We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stop in the sun”
Review of The Horse & Jockey

The Horse & Jockey
Reserve with OpenTable
The Horse & Jockey is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 57 Restaurants in Alfreton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Horse and Jockey is a contemporary Gastro Pub and Hotel in Wessington, Alfreton, Derbyshire. Located in a recently refurbished historical pub building, in the heart of the village. We are focused on providing friendly service in a wonderful setting whilst serving innovative, high quality food created from locally sourced produce to ensure the freshest of flavours. With 14 stunning en-suite bedrooms each with an individual design.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying at the sister pub the White Hart and had a gentle stroll down the lanes to the Horse and Jockey. We decided to call in for a coffee (we have stayed there in the past). A friendly helpful waitress showed my wife to the bar to order the coffees. We sat in the sun, excellent coffees and a small chocolate brownie. All very nice. We will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Edward02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindseyPearson2018, Receptionist at The Horse & Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent review of The Horse and Jockey.
It's great to hear that the waitress was helpful and friendly towards you both. Even better that you were able to enjoy your coffee and piece of brownie in the sun!

we cant wait to welcome you back again to our venue and thank you once again for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been here many times and have always had good food and service, however after our last visit I don't think we will ever go again, we pre ordered the food and when we got there were told they had ran out of some of them. We waited 75 minutes before our starters came out, the mains then came out cold but by this point we were starving and our children were getting fed up, so we complained but ate it anyway as we just wanted to leave. Other tables in the restaurant were complaining also. Lots of plates of food were going back to the kitchen, the atmosphere was terrible.
We were offered a small refund, which we took as we just wanted to get out of there. Changing the menu a few days before a busy day like Father's Day we think was a bad idea, the kitchen was clearly in crisis. Such a shame as we never mind paying for good food but we still ended up paying a lot for nothing.

2  Thank helenkerry78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited because of the vegan menu - however it was very disappointing - the first started ordered - they no longer do, the second started no buns left - 3rd starter had refried beans that had an offish taste to them, a lot of food left. Mains very bland & greasy, it’s as though they tried to flavour with oil! You can bake the samosas rather than deep fry - the only saving grace was the rice pudding it was lovely - all in all they need to rethink they way they cook the vegan menu - maybe replace the refried beans with the salsa - that was delicious and use a lot less oil

2  Thank donna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindseyPearson2018, Receptionist at The Horse & Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

thank you for your recent review of The Horse and Jockey.

What a shame that you found our vegan menu disappointing, we get such great feedback on this. We do try and keep the menu varied and exciting hence why they change the dishes regularly. I will however, pass your comments on to our kitchen team with regards to the refried beans and mains being bland and greasy.
We hope to welcome you back again soon and thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

We appear to be regulars as the friendly staff always stop for a chat.

Someone left a power pack on a table that had been booked by us that evening and the staff rang to check it was not ours.

Food is good and consistent, which is why we keep going back.

Thank Derbyshirewalker76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindseyPearson2018, Receptionist at The Horse & Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you for your recent review of The Horse and Jockey.

It's great to hear that the staff always take time to welcome you and have a chat with you. i will pass on your comments to the kitchen team with regards to the food being good and consistent.
we will look forward to welcoming you back once again. Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

I stopped off at the H&J for a spot of breakfast around 9am today. This isn’t the first time I have eaten in this prestigious and well balanced establishment, though my first breakfast. I opted for a classic Eggs Benedict dish as it is one of my favourites away from the full fry up scenario.

My breakfast arrive at the table served by a knowledgeable member of staff that couldn’t do enough, though I have become accustom to the professional staff at this venue. The food was well presented, fresh and tasty and the saltiness of the bacon cut through the hollandaise sauce a treat, so no seasoning required!

I did pass on my thanks to the chef who took his time out to come into the restaurant to see me. Personally this is a nice touch as this doesn’t happen in most places that I have frequented. All in all the quality of the food and service certainly reflect the fair price for such a delightful breakfast.

Thanks to the team at the H&J, you surely knocked it out of the park with this one!

1  Thank PETTYOFFICERRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindseyPearson2018, Receptionist at The Horse & Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you for your recent review of The Horse and Jockey.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us an that the customer service was professional and they couldn't do enough for you. i will ensure to pass on your comments to the chef that made your breakfast tasty and well presented.
once again thank you so much for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horse & Jockey also viewed

Ambergate, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Horse & Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing