We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses
Ranked #9 of 16 Sunderland B&B and Inns
Seaham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cosy and clean”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have just returned home from an overnight stay here and I can honestly say, this is a lovely place to stay. The owners were really friendly and helpful. We stayed in a double room with a four poster bed, the room was clean, cosy and everything you would need in a B&B. Breakfast was gorgeous, a nice full english with tea, toast and orange juice. My Husband booked this stay on the internet and we even had a bottle of wine waiting for us on our arrival. We wanted somewhere different to go for a night out which was easy to get to using public transport, and this was perfect. Thanks so much to the owners, we had a great night, very relaxed and refreshed.

Room Tip: Book a room with a four poster bed, they are really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleggy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    27
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
34
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I have just come back from a weekend at the terrace guest house. For value for money it can not be faulted. The place it self is a bit dated but I think it is gradually being updated. I stayed in a room that had recently been updated. It was clean modern double 4 poster bed overlooking the sea stunning views. Great breakfast, very friendly staff, what more could you ask for from a bed and breakfast. well done.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nor5053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Dont get me wrong. I think this is a very pleasant b&b, in a great location, and run by a delightful young couple who go all out to extend a friendly welcome to their guests.
We stayed there 5 or 6 times some years ago when our son was at uni in Newcastle and absolutely loved it each time. When our son announced he was attending a stag night reunion with a number of uni friends, we couldnt resist the opportunity to return to this pleasant part of the country whist ensuring junior got home in one piece!
Having only decided to go on the night before we actually left, it was with trepidation that I emailed our favourite guest house to see if they could find space for us on the Friday and Saturday night. Ideally, we wanted a twin en suite with sea view, as the view over the jetty and Roker Lighthouse is really not to be missed. In the event we were offered a small double with sea view, but no ensuite, for £42. Alternatively they had a twin ensuite with rear view for £50. We opted for the seaview.
On arrival, we were greeted by the friendly proprietess Victoria. She remembered us from previous visits and made us feel really welcome ( as always) She was also able to offer us an alternative room due to a cancellation. This was for a front facing ensuite double with four poster bed and large flat screen tv. She offered this with a £5 reduction at a cost of £55 per night including breakfast, and my wife snapped her hand off before I had a chance to say a word!
The bed was comfy, the freeview tv a real bonus and the view from the window seat in the room's bay window was exactly as I remember it, with the added bonus that first morning of watching a large navy boat as it emerged from the nearby Sunderland dock area and made its way past the lighthouse and out to sea.
During our stay we made nostalgic visits to 2 places we enjoyed in the past - the Marsden Grotto pub and restaurant in a cave with its 100 foot lift down to its beach location, and the Smugglers Pub on the beach across the road from the Balmoral where excellent bands appear every Friday and Saturday.
During a late afternoon drink in the delightful Roker Hotel 3 doors down from our own hotel, we saw a notice advertising a Rod Stewart tribute concert and 3 course meal for £10 per head (yes £10) taking place that night in the hotel ballroom. Needless to say we signed up there and then and enjoyed an excellent meal and a good hour of entertainment, courtesy of an accomplished entertainer from our part of the country judging by his accent. Top value and thoroughly enjoyable, made even better by the company of a family of six geordies (grandmother, grandfather, mother and three very attractive daughters) who shared our dinner table and made us feel most welcome all evening.
So that was our weekend.
Very enjoyable, very tiring and at least we got our son back home in one piece, despite having to stop a few times on the way back to let him leave evidence of his 2 night drinking exploits by the wayside!
And the "but"?
Perhaps it's because I have watched too many "Four in a bed" but
I'm not sure that our room warranted a charge of £55 per night despite the absolutely gigantic cooked breakfast. That however is probably down to me, not Victoria and Darren, as the car park outside the hotel showed that plenty of other people are more than happy to pay the rates they ask.
It certainly wouldn't stop me from ringing them first should I ever be needing accommodation in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlskrona, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed at The Balmoral & Terrace for a week. We found the owners very friendly and could not have been more welcoming and helpful.
I'll certainly be going there again +++++

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenriGl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We arrived after a long and tiresome journey from Sweden to Sunderland for the International Airshow. We arrived at the Balmoral & Terrace Guest house and was warmly greeted by Victoria Gilmore Smith.The rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable. The view of the Roker beach was lovely !
The location was good and buss services into Sunderland were perfect. Good English breakfast .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just like to say a big thankyou to Darren, Victoria and Lynn and everybody who works at the Balmoral + Terrace., the hospitality is second to none.Big breakfast in the morning is just what you need. Excellent views, especially when your watching the Airshow. They even threw a birthday party for my son! We'll be back next year! Alan ,Danielle, Charlie ,Archie,,,,,,,,,Brighouse West Yorkshire

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and myself have stayed in this guest house on numerous occasions, we found it to be warm, cosy and welcomming, always clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and very friendly . The breakfast is first class with a new modern dinning room, i find it hard to beleive that anyone can give a bad review of this guest house, as i have recommended this guest house to all my friends and family,
The view from the four poster bedroom is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collette011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
0.1 mi away
Roker Hotel
Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
826 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
719 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses

Property: The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses
Address: 2-3 Roker Terrace | Roker Seafront, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balmoral And Terrace Guest Houses
The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing