We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, cheerful and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses
Ranked #9 of 17 Sunderland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2009

A basic, but very comfortable bed & breakfast. The exterior and hall decor does look a litle tired, but don't let that fool you. The bathroom was very clean and the bed very comfortable. Also enjoyed a fabulous cooked breakfast and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Very good value!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purpledusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2009

Darren and Victoria where soo helpful! they even aragned a ride on newyears eve for us. most wonderful people you could ask for! rooms where cleen! and with great view! and we kew there was alittle reovason giong on it was not aparent to us at all. no loud sounds or anything. beds comfy after a 7 hour bus ride up north it was nice to have a nice bed. i want to go and visit agan! this place would be the place to go!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGreenWalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

Upstairs room, a little crowded with four beds, but very comfortable. Hotel-like breakfast, but very tasty. Internet computer available.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BIGTEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

We were very happy with our stay here. Darren and Victoria were great--friendly hosts, and Darren cooks up a delicious breakfast. We even had black pudding. It was the best brekkie we had at any of the 6 places we stayed during our 2-week trip.

Our cheerful room was large (double bed plus two twin beds) and had an attached bath. We paid 42GBP for 2 people for the night.

The b&b overlooks the North Sea, and there is a great little walk to the lighthouse across the street. We walked to the left of the b&b for dinner at an Italian restaurant--Gabriele's. It was good, but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anajupear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

Our family stayed at The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses, for the first two weeks in July. The service was excellent the rooms were very clean and neat, and the location was great.
The owners Darren and Victoria took care of everything we could have needed. We really felt at home while staying there.
Hotel included breakfast each morning which was great.
Lots of selection and everything was fresh and hot.
The next time our family goes back to Sunderland, we will be booking again, the hotel is right on the sea, and the views are outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pita_ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Mikael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Montse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roker Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Abingdon Guest House
The Abingdon Guest House
#8 of 17 in Sunderland
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses

Address: 2-3 Roker Terrace | Roker Seafront, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Price Range: £34 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses Hotel Sunderland
The Balmoral And Terrace Guest Houses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing