We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfiest beds in Europe!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Certificate of Excellence
Buderim, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Comfiest beds in Europe!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We only stayed one night, but it was one of the best nights sleep we had on our month holiday of Europe! Very comfortable beds and pillows. (perhaps this is why there is a catalogue in the room of how to purchase beds and bedding). Great location with good parking. The free shuttle service into town is also a fantastic idea. The hotel is older and lifts a little slow, decor is pretty dated in corridors but the view from our room was superb of all the amazing boats in the harbour. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Janine G,

Nice to read that you had such a good night sleep at our hotel... and you are perfectly right: as many guests love our beds at Marriott and ask how they would purchase the same for their home, we edited the Marriott bedding catalogue! I shared also you nice comments with the staff and they were very happy.
We hope to welcome you back soon at the Sunny French Riviera.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    371
    158
    51
    18
See reviews for
174
340
36
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

in MARRIOTT Riviera you feel the simplicity and quality.
Two type of view are available ,the sea view is awesome, and also the mountain view is quiet and nice.
the location of the hotel provide you with opportunity to stay in cap d'Ail in France and by walking a few metres you are in Monaco.
Deserve to visit

Room Tip: The receptionist are very helpful ,by approaching the reception you may ask for sea view room not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Nz Z,

Thank you for sharing your comments and for the excellent rating. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, your compliments are the best rewards for all the team!
We are looking forward towarmly welcoming you back soon on board.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubendorf, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The Restaurant and the food was not really good. We had several kinds of foot and all was ok, but nothing was excellent. It's ok if you are hungry, but don't go there if you would like to enjoy your meal.
Please note: We visited the restaurant only, not the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RoboBoboCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear RoboBoboCH,
Sorry that you didn't see anything special about the meal. During the week we serve a variety of daily specials freshly cooked, so meals can vary and it might happen that one day fits you better than the other.
Additionally we have the Sunday Brunch with live jazz music. I would motivate you to test us again, maybe we find a better option for you to enjoy.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Marriott Mom's Tips:

This is a Marriott where you receive all the perks of your status---mini bar drinks were provided each day for free, room upgraded, parking in the underground garage was free, lovely breakfast everyday and free welcome drink in the bar. Makes you truly appreciate the benefits of being a rewards member!

The suites are very large---plenty of room for a family to spread out and relax, plus beautiful views of the pool and yacht harbor below.

The hotel's staff is very kind and service oriented, especially the young staff members at both the front desk and restaurant.

The hotel runs a free shuttle into Monaco every hour--making it ideal and so easy for families to get around without having to navigate the twists and turns of the city's little avenues.

I think I read that this Marriott is on the list for a remodel/refresh soon, and if so, it will make it the perfect hotel to stay at for families while visiting Monaco!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarriottMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear MarriottMom,

thank you for submitting your review. The team appreciates a lot your comments about their service and the description of the benefits of our hotel situated in front of the sea and with great opportunities for families to enjoy Monaco and the coast.

We appreciate your perfect score you are giving to us for Service, Sleep quality and the Value for your stay and the fact you felt appreciated as an Elite Marriott Rewards member.

Looking forward to welcome you back at your next trip!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

As a lifetime Platinum we were upgraded to an ocean view room and floor 10. Nice room and great view. Was also offered a complemtary drink in the lobby bar, free mini bar and the usual free breakfast and wifi. Was very pleased by the helpfulness and attention of the front desk staff. Peter even helped me locate a parking spot in the over crowded car park.
The only advice I would have is if you had to pay for these extras, I'd go offs site for the food. €52 for 2 people breakfast Buffett that was just ok, €14 for a cocktail would be a lot. The parking was more than i paid for my rental car. I never drove once I arrived here since the city bus is right out front. Would have taken train or bus from Nice airport and been fine. Monaco is literally right across the street and walk able or take the free Marriott shuttle.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Email the concierge well in advance. We used points for this trip and were well taken care of. You d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Jeff J,

thank you for your full points review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the free upgrade and amenities as a Platinum Lifetime Marriott Rewards member.

In terms of pricing we try to keep a fair price/value towards the prices applied in the market, i.e. 26 EUR for a full American Buffet Breakfast, but if you wish to have a different selection we have also less costy options, like Continental or Healthy Breakfast going to the possibility to order just some items a la carte as well.

Doing so, we hope to have a good choice for everyone.

We look very much forward to welcome you or your friends soon back whenver you plan to travel to the South of France and Monaco.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is amazing and has great service but the room was smaller than I had hoped and the pool was very shaded meaning there was limited time for sunbathing. It is in a beautiful setting and was in a great position for walks alongside the ports and the beautiful baby blue and emerald green sea. It is so peaceful and it is a great holiday destination but the hotel is to business like!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Samantha E,

thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel service and its location.

I can see from your comments that you would love to come over the summer holidays and I highly encourage you to do so, firstly because you will have a longer sun exposure on the pool area, secondly are Terrace is setup with all colorful cushions in order to relax, which indeed changes a lot the business like environment that the hotel could give in the colder months in the inner areas.

Additionally we offer Beach Packages during the summer, that you can book online, to come and stay at one of the neighbooring private beach to enjoy the beauty of the coast of the South of France sea.

Looing forward to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Marriot Riviera. In my life, I've stayed in many hotels during business trips. Most of the hotels I've tried are comfortable and rooms are sufficient for me. Yet, what makes the difference with the Marriott Cap d'Ail is the staff of the hotel. Indeed, thanks to them, though the hotel is quite big, I felt like at home during the two months. Special thanks to:
- Siegfried. During my stay, when I had any problem, he did his best to help me
- Lora. She's a very professional staff, always smiling and I appreciated the time she spent to give advises about Monaco
- Peter. He's a good guy, doing a good job, in an efficient way
- Jon. He was always motivated to take my luggages. Besides, everytime I had to go somewhere, when it was possible, he did not hesitate to drive me everywhere I want in Monaco, using the free shuttle service of the hotel
- Stephane. He's doing his best to offer an adequate quality of service at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are wonderful. It was very nice to wake up everyday and to watch the sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mini-minido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siegfried_poppe, General Manager at Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Mini-minido,
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your beautiful words about the staff, be assured that I shared them with each person you named and they are really happy that you recognised their great service. Our guest's satisfaction is exactly what we all strive to accomplish every day.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon on board,
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap d'Ail
0.9 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,300 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,634 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,338 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco

Property: Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
Address: Port de Cap D Ail, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France (Formerly Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casting a serene reflection upon the Cap d'Ail harbor on France's Cote d'Azur, the Riviera Marriott La Porte de Monaco captures the spirit of Monaco. It's a magical place, where you can lose yourself in its fragrant breezes, profound beauty and international allure. As one of the premier hotels in Monaco, you'll be introduced to a superior level of service and amenities. Elegantly appointed accommodations beautifully blend extraordinary comfort with welcome features such as high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Riviera La Porte De Monaco Hotel Cap d`Ail
Cap d Ail Marriott
Marriott Cap D'ail
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte De Monaco France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing