We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“C'est bon, mais l'escaliers- tres dangereuse!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Kildare
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“C'est bon, mais l'escaliers- tres dangereuse!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

I stayed at a 1 bed apt here in September with my parents and it is perched on a windy hillside in the the village of Cap D'ail. You would need a car to get to and from the apartment as the hilly road has no pathway that I could see and is quite a climb.The entrance is via a craggy car park which does not give a good first impression but once you get out of the car park, it is a fairly decent property with beautiful views over the bay. The apartment itself was compact but spotless and had a very small toilet separate to the bathroom. The apartment is entered via a tricky little patio door from the small balcony and leads into a sitting dining area. The kitchenette is well supplied and the separate bedroom is small with a floor to ceiling window making it bright but the window does not open here so it can get a tad stuffy at night. There is a sliding door between the bedroom and sitting area, which also has a sleeping area (couches converted into beds at night time). There is plenty of bed linen & pillows, towels etc. Overall the apartments are small but comfortable. The one big minus is the stairs leading all the way throughout the complex. They are all constructed from wood throughout and there are some stairs that are a bit rickety. The view between each stair is un-nerving to say the least. The biggest issue I have with this is that if there were a fire, all the exit stairways would be up in flames in minutes and there would be no way out for anyone. This played on my mind the whole time I was there. Pierre & Vacances need to rip these out and replace them with metal or concrete stairs to prevent a major tragedy occurring. Aside from that, they have a nice reception area with a children's play area and a lovely infinity pool and bar. The pool was enjoyed by many but I was put off by the dirty grimey bottom of the pool which looked like it had not been cleaned for a long time.
The village has a couple of restaurants, a bakery and a few shops including a number of very over-priced tourist orientated shops- buy your trinkets elsewhere, maybe at Nice markets for good deals. Cap D'Ail is a stone's throw away from Beaulieu sur mer- there is a lovely walk around the headland here starting at the beach and you can see how the other half live as you trot through the bouganvillia-splashed villas. We took a boat trip around the bay leaving from Nice port which was very enjoyable and spent a a couple of mornings exploring old Nice, taking in the atmosphere of the old markets and a spot of lunch there too. Beaulieu has a nice friendly little restaurant that catered nicely to my parents taste in food- Le Catalan. But make sure to book in advance as it can get busy. Of course Monaco is just up the road but I did not visit on this occassion as I have seen it many times before. It is worth a visit for those who have not been there before. Villefranche sur mer is also close by and is a nice bustling town with a bit of atmosphere. The train service throughout the region is efficient and cheap if you do not feel like driving every day.
Overall, a nice apartment with beautiful views, but I would not return owing to the dangerous stairwells which really there is no excuse for in this day and age!

Room Tip: The ones at the side have a very wide commanding balcony but are mostly studio apartments. If you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    152
    89
    58
    42
See reviews for
203
112
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed in Pierre et Vacances Residence Costa Plana in Cap D'Ail last September - and left in distress. Despite having paid for two weeks, we left 5 days early, and paid for new accommodation in Nice - but were just delighted to leave.

We were subjected to rats continuously running across our garden-level balcony, as well as trying to enter our apartment (I have photos to prove it, but won't upload them to save the squeemish!).

What made it worse is that the apartments have no air conditioning, no windows, no screens – and the only source of fresh air was to open the balcony doors, which was obviously not an option, given that rats were trying to get into the apartment. The daily temperatures were between 28 and 30 degrees, and the temperature at night was 24 degrees – so no source of fresh air was a significant discomfort at night.

I understand that it is a mountainous area, and that rats and mice are more likely, however, if guests cannot leave their doors open, Pierre et Vacances MUST provide air conditioning.

We complained on 5 occasions whilst there, as well as many, many e-mails and letters subsequently, and got no satisfaction. What annoys me is that P&V are fastidious about responding to poor reviews on TripAdvisor, but were not keen to resolve our concerns on-the-ground.

It is a pity. They have tried to do something different with the apartments, rather than just a block of standard apartments built into the side of the mountain - and the views are spectacular.

However, they need to resolve the issue of vermin, and upgrade the apartments to include air conditioning.

P.S. You must have a car to stay here, unless you are super fit, and enjoy steps. There are over 300 steps up / down to Cap D’Ail. It has been stated in most reviews - and it is definitely true!

Room Tip: You must have a car to stay here, unless you are super fit, and enjoy steps. There are over 300 ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RonanMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cap d'Ail hotels

picton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We have stayed at several Pierre et Vacance properties, and this is one our favourites because of the stupendous views of the Mediterranean from your verandah. Apartments contain a separate bedroom, washroom and combined livingroom and kitchen (2 rooms for 4/5). However, a car is a must. Each unit is set in "blocks " and they all have sea views. Lovely to come back to at the end of they day. Parking is in massive garages connected by elevators to your unit. However, the elevator does not necessarilly stop on the floor you are on. You may still have to walk up a flight of stairs. However, you can make a special request with the property to insure that you have a unit is on an elevator floor.
The hotel has a lovely pool and a restaurant that is open for breakfast and lunch which is a nice way to start the day. Lovely property but not for those who are not physically fit!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2vagabons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

I spent the last week at the Residence, overall I loved it.
The positive: the view is absolutely spectacular from the pool and the appartments, the terrace from my appartment was just amazing, the infinity pool is great, the bar and restaurents are really cool, so are the staff at the bar and the reception. Cap d'ail is great, the beach Mala down the hill is gorgeous. The location of the hotel is perfect if you have a car, you can go to Monaco in 5 minutes, 20 minutes to Ville Franche and Nice.
The appartements are small but nice.
The negative: the beds are not confortable at all. For travellers who go by car, take something to put on the matresses because they are really hard.

You have to be in good shape to stay there because you have to walk a lot and if you go out of the hotel to go at the beach, it is a lot of walking and stairs.

For those who never went to ths part of France, please go, it is wondeful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

We had been at a wedding in Cannes and travelled through nice, cannes, st tropez, ending up here in monaco. this hotel? is cheap - there is reason for that.. it is awful.. not even a hotel more like small, hot (no air con) chalets - like staying in a caravan... dead flies evrywhere, only accessable via car and a car journey into Monaco... pool overun with children and the bar/cafe not even worth entering.. had to pay a deposit? which they took from my account so I then couln't draw any money out.. ruined our holiday and we left after the first night and changed our flights to get home... did get some money back but not that much and had to pay for new flights

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

We stayed in this residence on our travel in Eurore.We rented the studio it was big enough for 2 adults and 2 children.Simple furniture but efficient and good lay out . Awesome views,fairly quiet location,great pool,helpfull staff - speaking english well.This is very hilly area so car is a must,also beach is about 154 steps down after you park.Beach is great and worth the trip, crystal clear water ,good for snorkling,chairs for rent, restaurants.
The only downside during our stay - they are building another building right beside this property, so from Mo - Fri there is construction noise in the pool and reception area. We escaped this by going to the beach in the morning and using pool in the evening.Overall not luxury but great $ value considering location and easy access to Monaco!

  • Liked — Awesome pool ,location close to Monaco
  • Disliked — No AC
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank czkAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2007

Unless you have a car this will be more like a work out than a holiday, the hotel is set high on a very steep mountain, we arrived by the train and since there are is no taxi rank in cap d'ail we had to carry our luggage up the mountain which was about a 45 min uphill walk, didnt bother me too much but really bothered the girlfriend who
then bothered me!

The hotel (which isnt really a hotel its a self catering apartment) is very basic.

After a long confusing walk up and down many stairs trying to find our room we arrived to a dirty,small room, bed sheets had not been changed, when we complained we were told we had to change them ourselves and we could find clean linen in our closet.

Each guest is given only 1 towel a week which i found a bit on the tight side, im on holiday I dont want to be doing the laundry!
Anyway this is not great the rooms are rotten(no air con) but the pool is nice also the room views are great.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mondo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap d'Ail
1.7 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
1.3 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edmond's Hotel
Edmond's Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.7 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana
Address: 33 avenue General de Gaulle, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap d’Ail: a jewel on the French Riviera, at the gateway to Monaco and Italy. Residence designed by Jean Nouvel, refurbished with a view over the Mediterranean. With overflow swimming pool overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Residence - Costa Plana
Pierre & Vacances Residence - Costa Plana Hotel Cap d`Ail
Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing