We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Expect Luxury” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Monaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de Monaco
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Monaco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't Expect Luxury”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for one night just on a whim. It's just down hill from Cap d'Ail's main drag, close to restaurants, shops and services. It's also just uphill from the Sentier Littoral, a beautiful hiking trail along the Mediterranean. The English version of the hotel's website described the hotel as, "smart and suitable yet comfortable" and I think that is about it. The lobby was nicely decorated but that's where it ends. Our double room was tiny, a bit worn and dirty with very basic furnishings. There was a big water stain on the ceiling, a black stain on the sheets, the windows needed cleaning. The pillows were hard foam rubber. On the plus side the room was quiet. Breakfast the next morning was basic pastries and cereals, hot beverages, some cheese and cold cuts. If you wanted fruit you had to peel and prepare it yourself. The TV was blaring away while we were having breakfast which we found to be really annoying. I'd place it in the same category as a Motel 7 or Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tabby_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    25
    16
    11
    6
See reviews for
9
47
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked online as we needed to sleep somewhere before flying out of Nice airport. Very nice boutique style hotel in a nice quiet street. The best thing was that we were so close to Monte Carlo that we were able to taxi over to our favourite restaurant there for a quick dinner. Very comfortable and clean. Highly recommend for a stay close to Monte Carlo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelCraigSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Excellent service, lovely breakfast , great hospitality, perfect location. Very helpful staff. I would like to say a special THANK YOU to the staff for being very helpful. Such a trendy hotel!! 5 mins walk to the beach ( very nice! ) 5 mins to get to Monaco by bus. Very relaxing. You can never get bored. Enjoy the beach and enjoy the clubbing in Monte Carlo and get a taxi back to the hotel ( 3 mins by taxi ) if you are a party animal . Strongly recommended !!! Classy

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I had the time of my life in this hotel... it looks life a fairy tale hotel. it is so beautiful, so cosy, the people are so great. i recommend to everyone. it is in a fantastic place in a fantastic beach... it a dream... so so dreamy...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veraCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Cozy lobby and helpful personnel. Staying on the 3rd floor as I did is a challenge though without an elevator: It does mean that you literally have to carry your bags. Then the rooms and the bathroom are extremely small. If you are more than the average (tall of heavy) you cannot make it. Breakfast is very basic, so will refrain from recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AthensBmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel welcomes you in a nice lobby with elegant and stylish furniture. A smile at the reception is offered by the manager Roberto. No lift: watch out if you cannot climb the stairs and your room is at the 2nd or 3rd floor (from here the view is nice by the way). Rooms are not as big as you might be used to, with the bathroom that is proportionately small too. Cleaning is ok. Nice & relaxing terrace lounge in the backyard. Convenience position very close to the train station. Price could be reviewed and adapted to the minus of the hotel (read lift and tight rooms). In any event it is worth a stay. Recommended!

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank razorgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Nice small hotel with very friendly and helpful personal. Surprise the absence of elevator. Rooms too small. If you are more than 100 kg you will have problems to use bathroom and shower. Breakfast is poor for what it costs. The good thing now is that is located in excellent spot not far from the beach Mala and the village center.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fioretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap d'Ail
1.0 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
1.3 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edmond's Hotel
Edmond's Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramar Cap D'Ail
Hotel Miramar Cap D'Ail
#2 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Monaco

Property: Hotel de Monaco
Address: 1 avenue Pierre Weck, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Monaco 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the heights of the Mala beach, only 5 minutes from Monaco and 20 minutes from Nice Airport, the Hotel Monaco today occupies a privileged place on the French Riviera. So much peace and nature so close to Monte Carlo, a facility where it is mild live. With its spacious reception and hearty breakfasts, Monaco Hotel is an ideal place to meet with confidence. The private bar and terrace lounge also relaxation of synonyms and successful appetizers. A place out of time, for an unforgettable experience ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Monaco France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing