We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice day out”

Paradise Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come and visit Paradise Wildlife Park, the most interactive zoo in Britain. Based at Broxbourne in Hertfordshire, we are open all year round, every weekday and weekend! The brilliant design of our enclosures means that you can meet some amazing animals face to face! We have a huge collection of over 500 animals including the best collection of big cats on display in Britain. Our cats include: white tigers, white lions, Amur tigers, Sumatran tigers, African lions, snow leopards, leopards, cheetahs and ocelots. We also have penguins, meerkats, monkeys, gibbons, lemurs, zebras, tapirs, wolves, wallabies, reptiles, birds and much, much more! We are unique because you can touch and even feed many of the animals in the Animal Park by purchasing one of our specially prepared animal feedbags. Have fun in one of our five adventure playgrounds, at the daily shows and at the meet the keeper sessions.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice day out”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great day yesterday at paradise wildlife... They got lots of animals and activities.. I'm giving 3 stars only because the cages were to small..

Helpful?
1 Thank Sthinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise_Wildlife, Social Media & Marketing Assistant at Paradise Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello, thank you for taking time to write a review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit.

However, it is worth noting that all of our enclosures meet or exceed the secretary of state guidelines for animal welfare. None of our animals exhibit stereotypic behaviour. We are one of only 14 zoos globally to be members of all 3 of the worlds leading zoological associations BIAZA, EAZA and WAZA. Our head keeper sits on the council for ABWAK and two of our team sit on the CDC committee for BIAZA. We are well regarded in the zoological industry, not just in Britain, but across Europe and the rest of the world. We have raised over £2.5 million for conservation projects. We are spearheading the Amur leopard reintroduction program and have run in-situ conservation projects that have directly lead to either stabilisations or rises in wild animal populations.

If you would like to discuss your visit further and the work that we do, please email me directly on emily@pwpark.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,015
    461
    154
    69
    53
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Young Grandson loved it”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We've just got back from a wonderful day out at PWP, having taken our young grandson there for his first trip to a zoo. There is so much to keep the kids occupied and entertained, the Tumble Jungle soft play centre went down well with us and the little fella. The big cats are awesome, especially the snow leopards, so beautiful.
It was lovely to see so many families enjoying a day out, I highly recommend PWP as a good summer family attraction.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Took my two boys here and we had a lovely day. We only live a few miles away so visit a few times a year and my children always enjoy themselves and cant wait to come back. I prefer it here to london zoo because of the play areas and little splash pool so although its not cheap to get in you can make a whole day of it. im not a animal welfare expert but the animals all seem to be well looked after the staff genuinely look like they care for them and are happy to answer questions. Will be visiting again soon

Helpful?
1 Thank gemma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another great day had by all”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We are pass holder for pwp and it is like our second home we really love going and the kids never get bored thank you pwp

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Such small cages”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

it was soo sad to see animals in such small cages, wouldnt recommend visiting if you are kind hearted!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Janey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise_Wildlife, Social Media & Marketing Assistant at Paradise Wildlife Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello,

Our white tigers have a very large enclosure. We do have a separation area which we occasionally use to separate the tigers for animal care needs. In the case you saw, it was most likely that the tigers were separated for feeding to prevent them from squabbling over their food.

All of the animals at Paradise are very well looked after, are not sad or bored, and are not distressed in any way. Our big cats are very well looked after and happy, with frequent enrichment and keeper interaction. They do not exhibit any signs of chronic stress. Big cats will often search around their enclosures close to feeding time, but this behaviour is entirely different to chronic stress and boredom pacing.

It is worth noting that all of our enclosures meet or exceed the secretary of state guidelines for animal welfare. None of our animals exhibit stereotypic behaviour. We are one of only 14 zoos globally to be members of all 3 of the worlds leading zoological associations BIAZA, EAZA and WAZA. Our head keeper sits on the council for ABWAK and two of our team sit on the CDC committee for BIAZA. We are well regarded in the zoological industry, not just in Britain, but across Europe and the rest of the world. We have raised over £2.5 million for conservation projects. We are spearheading the Amur leopard reintroduction program and have run in-situ conservation projects that have directly lead to either stabilisations or rises in wild animal populations.

This is all made possible by our visitors. Nobody at Paradise is profiting from you. We are all humble people here who live on humble means. We do it for the passion of animals, not for making money.

If you would like to discuss your visit further and the work that we do, please email me directly on emily@pwpark.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paradise Wildlife Park also viewed

Broxbourne, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 
Hatfield, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Paradise Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing