We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night was had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses
Ranked #9 of 16 Sunderland B&B and Inns
England
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“A good night was had”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed here overnight as a last minute booking. Located right on the sea front the views of the harbour and sea are fantastic, but these can only be appreciated if your room is at the front or you use the front patio area, which is very nice.
The reception area and breakfast room is well decorated however thte room we stayed in was poor. The decor and furnishings were well past the sell by date and is in need of urgent updating.
The bed was comfortable and the noise level at night was good.
Tea and coffee provided in the room and a full size fridge, which i thought was rather strange, and made a dreadfull noise, so much so I turned it off!
Breakfast was superb with a service to match. The couple who are managing the place are simply wonderful and very very helpfull, in fact they made the stay otherwise the rating would have been less favourable.
Would I stay again, probably as the hosts were superb, I would however try and book a front facing room which was hopefully in better condition than this one!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YOU-you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    28
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
37
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

On a return visit after a 45 year absence we stayed at The Balmoral.
We booked room 2 overlooking Roker Bay. What a lovely room with a four poster bed, a small spotless bathroom and the BEST breakfasts!
A lovely stay, fabulous hosts and a very memorable trip back up North.
A weeks stay in the above room cost £240. Close to Sunderland and The National Glass Centre and on main bus routes to Whitburn, Seaburn, South Shields and Marsden, The Balmoral is fantastic value and highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StefanoBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked the day before our 4 night stay.
We requested a larger room due to a cot bed and also a fridge and microwave for our little ones food and milk.
On arrival we were welcomed with a warm welcome.
We found the outside a bit old looking but the inside tells a different story, clean, modern and cozy.
Our room had a 4 poster bed and a fantastic sea view. As requested our fridge and microwave were in the room.
The breakfast was fresh and faultless and always greeted with a warm smile for the morning.
We had a fault with our shower. We reported it and straight away it was repaired.
I could not recommended this warm homely place more and look forward to coming back. Thank you so much for everything.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

It was easy to communicate with the manager via email to book the rooms, and he was very friendly. The view from my room was great - right onto the sea. There was also free wifi access. However, the entire place could use a good cleaning. There was a bit of mold in my bathroom, and a spring in the bed dug into my back. And the woman who served us breakfast the first morning was not friendly at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarita08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here 21st June for one night with my 11yr ols son. Booked very last minute and was told the only room availble was a small room at the back of the B&B. On arrival i was pleasantly surprised to be given a largish family room instead with en suit. Large tv, fridge abd micro wave. Location is perfect right on the sea front. Breakfast next morning was lovely. Cooked to perfection. Land Lady allowed me to park my car in the car park after checkout whilst i went to a concert for 8 hrs. A lovely stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This B and B is deceptive from its exterior .
We stayed in The Terrace in Room B (The Zebra Room) and found it to be very comfortable,excellent facilities (large TV,microwave and a fridge) as well as a tasty decorated bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have been going back to balmoral and their lovely lovely
Staff, accommodation, and breakfasts for past 8 years . We cannot recommend them highly enough and wouldn't stay anywhere else . We go back regularly several times a year it's marvellous . Jackie and Bill from aintree Liverpool

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wizardjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
0.7 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
728 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
0.1 mi away
April Guest House
April Guest House
#9 of 10 in Sunderland
44 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses

Property: The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses
Address: 2-3 Roker Terrace | Roker Seafront, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses Hotel Sunderland
The Balmoral And Terrace Guest Houses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing