We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely way to spend a half day”

National Glass Centre
Ranked #3 of 49 things to do in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in a unique, contemporary glass and steel building, the National Glass Centre houses exhibition galleries, artists' studios and production facilities, a craft & design shop and an award winning café/restaurant. National Glass Centre is part of the University of Sunderland. We deliver a programme of changing exhibitions, education programmes and events for schools, families, adults and children. We are dedicated to exploring ideas through glass and providing opportunities for people to be creative, enjoy themselves and feel inspired.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely way to spend a half day”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The glass blowing demonstration keeps children and parents engaged (if a little warm).
There is a nice gift shop and the café has a good selection of food and beverages (including alcohol) at a reasonable price and in a nice setting.
Its a lovely light, bright and airy building with a lot of glass (surprise surprise) so it can be warm on a hot day, but it has an open view of the river on the plus side.
A nice way to spend a half day, though for us it wouldn't stretch to a full day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lelly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Many thanks for your positive review of our Centre. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. We advise visitors that it takes around 2 - 3 hours to experience National Glass Centre, so we are perfct for a half day out! We are also close to Sunderland's lovely beaches and riverside sculpture walk and of course, Sunderland's excellent Northern Gallery for Contemporary Art and Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens, so there is plenty to do nearby to extend your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    207
    84
    28
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So friendly”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

What a lovely friendly place everyone was so helpful great being able to see glass blowing Top marks

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rigmor w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review of National Glass Centre - we are glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A smashing visit”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A recent visit would be described as a really pleasant morning out. A learning centre on site and new glass exhibition available to view.High light of the day was the glass blowing, could of watched all day able to purchase a fabulous range of glass with prices to suit everybody. Cafe on site with lovely views over the river, staff pleasant and helpfull will definitely return.
Car parking free
Walking distance from St Peters metro less than ten minutes
Lovely walk along river side to marina in 15 minutes once at marina, parks attractions and cafés plentiful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank maxine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Many thanks for your positive review of National Glass centre! We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try and visit”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This revamped attraction has much to see and is worth a visit. Apart from the glass blowing it has an excellent shop and café. The centre is also on the riverside and is a short and scenic walk to the marina and sea front combining all makes an excellent day out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jameson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our Centre - we are glad you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, especially for the demos!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I visited with a coach party, and had three and a half hours here, which was a bit too long.
The displays are good (for some reason, I was particularly fascinated by the tray of glass eyes!) and there is a lot of nice glass on display, but it didn't take all that long to look round. The highlight of my visit was the demonstrations of glass blowing and flame work. These are at set times, so it might be worth checking the times of your visit so you don’t miss them.

I walked up on the glass roof, and it was pleasantly disturbing looking down on the diners and the gift shop below!

Once I’d looked round the displays, seen a couple of demos, and had a walk up on the roof, I was at a bit of a loose end. Hmmmmmm…… what could I do? I went into the café (the Brasserie) to get a snack, but thought it a bit overpriced and expensive. £2.30 for a pot of ordinary breakfast tea (quite a lot for one teabag and some hot water!).

Still with an hour or more to spare, I took a walk along the Quayside. Unfortunately there was thick fog on the day of my visit, so I couldn’t see much. I didn’t know I’d reached Wearmouth Bridge until I was almost under it! The metro station (St. Peter’s) is by the bridge, so if you travel here using the Metro, it’s an easy walk from the station to the Glass Centre along the Quayside.

Tips: I would say that a couple of hours would be plenty of time to enjoy this attraction.
Best bits: It’s FREE! Live demonstrations of Glass blowing are excellent, and well worth seeing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NUTMEG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our Centre. We are glad you enjoyed your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Glass Centre also viewed

 

Been to National Glass Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing