We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical and independant - An economical place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Nice residence, withdrawn from the main road, economical and you may remain totally independent during you stay. Apartment relatively small but adequate and good for families and children.

We arrived in the evening, just after 19:00 and ... It was some sort of a quiz to manage our way through the parking, lot, the stairs to the closed reception, get to the "Safe" by the swimming pool, call the phone number indicated and finally get the keys form the safe. Surely it was different from any place I went to, before. But, with the keys there was a little package, with maps to get to the proper parking, then to the apartment.
This is really a small apartment, with kitchenette/living, separate room and bathroom, large terrace and a fantastic view to the city below and to the Mediterranean coast, Monaco, Italian Riviera, and up to Villefranche on the other side. We came there for family reasons and in winter so we did not utilize the nice swimming pool or the restaurant, but we could appreciate the good aspect and cleanliness of the place.
It is located on a very small road joining the "Moyenne corniche" to the "basse conoiche" permitting access from the coast or from the highway. Very convenient !
The price is quite economical for the area and we could appreciate the semi withdrawn location that made the place very quiet at night.

Room Tip: If you will arrive late, make sure to call the reception and know exactly how to get to your parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caturiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Good clean place with an infinity pool. Apartments are tiny so you really dont want to spend too much time in them but ok for sleeping (at a crush). Anything extra you have to pay for & there is absolutely nothing in the kitchen,no condiments,washing up liquid or tea towels.
We stayed & arrived by foot from the train station lugging all our luggage up the BIG hill - if you have kids dont do that,get a taxi !!
A good place to stay if you have a car but make sure its an expensive one or you will look out of place in this rich area !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The swimming poll was fantastic ! Exellent location and view !! Good restaurant and friendly staff ! Small room and difficult aproach! The hotel was clean and had good decoration !! The weren't towels , shampoo e.t.c. But our experience it was nice !!!









  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
1  Thank Vlasis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

But that is about it. If you are looking for a place that will not break the bank vs. a hotel stay & has rooms that need to be updated/repaired, then this place is it.

The views are fantastic and every apartment has one. Also, to be able to make your own meals and enjoy them overlooking the water is was what makes this property worth dealing with subpar accommodations. We were here for a week after a week of staying in hotels in other parts of France, we enjoyed being able to cook for ourselves. So we definitely made use of the very small / minimally supplied kitchen.

We had a issues with the apartment not being cleaned (or if it had, it didn't look like it). They were quick to respond and nice about it. Our apartment was cleaned within 2 hours of my going to the front desk.

The location (if you have a car) is great. Just a short drive to neighboring towns and a good grocery store in Monaco. There is a stairway to the bottom of the hill for morning walks to the bakery. You don't feel so bad about eating the croissants and baguettes so much after the hike.

The pool is lovely but very busy. They need to do a better job of keeping the area clean. There are non-smoking, eating rules but everyone ignores them.

Not a bad stay overall. Love the area but will look for other options nearby next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viewoftheharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A perfect location with splendid views.
A fantastic pool area - perhaps too few umbrellas (just 4).
There is a lot of street noise, however.
The room/apartment is tiny but could be improved by combining the toilet- and the bathroom (quit the doors - the toiletroom is just for small people).
A ventilator/a fan is needed, especially during the night.
The kitchen had no breadboard and no carving board. We missed egg cups, too. There were no cleaning kit - and no more to buy/lend in the reception.

Room Tip: Change the bathroom area by combining the toilet- and the bathroom as described above would improve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

In January 2012, I booked a week here during the Monaco Grand Prix in May 2012. The reservation was confirmed by booking.com. On May 9, we received a message from booking.com that we had been moved to the Pierre and Vacances in Menton. I stopped in on what was to be our arrival date at Costa Plana and recounted this to the manageress. She said, "So I moved you to Menton, so what?" Well, the property at Menton did not have an apartment large enough for four adults and our friends left for England after a few days. The property at Menton also did not have a pool. On top of that, Pierre & Vacances had billed us for both properties. The manageress at Costa Plana said I had to tell the management at Menton that. A total lack of helpfulness!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank jmlynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I stayed at a 1 bed apt here in September with my parents and it is perched on a windy hillside in the the village of Cap D'ail. You would need a car to get to and from the apartment as the hilly road has no pathway that I could see and is quite a climb.The entrance is via a craggy car park which does not give a good first impression but once you get out of the car park, it is a fairly decent property with beautiful views over the bay. The apartment itself was compact but spotless and had a very small toilet separate to the bathroom. The apartment is entered via a tricky little patio door from the small balcony and leads into a sitting dining area. The kitchenette is well supplied and the separate bedroom is small with a floor to ceiling window making it bright but the window does not open here so it can get a tad stuffy at night. There is a sliding door between the bedroom and sitting area, which also has a sleeping area (couches converted into beds at night time). There is plenty of bed linen & pillows, towels etc. Overall the apartments are small but comfortable. The one big minus is the stairs leading all the way throughout the complex. They are all constructed from wood throughout and there are some stairs that are a bit rickety. The view between each stair is un-nerving to say the least. The biggest issue I have with this is that if there were a fire, all the exit stairways would be up in flames in minutes and there would be no way out for anyone. This played on my mind the whole time I was there. Pierre & Vacances need to rip these out and replace them with metal or concrete stairs to prevent a major tragedy occurring. Aside from that, they have a nice reception area with a children's play area and a lovely infinity pool and bar. The pool was enjoyed by many but I was put off by the dirty grimey bottom of the pool which looked like it had not been cleaned for a long time.
The village has a couple of restaurants, a bakery and a few shops including a number of very over-priced tourist orientated shops- buy your trinkets elsewhere, maybe at Nice markets for good deals. Cap D'Ail is a stone's throw away from Beaulieu sur mer- there is a lovely walk around the headland here starting at the beach and you can see how the other half live as you trot through the bouganvillia-splashed villas. We took a boat trip around the bay leaving from Nice port which was very enjoyable and spent a a couple of mornings exploring old Nice, taking in the atmosphere of the old markets and a spot of lunch there too. Beaulieu has a nice friendly little restaurant that catered nicely to my parents taste in food- Le Catalan. But make sure to book in advance as it can get busy. Of course Monaco is just up the road but I did not visit on this occassion as I have seen it many times before. It is worth a visit for those who have not been there before. Villefranche sur mer is also close by and is a nice bustling town with a bit of atmosphere. The train service throughout the region is efficient and cheap if you do not feel like driving every day.
Overall, a nice apartment with beautiful views, but I would not return owing to the dangerous stairwells which really there is no excuse for in this day and age!

Room Tip: The ones at the side have a very wide commanding balcony but are mostly studio apartments. If you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap d'Ail
1.0 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
1.3 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,345 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Eza Vista
Eza Vista
#5 of 6 in Eze
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edmond's Hotel
Edmond's Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
48 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana

Address: 33 avenue General de Gaulle, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range: £52 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap d’Ail: a jewel on the French Riviera, at the gateway to Monaco and Italy. Residence designed by Jean Nouvel, refurbished with a view over the Mediterranean. With overflow swimming pool overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Residence - Costa Plana
Pierre & Vacances Residence - Costa Plana Hotel Cap d`Ail
Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing