We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A complete disaster! I cannot even review the food”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #14 of 17 Restaurants in Broxbourne
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Take an off the beaten track location in Broxbourne, a menu bursting with fresh seasonal dishes and a cellar full of real ales and fine wines and you have the ingredients for the perfect country pub and restaurant. It's a winning formula of traditional mixed with a few contemporary touches that makes The Crown a special place to visit. Warm your hands by our cosy log fire, kick back and enjoy lunchtime or evening. Why not plan ahead and book a table online and enjoy some hearty pub food in our restaurant. Perfect for riverside walks along the banks of the Lee, our magnificent white country inn is well placed for exploring the countryside. Nearby Paradise Wildlife Park is a draw for the whole family.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A complete disaster! I cannot even review the food”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is part of the Vintage Inn chain which I would normally describe as a safe haven for one notch above the usual pub chain food and a safe bet for a reasonable meal. This a "black sheep" and needs to be put in 'special measures'. If any regional management read these reviews then please note my profile to know that I am not some radical headcase. Dirty, no crisis management when gas on all draught products ran out, warm bottled beer handed out from boxes on the bar top. Scraps of food debris across the floor and tables littered with uncleared half eaten plates. Eat there, I would rather starve.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andygranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    57
    44
    62
    145
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“customer service lacking”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We called when due to a gas failure draught beer and cola/lemonade etc was not available.The fridges were largely empty and I was served a lukewarm bottle of beer out of a box.The floor was dirty by a couple of seating areas and as we called at about 6.30pm the staff were not busy with meals or bar service. I heard a booking taken for later but no mention was made of the problems.
Needless to say we left our drinks half finished and the two other people joining us were intercepted at the door and we went elsewhere to eat and drink.
There was no effort to minimise issues for customers which illustrates a total lack of customer service ethos.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crowning gory”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This pub is in a beautiful setting nestled by the River Lee but that is as good as it gets, since the food and service are absolutely abominable. From the sneering woman behind the bar to the dinner plates being slapped down without a comment, never mind a smile, the customer is made to feel like a nuisance from unedifying start to lousy finish.

The food, oh the food, though that is too polite a word do describe what is dished up here, feels like the gastro pub revolution never happened. A Sunday roast, for that's what the menu described it as, was almost unrecognisable, like a trip back to the worst pub nightmares of the 1970s - two slices of leathery what purported to be beef, a Yorkshire pudding straight from the freezer all slathered in gravy from a packet and a separate plate of almost indiscernible vegetables cooked to a mush.

Even ordering the post-meal coffee was a fiasco, having to ask a passing waitress three times, with it finally arriving 25 minutes after the fact and then delivered with that familiar sneer so perfected around these parts. A fitting end for an establishment that makes an absolute mockery of its customers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank R0b6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shocking quality of food”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Nestled invitingly near a bend in the River Lea, The Crown provides an attractive looking garden pub, well placed for cyclists, families and other visitors. Unfortunately, appearances can be deceptive. My friend I ordered two roast beef Sunday lunches, and we agreed that they were the worst Sunday lunches we had ever ordered. Our "meals" each comprised one slice of luke-warm beef, a sorrowful Yorkshire pudding, a couple of stodgy potatoes, and some of the worst veg I have ever seen - think 1970s school lunches (at best). The portions were minute. We ordered bread afterwards (just to fill up), but that was stale and the oil that it came with looked toxic. Staff were unhappy and we certainly were. There was not a single redeeming feature of this meal. Avoid and go somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BA_Wonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice location and great food!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Visited on a nice sunny day and it was exactly what we were looking for. It's right next to a weir with boats going along and has a nice decking garden area for you to sit, have nice food and enjoy the view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carter_Family_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Hoddesdon, Hertfordshire
Broxbourne, Hertfordshire
 
Broxbourne, Hertfordshire
Broxbourne, Hertfordshire
 
Broxbourne, Hertfordshire
Broxbourne, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing