We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get ripped off!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Goodway Hotel Batam
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Nagoya
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you book the cheaper rooms at this hotel from the pictures I suggest you don't! They do not state how far the cheaper rooms ar from reception, in the words of the receptionist "they are a long way", and then you are informed these rooms do not have windows or a safety deposit box. When the receptionist passed on this information......she then asked if you would like to pay (Considerably) more to upgrade to a better room! When the manager left she said they do this often!!!!!

The rooms are noisy, I could hear the television in the room next door clearly.

The breakfast is not suited to Westerners.

This is a tired hotel and the pictures are better then the hotel.

Room Tip: Simple tip for a good room....book another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwayHotel, General Manager at Goodway Hotel Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Greg,

Warm greetings from Goodway Hotel Batam!

Thank you for your valuable review on a TripAdvisor.

Please accept our sincere apology for your unpleasant breakfast experience during your stay. We have noted and took action based on your comments for improvement. We assure you that we are working to fix this problem and we ensure it will never happen in the future.

We really hope to welcome you back and giving us the opportunity of serving you better.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Chris De Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed in batam for a week.end to play golf. I have been travelling very often for business reason in every part of the word and I can say this is a very good hotel considering the indonesian standards.
Staff is very friendly, always smiling, expecially during checkin/checkout and they make always the possible to make you happy. swimming pool is a corner of paradise, clean and with a small restaurant. the Bar has a long list of wine and liquors: I enjoy watching the football world cup here. food is good quality as well
Area to improve: the gym equipment is very basic

Room Tip: corner suite are larger than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabrizio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwayHotel, General Manager at Goodway Hotel Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Fabrizio,

Warm greetings from Goodway Hotel Batam!

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your great experience during your stay.

We are glad to know that you have a good time with us. We surely will keep up the good service for our guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcome you back at Goodway Hotel Batam.

Sincerely,

Chris De Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Whilst I would recommend being organised & so book your hotel room in advance, sometimes things happen & you need to stay another day & you need a room quickly!
I wanted to stay for a golf tournamant on the Sun but many of the hotels in Batam were fully booked.
I took a chance on the Goodway at Nagoya & the Manager - Vian & her capable team at Reception sourced me a comfortable & affordable room. Problem solved!
Breakfast was also great!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 687Christo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwayHotel, General Manager at Goodway Hotel Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear 687Christo,

Warm greetings from Goodway Hotel Batam!

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to know that you had a good time during your stay with us.

We really hope to welcome you back and giving us the opportunity of serving you better.

Sincerely,

Chris De Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed in a Superior room on the night of 13th June and the stay was nothing but perfect! All the staff (including the security guards) was very friendly, the room was very big, the bed is soft and comfortable and there is also a bathtub!!! If there is any fault that I have to point out, it will be there were only a set of the toiletries when there is 2 of us in the room. But we can always ask from more from the friendly staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eugene-see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwayHotel, General Manager at Goodway Hotel Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Eugene-see,

Warm greetings from Goodway Hotel Batam!

Thank you for your great review. We are pleased to know that you had a good time during your stay with us.

We really hope to welcome you back and giving us the opportunity of serving you better.

Sincerely,

Chris De Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

we visited batam for a weekend trip and stayes at this *hotel* and guess what we found:
1. room is quite dark, dirty and old
2. blanket in the room was full of stains and we even saw a *pink/red* stain.
3. bed sheet is not clean. a lot of stains again....
4. toilet shower is sucks

and lastly

5. breakfast and the service is not at an acceptable level!! we reached the restaurant at about 9am, with lots of unclean table. asked the waiter assistance to replenish cutleries and cups for us because the rack was empty. it took them pretty long time to replenish them (and they are not so friendly afterall).

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanSieny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwayHotel, General Manager at Goodway Hotel Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Tan Sieny,

Warm greetings from Goodway Hotel Batam!

Thank you for your valuable review on a TripAdvisor.

Please accept our sincere apology for your unpleasant breakfast experience during your stay. We have noted and took action based on your comments for improvement. We assure you that we are working to fix this problem and it will never happen in the future.

We really hope to welcome you back and giving us the opportunity of serving you better.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Chris De Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Went with my family; wife and two kids. Place is very old. Walkway and room very dusty. The aircon inside our room was stale. We got flu because of this. The hotel seems to need a major overhaul, else I would definitely stay away from here.

Breakfast was ok. Spread was also not so much. Food was not great and not bad either.

Only commendation is their staffs. Very friendly and attentive. And that's that.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGrayMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwayHotel, General Manager at Goodway Hotel Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Sani,

Warm greetings from Goodway Hotel Batam!

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and we are really concern on meeting the expectation of our guests.

Please accept our sincere apology for your unpleasant experience during your stay. Your comments are valuable and it motivates us to improve our facilities. We are currently in the process of improving our facilities and service of the entire hotel.

We really hope to welcome you back and giving us the opportunity of serving you better.

Sincerely,

Chris De Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Avoid going to Batam on a long weekend holiday, as the immigration officers took 2 hours to clear us. It was mayhem at the checkpoint.....simply too many visitors!!

Enough said about the checkpoint and lets get to the hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted and told to wait for the check in process. In my booking with Agoda, 3 rooms with halfboard and 1 room with only breakfast were booked and as well as a remark stating that we wanted the newly renovated rooms. We got none of those except daily breakfast for all. I called Agoda and they offered free lunch for 6 pax for the 2 nights. Thank you Agoda.

Rooms were old and at SGD 78 per night, it was not really worth it. Some staff were exceptionally courteous and provided good service but there were also bad ones. There were no towels in my room and thank god I realised it upon entering the bathroom.

Perhaps the only reason why we booked this hotel was the close proximity to the eateries and the watering holes! Sederhana serves the best nasi padang in Batam and its better to dine in the 2nd floor. There's Macdonald and KFC opposite Goodway Hotel and they are open 24 hours during weekends. Plenty of watering holes like D'Angel, Chilli's playing songs of any genre! We loved the parties!

If Ive got no other options, I would stay at Goodway. Perhaps, being a regular at Harmoni has spoilt me a bit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saravanan_Samiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodwayHotel, General Manager at Goodway Hotel Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Saravanan_13,

Warm greetings from Goodway Hotel Batam!

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and we are really concern on meeting the expectation of our guests.

Your comment motivates us to improve all areas and therefore we have shared it with all our team members on how to improve the Operations and services in order to take good care of our guests in the entire hotel.

We apologize for the unsatisfactory service and the inconvenience caused as we work towards eliminating this from happening again in the future.

We really hope to welcome you back and giving us the opportunity of serving you better.

Regards,

Chris De Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagoya
0.2 mi away
Harmoni Hotel
Harmoni Hotel
#7 of 29 in Nagoya
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allium Batam Hotel
Allium Batam Hotel
#2 of 29 in Nagoya
495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pacific Palace Hotel
Pacific Palace Hotel
#44 of 105 in Batam
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Batam
Swiss-Belinn Batam
#38 of 105 in Batam
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodway Hotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodway Hotel Batam

Address: Jl. Imam Bonjol no. 1, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Nagoya
Price Range: £26 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goodway Hotel Batam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Hotel Located At The Heart of the City's Premier Shopping & Entertainment District. Nestled in the vibrancy of the famous Nagoya Hill area, Goodway Hotel Batam is located in close walking proximity to the premier shopping and entertainment district. It offers you accommodation with a comfortable, warm and relaxing ambience. Whether you are on a business trip or leisure, we are dedicated to make your stay a delightful and unforgettable one. Goodway Hotel Batam conveniently features 268 rooms and suites along with full amenities, warm personal services and hospitality. As one of the Top M.I.C.E Hotels in Batam Archipelago Island, Goodway Hotel Batam offers you meetings and wedding venues up to a capacity of over 1000 people. Meetings and wedding occasions at Goodway Hotel are fully supported by our catering and banquet team, who will ensure everything you need for an exquisite occassion will suit your taste and budget. Selection of authentic Japanese fare, Indonesian dishes and Asian cuisines awaits you at our restaurants and bars, passionately made by the expert chefs. Goodway Hotel Batam also offers access to the nearby Nagoya Shopping Mall and "Kampong Bule" for night entertainment and other Fast food establishments surrounds the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Goodway Hotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing