We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilling Out in Cap D'Ail”
Review of Hotel de Monaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Monaco
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I am on my way back from the airport now and felt like I should spend my taxi ride home saying a BIG thankyou to Roberto and his team for really making my 4 night stay in Hotel de Monaco! I was travelling on my own for a relaxing few days in the sun with my books and some good food. As a female on my own I felt totally at ease in the hotel which has the ability to make you feel like you have been invited to an acquaintance's Villa for a break. While the hotel had no restaurant that was not a drawback as it forced me to hop on the 100 bus (for €1 !) to monte Carlo, which is only 10mins away, for dinner overlooking the sea in one if their great restaurants. Roberto couldn't have been more helpful and I always enjoyed my glass of wine in the hotel's garden before going to bed. Great value, amazing location between Nice and Monaco. Should be #1 on trip advisor in Cap D'Ail.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie-in-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2009

This is a truly beautiful hotel.... a haven. Many small, so called 'boutique hotels' could learn an awful lot with a quick visit to the Hotel de Monaco. It is all incredibly simple, yet incredibly stylish. The breakfast is continental and there is no restaurant or room service (Sebastian of the front desk makes a lovely coffee if needed), but there are so many places to eat nearby in Monaco that you do not feel deprived. This is somewhere to rest and enjoy. The beach is a few minutes walk away and that in itself is a very pleasant experience. This is not the place to go if you have children as I do, or are perhaps elderly or disabled, as there is no lift to the floors of which there are 3. If you want style, cleanliness and a peaceful nights sleep then this is the place for you. I loved it and I am super fussy!

Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
Thank BeachJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

There are many positive points about Hotel de Monaco, and for the rates quoted I must agree that it does more than deliver quality wise as most decent hotels around Cap d'Ail/Monaco are quite a bit more expensive. I stayed in a single room, which was more of a place to sleep than spend time relaxing in. Also, the breakfast they serve in the main dining are around reception was lovely.

What primarily prompted me to comment on the hotel is one of the former reviewer who indeed gave a fair account of the management. The husband/wife team owning Hotel de Monaco did give a mixed impression. David was quite rude upon check-out, but it seemed more to be a part of his personality than a conscious attempt. A shame, since my impression other wise was very positive.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mantelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2007

Read some wonderful things on trip advisor about the hotel and was quite taken by the website. Later, it turned out a friend had stayed as well, and more praise was showered. Fortunately there was availability and the owner/manager David was very prompt with e-mails as well as directions to the hotel and other questions on the region. It is this personal attention that makes the Hotel de Monaco a stand out place to stay! It is a small property with a big heart. I was travelling with my mother, and as I had requested got a room on the first level, involving the least number of stairs. The room was smallish (especially the bathroom) but cozy and the bed was comfortable. Gladys outdoes herself at breakfast and the intimate setting always leads to conversations with others on sojourns. For older people without cars do watch out for the uphill climbs to the hotel from the beach and from the hotel to the main street, and the dearth of taxis on weekends (in an supremely generous gesture one of the staff at a Cap D'Ail cafe ended up giving us a ride to Monte Carlo..and people say the French are inhospitable!) Will certainly return to the charming town and to the Hotel de Monaco.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank shibaniwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2006

The Hotel de Monaco is more like an extremely chic and upmarket b and b than a hotel. The service is marvellous and very personal. The Bryans are absolutely charming and we were made to feel most welcome the moment we arrived. True, the shower room was rather small, but there was a proper, comfortable bed and breakfast was outstanding. And it only cost around £100 sterling for the night which is exceptional value in that part of the world. The rooms on the front are a little noisy - usual mopeds, that sort of thing - but generally this is a very sweet establishment that deserves wider recognition.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank britripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2006

Wow! This hotel is great. I have just returned from a long weekend with 6 girlfriends and we all thought the hotel was amazing. Exceeded our expectations on every level. All areas of the hotel were spotless. The terrace at the back is lovely. We enjoyed lots of drinks here,either after the beach or pre-dinner.The hosts go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. On two nights we were there they recommended two excellent resturants- one in cap d`ail down by the water- le pinede, the other quai des artistes in monaco-both were great. Breakfast at hotel de monaco is spot on. Lots of nice bread and croissant, fresh fruit, cereal and a choice of eggs.
Plage mala the local beach is lovely. Its a 10 min walk ( all down hill on way there....all up hill on the way back!) sunlounges are pricey on the weekend (20 euro) but well worth it. Cap D`Ail is so so pretty. Whilst we were there we were already planning our return trip!! thank you for a fantastic weekend. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torduffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
14
Reviewed 22 October 2005

The Hotel De Monaco turned out to be a disappointing choice. On the face of it, clean, modern (just a year or so old) and quite reasonably priced, located close to the main shops of Cap D'Ail but far enough away from the main road that runs through them to avoid all the noise. The room itself, on the first floor at the back overlooking the small hotel garden/courtyard, was a good size, though the bathroom is in fact a shower (no bath), toilet and basin squeezed into a very tiny space indeed. What surprised and disappointed was the hot/cold approach of the Northern Irish couple who run it - she very warm and pleasant, he the exact opposite. Unfortunately, you have to deal a lot with him! There are cheaper, more friendly places to stay in Cap D'Ail - maybe not so recently refurbished, but certainly with hosts/managers with better manners, who know how to look after paying guests in the hope they'll return and spread the good word. Not in this case!!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 November 2005

Hotel de Monaco is one of the most wonderful boutique hotel properties on the Cote d'Azur. The reviewer is inaccurate in many comments as the hotel is an original Belle Epoque (1905) villa converted for hotel use and not as implied a modern purpose built structure. Both David and Gladys Bryan are not from Northern Ireland, in fact they are from Dublin and give 100% to ensure that guests have exceptional service and a personal hospitality that includes great food, warmth and friendliness. On an occasion such as with the reviewer from London/Sunningdale where the guest prefers not to make use of the great food and ambiance on offer we try to respect their wishes. In fact if this particular reviewer had wanted more personal service it was there in abundance. Hopefully this inaccurate review will encourage other guests to correct the record as it is the direct opposite of what guests love and appreciate about this charming refurbished Belle Epoque hotel, its tremendous location and unstinting personal service. If you are looking for an exceptional boutique hotel you should definitely check our web site which speaks for itself. Life and the wonderful Cote d'Azur just does not come any better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap d'Ail
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana
1 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
1.1 mi away
Le Quai Des Princes
Le Quai Des Princes
#6 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edmond's Hotel
Edmond's Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramar Cap D'Ail
Hotel Miramar Cap D'Ail
#2 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Monaco

Address: 1 avenue Pierre Weck, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Monaco 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the heights of the Mala beach, only 5 minutes from Monaco and 20 minutes from Nice Airport, the Hotel Monaco today occupies a privileged place on the French Riviera. So much peace and nature so close to Monte Carlo, a facility where it is mild live. With its spacious reception and hearty breakfasts, Monaco Hotel is an ideal place to meet with confidence. The private bar and terrace lounge also relaxation of synonyms and successful appetizers. A place out of time, for an unforgettable experience ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel de Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Monaco France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing