We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible - don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“terrible - don't stay here”
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We had been at a wedding in Cannes and travelled through nice, cannes, st tropez, ending up here in monaco. this hotel? is cheap - there is reason for that.. it is awful.. not even a hotel more like small, hot (no air con) chalets - like staying in a caravan... dead flies evrywhere, only accessable via car and a car journey into Monaco... pool overun with children and the bar/cafe not even worth entering.. had to pay a deposit? which they took from my account so I then couln't draw any money out.. ruined our holiday and we left after the first night and changed our flights to get home... did get some money back but not that much and had to pay for new flights

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    156
    91
    58
    48
See reviews for
214
113
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We stayed in this residence on our travel in Eurore.We rented the studio it was big enough for 2 adults and 2 children.Simple furniture but efficient and good lay out . Awesome views,fairly quiet location,great pool,helpfull staff - speaking english well.This is very hilly area so car is a must,also beach is about 154 steps down after you park.Beach is great and worth the trip, crystal clear water ,good for snorkling,chairs for rent, restaurants.
The only downside during our stay - they are building another building right beside this property, so from Mo - Fri there is construction noise in the pool and reception area. We escaped this by going to the beach in the morning and using pool in the evening.Overall not luxury but great $ value considering location and easy access to Monaco!

  • Liked — Awesome pool ,location close to Monaco
  • Disliked — No AC
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank czkAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

Unless you have a car this will be more like a work out than a holiday, the hotel is set high on a very steep mountain, we arrived by the train and since there are is no taxi rank in cap d'ail we had to carry our luggage up the mountain which was about a 45 min uphill walk, didnt bother me too much but really bothered the girlfriend who
then bothered me!

The hotel (which isnt really a hotel its a self catering apartment) is very basic.

After a long confusing walk up and down many stairs trying to find our room we arrived to a dirty,small room, bed sheets had not been changed, when we complained we were told we had to change them ourselves and we could find clean linen in our closet.

Each guest is given only 1 towel a week which i found a bit on the tight side, im on holiday I dont want to be doing the laundry!
Anyway this is not great the rooms are rotten(no air con) but the pool is nice also the room views are great.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mondo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cap d'Ail hotels

Accrington UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2006

II really dont know what everyone is complaining about! OK you MUST have a car to get to this place as it’s a very steep walk up to the hotel, but hey, rent a car and visit Monaco and other fantastic villages around. We were greeted by a very friendly girl on reception and spoke English perfectly. ALL the lifts worked and there was no problem booking in. When we opened the curtains in our apartment we have the most breathtaking views of the Mediterranean and as we went when the Monaco Yacht Show was on we saw some fabulous yachts from our balcony with our binoculars. Our room was a bit stuffy and asked at reception if they hired out fans, the answer was YES and handed over their own fan for no charge. Car park is secure with keypad entry. All the usual apartment services including a fully equipped kitchenette. Only thing we didn’t like was the very small coffee cups! We ended up buying some large cups from the Spar shop at the bottom of the hill. All in All, i will be visiting this place again soon.

  • Liked — Stunning Views
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank MonacoMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2006

On arrival at the Pierre and Vacances Residence we were given a room which, contrary to advertisement, did not have lift access and we had to climb 60 very steep steps with our luggage to our room. Once inside our apartment we realised that it had not been cleaned and toilet, kitchen, floors and windows were very dirty with both the kitchen and bathroom sinks not draining away properly. There was also broken shelving in one bedroom which had been left on the floor and the main sliding glass door out of the apartment did not lock. After contacting the manager of the property and after much discussion regarding the general state of the apartment, we were eventually moved, although only after two nights in this uncleaned and tatty apartment.

Our second apartment was clean an did have lift access, and although a vast improvement on the previous apartment, we still felt that the rooms were very small and furniture very cheap and uncomfortable. We also discovered that if we required clean towels or bedding these had to be picked up at the reception and that used towels and linen was not picked up from the apartment but had also to be taken by us back to the reception. The reception staff, with exception of the manager, were not overly welcoming or helpful.

Good points of the accommodation were the pool which was lovely and the views over the med from the balconies.

However, the residence is situated up a very steep road with beach access gained by crossing some busy roads and requiring a lot a stamina, or car, for the return journey. There is also not much to do at night in Cap d'ail although it is reasonably close to Monaco.

I would not go back to this residence and think that a higher standard of accommodation can be found in more accessible areas nearby for a similar price.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ailsacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2005

We stayed here for 2 evenings just before heading to Italy.
The room was very spacious, very clean, and offered a beautiful/fantastic view of the Sea. The hotel had a gorgeous pool which provided the illusion it simply ended and fell off the mountain.

That being said, the hotel is located at THE TOP of the mountain. So, if you do not have a car then the walk UP the mountain is extremely tiring. There are stairs that go up, but given the fact that there are 300 or so of them, you don't want to do the walk very often ! One night in particular, my dad stayed in the room because he didnt want to walk back up. We brought him back some food.

It is more suited to the vacationing family who intend on staying there a week or so and have a car. It is definitely not suited for a quick 1/2 night stay.

Not a lot of things to do at night, so I would suggest staying in Nice or Monaco if you want some late night activity.

The bus passes right through the town so it's easy to get to Monaco or Nice by bus. It is also possible to get here by bus from Nice airport as well taking the bus from dowtown Nice (Gate Routiere). There are no hotel shuttles available.

So, we should have realised beforehand it was not suited to our needs since we wanted Cap D'Ail/Nice/Monaco to be a quick stopover and not an extended stay.

It was gorgeous, but instead of remembering the beautiful views of the sea, all we remember is the long walk up the stairs to get to the hotel !! :)

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank gaglierto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap d'Ail
1.3 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edmond's Hotel
Edmond's Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Quai Des Princes
Le Quai Des Princes
#4 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
2.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana
Address: 33 avenue General de Gaulle, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap d’Ail: a jewel on the French Riviera, at the gateway to Monaco and Italy. Residence designed by Jean Nouvel, refurbished with a view over the Mediterranean. With overflow swimming pool overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence - Costa Plana Hotel Cap d`Ail
Pierre And Vacances Residence - Costa Plana
Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing