. good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The fish and chips were great as was the service They take cash only, but everyone should always make sure they have cash.
I would have given a top rating but actually Oliver's in Redcar, where we had fish and chips the next day was even better.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank guy_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty, friendly staff too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Went on a sunny Sunday mainly to visit the beach. Got hungry and decided to try the fish and chips out. Blew our socks off! Also loved their mushy peas.

Only problem was their blue box - mushy peas turned blue when in contact with the box, hence the four star rating. Otherwise absolutely fantastic.

P.s. blue box is not enough to keep me away :P

Helpful?
Thank YvonneSYapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Simply the best! And a great location, too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This open air fish and chip bar always has the longest queues, and for good reason. Not only is everything very freshly fried, but the fish and chips are simply the best! Whether Cod, Haddock or Plaice, the batter is crisp and the fish inside beautifully cooked. The chips are hand cut, invariably crisp on the outside and soft in the middle. There are tables on the pavement where you can eat your meal, and the long, sandy Seaburn beach is across the road where you can walk off your meal afterwards! I found this place by chance a few years ago, and will come back whenever a great fish supper and a walk by the sea calls! Very highly recommended - a family favourite.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“great take away food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

One of the best places to buy take away fish and chips. It has rarely let me down though I only go when I see a they are busy knowing that the food will be freshly cooked.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minchella's Fish and Chips also viewed

 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Minchella's Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing