We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Little Chef

Little Chef
Ranked #43 of 57 Restaurants in Alfreton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bury, Lancashire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Whilst staying in the adjacent Travelodge I popped into the Little Chef for my breakfast. The staff were friendly attentive, the food arrived quickly and was very tasty, and the dining area was clean and welcoming. The price was very reasonable too

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    27
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Early breakfast.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

On our way to Anglesey in need of sustenance.....we stopped in to the little chef. Although the food was passable and the staff were nice, the whole building was in a disgusting state of repair. There were very deep puddles on the approach to the place, there was an outside seating area, full of rubbish and totally flooded; the doors were in disrepair and filthy. It made you shudder when you had to go down the corridor to the toilet (needs must though). What a dump !!!!!!! As I said, the girls at Little chef were lovely, clean and polite, and the little restaurant was also clean..........But, please, Do something about the awful surroundings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have many happy memories of Little Chefs but this one is really a pretty miserable place.

Staff can't be bothered, food is poor quality, greasy burger and overall very poor value for money.

If staying at the Travelodge, you might think this is a better option than their awful "Breakfast Box" but you might want to think again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnC_883186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa del Sol, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great quality, value and service.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We called here for breakfast last Sunday and were not disappointed. Despite it being early on a Sunday they were quite busy but this didn't delay us being greeted by a very pleasant gentleman who showed us to our table and quickly took our drinks order.
The restaurant was warm and welcoming and the service could not have been better or more helpful. Our two breakfasts arrived quickly and were hot and freshly cooked - excellent!
The bill was most reasonable - just wished we lived nearer to this great Little Chef!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff ”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed next door a couple of times and this little chef is very nice a friendly greeting from two ladies prompt service nice early starter breakfast one small criticism would be had side order of mushrooms but a very small portion and a bit tasteless apart from that a good breakfast stop

Helpful?
Thank Petertc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Chef also viewed

Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Little Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing