We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, pity about presentation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Peacock Hotel - CLOSED

The Peacock Hotel
Price range: US$6 - US$27
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
168 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent food, pity about presentation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We made another visit to the peacock since the current owners takeover. The food itself was really enjoyable, very tasty three course meal. Cannot be faulted for flavour. The downside regarding the main course is the presentation. It looked like the food had been just dropped on the plates and for myself I felt rather over faced. I appreciate that some diners wouldn't have a problem with that but not everyone has a large appetite. The easiest way to resolve this is to present the vegetables in dishes so diners can help themselves. If they get presentation right then the overall dining experience would have been excellent. Good but could do better!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank soskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    63
    31
    46
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I was surprised to see how many cars were in the car park for a Thursday evening, but although it was busy we were shown to our table promptly by a very pleasant young lady. Had an excellent meal for 4 including starters and desserts. The two who had steak were particularly impressed and we all enjoyed the sweet potato fries! Nice presentation and good sized portions. Very reasonably priced. Were seated in the room with the chandelier and liked the decor.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Loved the Peacock pub! Found it on the internet and choose it because of its menu. Really beautiful setting and the interior is nicely decorated. Very kind staff and excellent food!!! Highly recommend this place! Large parking space and garden.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem in the countryside but close to the motorway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

If you are in the vicinity you must visit The Peacock. It is not a pub and it is not an expensive restaurant but it has characteristics of both. The food is excellent and prices are very reasonable. We ordered four starters, four meals and four desserts. This is a very good random selection to determine how good is the kitchen and it came through the test with flying colours. The food was excellent, the service was good and given that it was busy (Sunday lunchtime) we are confident you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
196 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Dined with friends who are big fans of the sister restaurants so a bit worried about the poor reviews. The service was poor and very slow. However, as we were not really in a hurry it didnt spoil our experience as the food when it finally came was really good. Also had a singer who was very good. Great ambience and nice to see lots of people in a local pub. The management certainly seem to know how to put good menus together and attract lots of people. Its a shame they dont employ enough staff to cope with the demand. We were not offered any more drinks so only had one in two hours ! Tables were not cleared and we sat having finished our meal for ages before the waitress removed the plates. Portion sizes very generous and good quality food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Romantics77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peacock Hotel also viewed

Ambergate, Derbyshire
 
South Wingfield, Derbyshire
Ravenshead, Nottinghamshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing