We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better”

National Glass Centre
Ranked #3 of 51 things to do in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in a unique, contemporary glass and steel building, the National Glass Centre houses exhibition galleries, artists' studios and production facilities, a craft & design shop and an award winning café/restaurant. National Glass Centre is part of the University of Sunderland. We deliver a programme of changing exhibitions, education programmes and events for schools, families, adults and children. We are dedicated to exploring ideas through glass and providing opportunities for people to be creative, enjoy themselves and feel inspired.
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I love glass and ceramics but found this museum soul less. Shame because it is such an interesting subject and so much more could be made of it to engage young and old a like.

Thank PercivalSpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Many thanks for your review of our Centre. We are always looking for feedback from our visitors. If you have suggestions about what sort of activities and exhibitions you would like to see happen here, please email us at info@nationalglasscentre.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
There are newer reviews for National Glass Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 526 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Certainly worth a visit and is a useful starting point to walk around to the Roker Pier and up towards Souter Lighthouse. My only complaint was the cafe. You have to stand by a lectern and wait for service. Along with three other families waited for someone to show us to a seat. One couple with a baby gave up. I asked one lady for service and she said "she would be with us in a minute". What was so frustrating was that there was plenty of staff doing other things. Eventually someone arrived! Looked for coffee and cheese scones only to be told they were in the oven. Is it not beyond reason to suggest better organisation! It lack front line management control.

Thank Qualitytraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Many thanks for your feedback about your visit. We are sorry youfound our Brasserie service to be unsatisfactory. We were extremely busy on Saturday and unfortunately some guests did have to wait while we turned tables round. We always prefer to ask guests to wait to be seated as we don't want guests sitting at dirty tables and wish to give customers the best possible service. We did run out of our (very popular!) cheese scones on the day of your visit, however our scones are made fresh daily and and as soon as were getting low our chef made a fresh batch. We do hope you can come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We only came here to break the journey home but having been we'd definitely come again just to visit it. It's free, interactive, interesting and informative. The kids enjoyed painting a glass tile and watching the glass makers working in the studio. There are some beautiful pieces to see, some funky exhibits a nice coffee shop and a cool walk outside - what's not to like ?

Thank Soupdragon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Many thanks for your fantastic feedback about our Centre. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our day here, relaxing atmosphere and plenty to look at and learn from. Pleasant, friendly team of staff, will be back.

Thank Annalisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Many thanks for your positive feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have visited the glass centre on many occasions over the years but on this visit we were disappointed with the way the centre has been re organised.

The highlight was a demonstration by one of the on sight glass designers he was very informative.

The lows were the gift shop not impressed with the gifts. The cafe has also declined we were hoping to have lunch but the selection was really disappointing.

Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Public Relations Manager at National Glass Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy our Shop or Brasserie selection, we do try to meet as many tastes as possible with both our product and our menus, however we are always looking for ways to imporve our service. If you would like to email more specific feedback about what you would like to see on offer please email info@nationalglasscentre.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Glass Centre also viewed

 

Been to National Glass Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing