We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Hotel de Monaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Monaco
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is a really beautiful hotel in a quiet residential area surrounded by expensive homes with leafy grounds. We loved the quiet surrounds and the proximity to Mala beach and quality restaurants. It's a short drive to Monaco or a 40 minute walk along a sealed path by the sea. Everything was lovely including the stylish decor, comfortable beds, decadent breakfast and friendly staff. Antony was most helpful. We would most definitely stay here again and will tell all our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisehod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

Although we were pleased with the location and look of this hotel, it was distinctly let down by the inaction and attitude of the staff.

There were 3 of us staying at the hotel along with my friends baby and the room we stayed in was a 'suite' with a single bed and a double. The set up of the suite didn't appear to be a permanent thing as the single bed was just a metal camp bed in the dressing room/adjoining space. The bed was quite small although it was comfortable enough. We stayed in room 14 and on going to bed the first night we were alarmed at what sounded like a refrigeration unit suddenly starting up on the floor directly above us. We thought it might be connected with the aircon which we didn't even have switched on - after trying and failing to locate the remote I looked outside our room and still couldn't figure out what was making this noise. Suddenly the sound stopped, to our relief, only to start up again 10 minutes later!

This went on for the ENTIRE night - causing us all to have a very disruptive sleep. It was essentially 10 minutes of refrigeration noise and 10 minutes off - awful.
In the morning, I told one of the members of staff on duty about the noise - he seem perplexed and said the room above was empty but that he would look into it, he apologised at least. We were out for most of the day, on return to our room in the early evening we discovered the sound was still persisting, 10 mins on, 10mins off - clearly this was a constant thing. I spoke with another man who was on duty - he spoke very good english and possibly was English although i didn't catch his name. Clearly the problem hadn't been dealt with by the first person I spoke with and hadn't been relayed to anyone else!

I asked him to come up to our room so he could hear it for himself, which he did. He seemed confused about the location of the noise although suspected that it might be the aircon ducts in the ceiling outside our room - heating or cooling the water that goes into the aircon - very strange as no one was using any aircon on the floor we were on. What I found hard to believe is that this noise came as a surprise to them - surely other people had complained or at least mentioned it? it was so loud. Anyway, the staff member/owner said he would look into it - he seemed very disinterested and he never smiled. He was certainly not apologetic or had any intention of offering a solution such as changing rooms. On leaving the hotel for dinner he advised (after I queried it again) that he had called someone and they would need to come and take a look at it, tomorrow.

If the first person I spoke to that morning had acted as he promised then someone could have come out the same day and we would have avoided another night of disrupted sleep.
What particularly annoyed me was that there was absolutely NO apology offered and NO solution or discount of any kind. On checking out the next morning he didn't even ask if we still had a problem with the noise, I had to tell him that in case he was wondering, the noise had persisted throughout the night...We were very disappointed by the attitude we found here.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 14!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 746June05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Very stylish boutique hotel, small number of rooms but all kitted out perfectly. The downstairs reception follows this trend with a small bar and seating area for morning breakfasts.

Only stayed one evening unfortunately, it would have been a pleasure to stay for longer.

As per most French hotels there is no tea/coffee provided in room, so I can't really say that's a negative for here, however it would top the hotel off nicely.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

It has been a few months since i stayed at this hotel but I wanted to write a review because in the cold wintry weather ive been dreaming of another vacation in the cote d'azur :)
We found this hotel by chance on the internet as our original reservations with marriott got messed up and we found ourselves 2nd weekend of july, full tourist season without a hotel in monaco. I am so happy we stayed here as the hotel was wonderful. Its a luxury boutique hotel 5 mins walking from mala beach,a stunning little beach with nice beach club and bar, adn about 10 mins drive to downtown montecarlo. The hotel is meticulous, very cool style, our room was brand new, top of the line amenities , great very comfortable bed, and breathtaking view from our window! The staff is very nice and arranges for taxis, gives you train info, etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel even for a romantic weekend getaway. I hope to be back this summer!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexy506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We arrived into Monaco late in the afternoon in the off season, with many places closed and dreading Monaco prices. This was an amazing find - 2 minutes drive from Monaco itself, under 100 euros a night, nice shaded back garden, excellent service, very quiet, and near the cliff walk from Cap d'Ail to Monaco (incredibly beautiful). Decorations are chic, hotel is very clean, has a boutique feel to it. As other reviewers have noted, the management are not initially warm in their demeanor. But we found them very accommodating and helpful when we asked. Manager speaks impeccable English.

Room Tip: Rear-facing rooms are quieter, but have no sun. In hot summer, this may be a good thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The hotel is located very close to Monaco in a quiet French town setting. It is beautifully decorated with very clean rooms and great staff. It is perfect for resting, walking and watching the curvy French shore.
The breakfast was delicious :)

Room Tip: If you have a car, it is the perfect location for visiting Monaco and staying away from the crowded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night for a business trip.
the hotel is nice with a particular and design furnishings in the hall.
My room was on the 3th floor and i must carried my baggage alone because there wasn't the elevator.
Room was clean but not freshness but there was a great view from the window.
The bathroom was very very small.
Breakfast was a buffet servevd on hall counter.
Price is ok for this very expensive location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChildsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap d'Ail
1 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramar Cap D'Ail
Hotel Miramar Cap D'Ail
#2 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Quai Des Princes
Le Quai Des Princes
#6 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edmond's Hotel
Edmond's Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Monaco

Address: 1 avenue Pierre Weck, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range: £77 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Monaco 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the heights of the Mala beach, only 5 minutes from Monaco and 20 minutes from Nice Airport, the Hotel Monaco today occupies a privileged place on the French Riviera. So much peace and nature so close to Monte Carlo, a facility where it is mild live. With its spacious reception and hearty breakfasts, Monaco Hotel is an ideal place to meet with confidence. The private bar and terrace lounge also relaxation of synonyms and successful appetizers. A place out of time, for an unforgettable experience ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel de Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Monaco France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing