We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful. Do not use this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Normandy Cap d'Ail
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the Monaco Grand Prix 2013. Our double room was barely big enough for a double bed and the room was so small that there was not room for two adults to walk around the room. The shower room was ridiculously tiny and poorly designed- the wash basin was almost right in top of the toilet. There was hardly ever any hot water. The shower door was broken. The room was not particularly clean. No bedside tables. The wardrobe looked like it should have been in a skip. I would never go back to this hotel even for a free stay. It was a pleasure to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melliejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

We came a bit late and we told them so up front when we booked!
We called the doorbell for 20 minutes before a very grumpy french woman gave us a long lesson about us coming earlier!
She gives us the keys after I fellt like a school kid again. She could not stop yelling at us!
We where tired after a long trip and went to our room! It was VERY VERY small and dirty! Absolutly not worth the price! In the room you can hear everything your neighbour talk about! E
In the morning the house cleaning lady woke us up, and spoke to me in french. I dont speak french, but she was very scary!
And the breakfast was not worth the price, I would rather recomend the cafe on the street!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

A charming small hotel. It really is, with stunning views from your hotel room, but it is "interesting". There are no air condition. Only a fan at the room. It is kind of a bed'n brekfast hotel, and the breakfast is poor. Don't waste your money on it. You can rather walk two minutes to a Spar-foodstore, and buy fresh bread, juices and ham... for 2,5 euro... Walk down to the coast path. It is beatutiful, and enjoy your outdoor breakfast there... Distances are short. So you can walk to Monaco. Do not take the train from Nice to Cap d'Ail... it is a hell of a climbing up from the trainstation and to the hotel. Bus is perfect. The bus-stop is located three minutes from the hotel. I think it was bus nr 100 or 200 or something. It takes you all the way to Monaco too. Or if you want to take the train from Nice, go to Monaco, and grab a cab to the hotel. If you pay when you arrive, take care of your receipt. It is some times a bit like "Faulty Towers"... :) I also recomend you to take a visit to Eze village. Fantastic!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 19Anne78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Had three days here in September to finish our ten day stay on the Cote d'Azur and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is a sort of bed and breakfast as has been said but this is quite normal for France as anyone should know. If you want the Ibis or Formula experience don't stay here. The hotel has a great boutique atmosphere and nothing is too much trouble for the hosts in helping you during your stay.
Car parking is limited due to the nature of the hillside location and geography of the area but plenty additional is available on the side road or pay at the end of the driveway.
Beds are comfortable, showers are great, rooms are clean and welcoming and the place is peaceful ensuring a relaxing time and a good nights sleep. The owners are constantly trying to improve and their efforts show.
No restaurant as such but you can ask for drinks and nibbles.and a lovely breakfast is served on the terrace or rear patio for a mere 10 euros.
There are bars and restaurants 25metres away and also bus stops for Monaco or Nice.
An outstanding beach with club is situated at the bottom of the hill a 20min walk only reachable by foot or boat..La Mala. I found this to be paradise.A walkway along the rocks takes you into Monaco.
This is a great hotel to reside at and at a very reasonable cost for the upmarket Coast, I was surprised at the good value and we did not have to stay in a concrete souless place nor pay 400 euros a night as in most others near Monaco...
Highly reccomended and we will return next year!! xx

Room Tip: Get a sea view for a few euros more if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Testarossa54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Made the error of getting the train to Cap d'Ail! Be warned, get the train to Monaco (next stop on from Nice) and grab a cab back otherwise you have a real hill to climb.

The hotel itself is very interesting. The owner is an Artist so the décor of the main areas is very interesting. Before we got there DHL had sent over 26 boxes of material we required for the show we were attending and the hotel had kindly taken them in for storage.

Beautiful views over the Med if you get a sea view room, but some of the party only had normal rooms. The rooms themselves are pretty normal for this price in this area but the owner could not have been more helpful. Breakfast starts at 7.30am and is a typical French style. The terrace at the back is a lovely place to sit and wind down with a cold drink in the evening.

A word of warning. The front terrace area seems to be overrun with ants. Most of us ended up with bites!

Room Tip: Go that extra few Euros and get a sea view room. better still go the bundle and get a beautiful sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anothernightaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The first hotel was full and the Normandy was just behind. Walking in gave me a good feeling with interesting knick knacks all around. The young woman there was a bit touch and go, It felt like she knew we were desperate and would take anything. Luckily she had a room for 90 Euro for two with breakfast and free wifi. Our room was downstairs, on the side of the building by the walkway so we could not leave our window open for fresh air. The room was small and clean, the beds small and comfortable. The bathroom tiny. Suitcases on the beds during the day and closed standing up between the wall and the beds at night. A bit cramped but It was all workable. The breakfast was OK. The small terrace overlooking the water had only three tables which were occupied or in full sun (it was a very hot day), so we used the front patio. Lovely. The morning girl was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wobblywombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I had spent a weekend during the F1 GP, found it nice, well located and fairly priced and good breakfast.

I decided to come back with my fiancee and some friends this summer for a 3 day stay.

I had booked a room with sea view for 3 nights. When we check in, we are told that we will have to change room on third night, but that we will still keep the same room but one floor below. That morning we proceed to change the room, but we are told that the other room is not yet ready and that they will give us the keys once we are back from the beach. When we arrive, we are told that the receptionist had to leave for unforeseen reasons, that they had given our room by mistake to another couple and that just another smaller room is available (not sea view...). When we get in, we realize that they haven't had the time to clean up the bathroom...

Nonetheless, we were offered the breakfasts but still disappointed. Shame, I found the familly who owns the hotel very warm but I am not sure if I will return after this episode...

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papaulaborgne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap d'Ail
0.1 mi away
Edmond's Hotel
Edmond's Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
48 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
1.3 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Quai Des Princes
Le Quai Des Princes
#6 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
206 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eza Vista
Eza Vista
#5 of 6 in Eze
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Normandy Cap d'Ail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Normandy Cap d'Ail

Address: 6 allee des Orangers, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range: £64 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Normandy Cap d'Ail 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Normandy Cap d'Ail is located only 5 minutes away from Monaco by car. Nearby is a very special beach called Plage Mala. This is one of the six secret beaches on the cote d'Azure. When you see it you will understand why. The beach is 10 minutes by foot. Hotel Normandy is a family run hotel. The hotel used to be an old Villa back in the old days. We are an artistic and bohemian family. Twice a year we invite artist to exhibit in the hotel. We try to inspire our clients and try to make them feel at home in this beautiful French little village. Our rooms vary in size. If you like to be comfortable we recommend the four seaview rooms at the front of the hotel; two of them have a small terrace. We also recommend the apartment suite; we recently put 3 rooms together to make a large and modern accommodation. This suite has a large bathroom decorated with marble, Italian designer shower, wash basin & WC. We have also renovated seven bathrooms this year (November 2010) in the hotel for our customer to enjoy our hotel even more. We have a following of many loyal customers that enjoy the old style of the hotel and others that do not want to spend too much money. We still have standard rooms at reasonable prices and smaller seaview rooms with view to Cap Ferrat. The rooms are cleaned and new towels are replaced on a daily basis. Our cleaning lady is of the old kind and she is part of the history of the hotel, as her father took part in building it in 1920s. A self service breakfast buffet is served in the dinning room. You will find coffee, cereals, fresh croissant and different types of bread from the baker nearby, orange juice, milk, ham, salami, marmalade, cheese and fruits when available. Please call and we will be glad to talk you trough the best choice for your stay. BisouHotel Normandy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Normandy Cap d'Ail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Normandy Cap D'Ail France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing