We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good find”
Review of Hotel de Monaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Monaco
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Reviewed 15 October 2006

The Hotel de Monaco is more like an extremely chic and upmarket b and b than a hotel. The service is marvellous and very personal. The Bryans are absolutely charming and we were made to feel most welcome the moment we arrived. True, the shower room was rather small, but there was a proper, comfortable bed and breakfast was outstanding. And it only cost around £100 sterling for the night which is exceptional value in that part of the world. The rooms on the front are a little noisy - usual mopeds, that sort of thing - but generally this is a very sweet establishment that deserves wider recognition.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank britripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2006

Wow! This hotel is great. I have just returned from a long weekend with 6 girlfriends and we all thought the hotel was amazing. Exceeded our expectations on every level. All areas of the hotel were spotless. The terrace at the back is lovely. We enjoyed lots of drinks here,either after the beach or pre-dinner.The hosts go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. On two nights we were there they recommended two excellent resturants- one in cap d`ail down by the water- le pinede, the other quai des artistes in monaco-both were great. Breakfast at hotel de monaco is spot on. Lots of nice bread and croissant, fresh fruit, cereal and a choice of eggs.
Plage mala the local beach is lovely. Its a 10 min walk ( all down hill on way there....all up hill on the way back!) sunlounges are pricey on the weekend (20 euro) but well worth it. Cap D`Ail is so so pretty. Whilst we were there we were already planning our return trip!! thank you for a fantastic weekend. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torduffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
14
Reviewed 22 October 2005

The Hotel De Monaco turned out to be a disappointing choice. On the face of it, clean, modern (just a year or so old) and quite reasonably priced, located close to the main shops of Cap D'Ail but far enough away from the main road that runs through them to avoid all the noise. The room itself, on the first floor at the back overlooking the small hotel garden/courtyard, was a good size, though the bathroom is in fact a shower (no bath), toilet and basin squeezed into a very tiny space indeed. What surprised and disappointed was the hot/cold approach of the Northern Irish couple who run it - she very warm and pleasant, he the exact opposite. Unfortunately, you have to deal a lot with him! There are cheaper, more friendly places to stay in Cap D'Ail - maybe not so recently refurbished, but certainly with hosts/managers with better manners, who know how to look after paying guests in the hope they'll return and spread the good word. Not in this case!!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 November 2005

Hotel de Monaco is one of the most wonderful boutique hotel properties on the Cote d'Azur. The reviewer is inaccurate in many comments as the hotel is an original Belle Epoque (1905) villa converted for hotel use and not as implied a modern purpose built structure. Both David and Gladys Bryan are not from Northern Ireland, in fact they are from Dublin and give 100% to ensure that guests have exceptional service and a personal hospitality that includes great food, warmth and friendliness. On an occasion such as with the reviewer from London/Sunningdale where the guest prefers not to make use of the great food and ambiance on offer we try to respect their wishes. In fact if this particular reviewer had wanted more personal service it was there in abundance. Hopefully this inaccurate review will encourage other guests to correct the record as it is the direct opposite of what guests love and appreciate about this charming refurbished Belle Epoque hotel, its tremendous location and unstinting personal service. If you are looking for an exceptional boutique hotel you should definitely check our web site which speaks for itself. Life and the wonderful Cote d'Azur just does not come any better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2005

The Hotel De Monaco was a great choice. Although not in Monaco itself, there's a bus service that costs 1 euro and takes about 5-10 minutes from near the hotel. A taxi cost us 17 Euros from the casino, but it was quite late at night.
The hotel is run by a very friendly couple and feels almost more like staying with a family than in a normal hotel. Rooms were spacious with a great bathroom and air conditioning (Ours overlooked the small hotel garden). Also has a downstairs sort of tv room with a huge tv screen where you can watch dvds, and also has internet access. About 10 minutes walk from Plage Mala "the best beach on the riviera" which has two restaurants on it. The Cap d'Ail itself is small but has a few nice looking restaurants.
Overall a great stay, the owners made us feel very welcome and were happy to give us advice on the surrounding area. I would highly reccomend this hotel for people wanting a luxury hotel without paying more than double for one in the city of Monaco itself.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank m-b-ro84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Debora N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sebikaelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap d'Ail
1.0 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
1.3 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edmond's Hotel
Edmond's Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Quai Des Princes
Le Quai Des Princes
#6 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Normandy Cap d'Ail
Hotel Normandy Cap d'Ail
#8 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cap Estel Hotel
Cap Estel Hotel
#4 of 6 in Eze
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Monaco

Address: 1 avenue Pierre Weck, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range: £88 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Monaco 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the heights of the Mala beach, only 5 minutes from Monaco and 20 minutes from Nice Airport, the Hotel Monaco today occupies a privileged place on the French Riviera. So much peace and nature so close to Monte Carlo, a facility where it is mild live. With its spacious reception and hearty breakfasts, Monaco Hotel is an ideal place to meet with confidence. The private bar and terrace lounge also relaxation of synonyms and successful appetizers. A place out of time, for an unforgettable experience ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel de Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Monaco France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing