We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will meet your needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Miramar Cap D'Ail
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Will meet your needs”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Music store 55
Glass studio 160


We stayed here for two nights in order to have easy access to Monaco. Having stayed five nights in Nice and then two nights in Cannes, this was the last part of our trip. I booked our reservation early in order to secure our choice of rooms.

The hotel met all of our needs. The room and bathroom was very clean. The room was spacious enough. We had a bedroom with a double bed as well as an additional room with bunk beds. (Room 25). There was air conditioning in the main room, but not in the bunk bed room. I ended up sleeping on the floor in the main room because it was so hot. Also, the view from our balcony was magnificent. It was a corner balcony so we had a panoramic view of the Mediterranean. It was gorgeous.

It may or may not be fair to compare our stay here with our hotel in Nice; but if I am going to make that comparison, I have to say that Miramar only MET our needs, and went no further to exceed them. The hotel staff were friendly, but did not go any further in order to make us feel comfortable. We were annoyed that every request we made was questioned in a somewhat patronizing way. If we requested ice, we were asked "now?", if we asked for a taxi we were told "you could just take the bus". It even got to the point where my request for milk for my cereal (only a bit left in the jug) was met with "this is not enough for you?" We didn't feel like we asked for a lot of the hotel staff. The truth is, we are tourists who have never been to Cap D'Ail before and we wanted to feel like our business was appreciated. Not so much. When we checked out, we got a "goodbye" and that was it. This compared to our stay at the Nice Garden Hotel where we recieved hugs, kisses and an invitation to come and stay again any time. At that hotel we felt like family. Here, we felt like intruders.

I have a few suggestions if you are staying in Cap D'Ail.
1. If you take the train to the Cap D'Ail station, be sure you have a cell phone. The station is unoccupied and there is no phone to use to call a taxi. The station is at the bottom of a tall cliff. My mother and I were not prepared to walk up the winding streets with three heavy suitcases in 30 degree weather.

2. If you take the bus to Monaco, there is a stop just outside the hotel. The bus costs 1.50 euro per trip (bus drivers make change) and is fairly convenient. Just be aware that it rarely runs on schedule, is sometimes VERY packed full of people and stops running after 8:30pm.

3. For eating in Cap D'Ail I highly recommend "Edmonds". It is a hotel and restaurant across the street and passed the parking lot. We ate three meals there and all were excellent. Service was excellent, nice cool air conditioning and pleasant staff. The vegetable lasagna is unbelievable.

4. To get from Cap D'Ail to the Nice Airport, take the 100 bus (or a taxi) to Place D'Armes in Monaco, then take the 110 bus directly to the airport. This bus is a coach and the driver will stow your luggage underneath. Very easy and convenient.

5. There is a very nice grocery store at the end of the street near the hotel. Walk in the direction of Monaco. 2 minute walk.

Overall, we had a fine stay at the Miramar hotel, however if the hotel patronage wants to earn solid recommendations and repeat visits they should focus less on milk intake and more on general hospitality.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank aarontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    55
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
26
62
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

There's absolutely nothing wrong with this small hotel on the main road between Nice and Monaco. It's clean & efficiently run, decent breakfast and with good transport links (providing the trains aren't on strike!). I had room 23 with sunny balcony, great view, surprisingly quiet, lashings of hot water and unlimited internet - very good value for 83euros on the Cote d'Azur in mid-June. Cap d'Ail itself is something and nothing; squeezed between the sea and mountains there's not much here apart from an attractive cliff-path, but beware the slog back up the hill from the beach, it's very hard work!

Room Tip: Top floor south facing rooms with balcony are sunny, quiet & with great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyF553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned from a three night stay at The Miramar. We were made feel very welcome by Beatrice and her small team. The hotel is spotless and well maintained. We had room 25 which has a corner dual aspect balcony giving a great panorama over the sea and village. Breakfast was a basic selection of meats, cheese but coffee was good and as expected bread and croissants were delicious. Room made up every day to a good standard. Thank you Beatrice for your wonderful hospitality and we will return to stay when next in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungay
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My friend and I stayed here in April at the Miramar for the second time in April whilst going to the Rolex Masters tennis in Monaco. We came back to the hotel because we were so impressed with it last time, and in fact it was even better this time! Both times we asked for rooms with a balcony, which have a lovely view over the ocean. We really cannot fault the hotel and feel it is worth more than the two stars it has. The breakfast is good - lovely dark rye bread as well as white, croissants, cheese, salami, ham etc (only the coffee slightly disappointing, as I love espresso) and the rooms are spotless, and I had a really good drencher shower with a separate hand held shower if required. (Room 21) As others have said, it is a really pleasant place to stay and the owners, Beatrice and Angelo, are just lovely - fun, friendly and very helpful, without being intrusive, and they speak very good English if required. I also heard them speaking Italian to guests. The 100 bus to Monaco (and Menton) stops virtually outside (to Nice the stop is opposite) and there is a supermarket a few paces down from the hotel, and a hotel with restaurant, a pizzeria, a boulangerie and a greengrocers opposite. The station is situated below the hotel which is a steep walk down and up again. On the day we were not at the tennis we did the coastal path walk,which has stunning views and, towards the Monaco end, le Cabanon, a beachside bistro which is perfect to while away a couple of hours at lunch time!

Room Tip: Rooms 20 and 21 on the second floor are at the back and have a balcony and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serendipityron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I found this hotel because I had to watch a football match at night in Monaco. It seems the the traffic at night was a bit inconvinient and the the hotel near Stade Louis II was quite expensive, so I found this hotel in google map and trip adivsor. I agree with other comments that "cheap doesn't mean it is not good." The price of the hotel was reasonable and the room in nice. The breakfast made me very full as I couldn't stop myself from eating.

The hotel is near to AS Monaco's home ground and it takes around 30 mins walk from the hotel to Stade Louis II. This is a nice place for tourists who have to watch a football match at Monaco.

The only problem of the room was the shower was not hung on the wall so you have to hold it by yourself while having shower. (Sorry, I am really lazy.....)

I will definitely come back if I have a chance.

Book it through its own website as it should be cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_Chiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Me and a friend stayed at this hotel a few days, when visiting Monaco. The hotels in Monaco are really expensive, and this was a lot cheaper.

Cheaper doesn't mean the hotel isn't that good. It was an average hotel, nothing special, but the personnel was friendly, the rooms were clean and it was a great way of visiting Monaco. From the station in Cap d'Ail a train runs twice an hour. In five minutes you are in Monaco. Stay aboard for 30 minutes longer and you're in Italy.

As for the hotel: it is located above a bar/restaurant. There isn't a real reception, you get your keys from the bar personnel. The food in the restaurant is pretty good, though the pizzeria next door is also great, and less expensive.

There is a supermarket across the street for all your supplies.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ficus87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed for 3 days and was sorry to leave, could easily have spent a week or longer here. The lady on the reception who is also the owner was lovely, very helpful and friendly and spoke great English as our French is limited to say the least. We had a parking space at the rear of the hotel that is owned by them although this cannot be reserved but there always seemed to be a free place even in July when we went. The bus stop into Monte carlo is very easy and regular literally outside the door. The walk down to the beach is pleasant but quite hard in the heat as it is all steps with no access for cars, but great when you get there. We booked a room with a balcony overlooking the sea with outstanding views, well worth trying to get one of these rooms. Will definitely try to get back here at some point.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roma0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap d'Ail
1.0 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
0.0 mi away
Edmond's Hotel
Edmond's Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Normandy Cap d'Ail
Hotel Normandy Cap d'Ail
#8 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Costa Plana
1.1 mi away
Cap Estel Hotel
Cap Estel Hotel
#4 of 7 in Eze
195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Quai Des Princes
Le Quai Des Princes
#5 of 8 in Cap d'Ail
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar Cap D'Ail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar Cap D'Ail

Property: Hotel Miramar Cap D'Ail
Address: 126 avenue du 3 Septembre, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Miramar Cap D'Ail 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Miramar, a 2-star hotel, promises you a fabulous holiday in the charming village of Cap d'Ail. Close to Monaco and Monte Carlo, it offers the perfect setting in which to kick back and relax with a view of the sea. The hotel provides comfortable accommodation just a few minutes from the Casino de Monaco, the Oceanographic Museum, Cap d'Ail's stunning beaches and the coastal path. The hotel's 25 air-conditioned and well-equipped rooms open out onto a typical Cote d'Azur landscape. Some rooms have a terrace facing the sea, perfect for enjoying a moment's relaxation. Take advantage of this excellent, seaside location, let the waves soothe you, the Cote d'Azur beckons... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Miramar Cap D'Ail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miramar Cap D'Ail France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing