We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romatic escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Brook Estate
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romatic escape”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

A small clean simple chalet nestled in the trees of the Hunter Valley. The Manager Ian is so friendly and really helped us with things to do (which was a HUGE help having been our first visit!!) The Sav Blac is fantastic! I really wish we bought more. A really peaceful perfect location on a beautiful estate. I highly recommend. Enjoy the peace and quite.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvanHaywood, Manager at Island Brook Estate, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Thanks for the review Laura, but I think all the holidaying has got to your head! We're in Margaret River, not the Hunter Valley! :) And for such a nice review it's free freight for you, just use the coupon "Family" on our website and you can have all the Sauv Blanc you can fit in! Cheers, Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We were really happy with the fact that the chalet we booked (Cabernet Chalet) was nowhere near any others, in fact all the chalets had a little private road off the driveway and were hidden in the bushes making it really private and quiet.
Free btl of wine on arrival was a lovely touch.
The room was exactly what we wanted, everything we needed was in there. Although there was no wine glasses when I asked for some at reception I straight away recieved some along with an apology. The staff were really warm and nice.
The spa in the bathroom was amazing, big enough for 2 people comfortably.
Only thing that lets this place down is that its quite far out and to get a taxi in Margaret River is a huge pain, we ended up spending nearly $80 getting into town for dinner etc.
But overrall it was a great, cute, romantic little getaway place. Well worth the money :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Savannah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom chalet at Island Brook Estate and were very pleased. They chalets are well designed and very comfortable. They chalets are private and surrounded by jarrah forest. The only thing they were lacking was a wood fired heater. They do have reverse cycle airconditioner though and electric blankets. We only got to stay for one night but thoroughly enjoyed it. Would definitely stay there again. Although they winery is north of Margaret river, you are right in the middle of the bulk of the wineries in that region, so plenty of wine tasting to do close by.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tractor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2010

A big thank you to Paul and Betty for an unforgettable stay! Island Brook is a lovely relaxing place to get away without having to get away too far! It has heater/air con, a beautiful spa and you even get an electric blanket! Waking up to nothing other then the sounds of nature is priceless! Had a very very relaxing and enjoyable stay at Island Brook, thanks again Paul and Betty, Glenn and I will definelty see you again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieandGlenn010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

My family took a week of holiday in Margaret River. We flew into Perth from Singapore on Quantas, which was a positive experience. We rented a car at the airport with Budget, a negative experience. We had to wait thirty minutes for a representative to man the desk at the international terminal. I called the Budget HQ for support and was disappointed again. Once the rep finally arrived, the service was poor.

“Oh, I see you ordered a GPS. I hope we have one for you.”

We drove to Margaret River after spending an evening in a Perth hotel.

At the planning stage of the holiday, my wife and I agreed that we wanted to stay in a comfortable cottage, cabin or chalet where we could care for our baby, cook outdoors, sip wine, read, and enjoy nature. We also desired to make short trips to the wineries and restaurants as the baby would allow. We did some research on the Internet and shortlisted a few places to stay. Availability would make the final decision. I couldn’t book five consecutive nights in a single cabin. As a result, we split our stay between Island Brook Estates and Acacia Chalets. The popularity of Margaret River Valley gave us confidence in our holiday decision.

We stayed 3 nights in the Semillon Chalet at Island Brook. It is nestled in the wilderness, a fair distance from the other two cottages. The best aspect of the chalet is the quiet privacy afforded to its inhabitants. The cottage has a small living room, two bedrooms and one decent sized bath. My wife enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub. It is appointed with a small TV, two small couches, and a very small dining table. The patio has a small table with four chairs at which we ate our meals and read. The kitchen contains all tools required to cook and eat.

There were some negatives to Island Brook. First, the chalet is stocked with Island Brook wine, chocolate, baked goods, etc. Careful, these are not complimentary. There is a price list on the hidden side of the refrigerator that I overlooked prior to eating some chocolate and drinking some wine. Yes, it’s my fault. However, my overall feeling was that the proprietor was excessively entrepreneurial. Second, I love to cook outside. The gas barbecue has a flat metal top as opposed to a grill top. I had never seen or used this type before, but found it to produce less than optimal results. Finally, the overall vibe of Island Brook was not great. The proprietor was polite, but not necessarily friendly or helpful. She provided a cot for the baby as requested, but asked us to provide our own bedding. She did not have much information to share regarding local activities, restaurants, etc.

We stayed at another similar set of cabins, Acacia Chalets south of Margaret River, and had an improved experience. Acacia Chalets has a trendier and more comfortable design. It is appointed with more care and capital. While Island Brook felt cramped, the Acacia living areas were large and airy especially the living room, kitchen, and outdoor deck with an excellent grill. The furnishings were a significant upgrade. There was a multitude of visitor information waiting on the coffee table. A couple of wallabies wandered up to the cabin. I wish my son was of an age to appreciate the site.

The proprietor was responsive. She had forgotten to bring the baby cot on the first night. She came to the chalet to apologise and was clearly upset with herself. She showed that she cared, was kind and repentant. She refunded the cost of the cot and brought us a complimentary bottle of wine. She turned a negative into a big positive. We learned in Perth that the baby wouldn’t sleep in a cot anyway (or in the airplane bassinet!), so it was good to get a refund. :)

There are only two downsides to Acacia Chalets. First, the chalets are fairly close to each other. This was not an issue for us as we were in the furthest chalet which did not look out to the others. Second, one can hear traffic from the Caves Rd. beyond the wild area. Neither was a deal breaker. Quite the opposite, I got to enjoy live music from a nearby winery.

The cost of Acacia Chalets and Island Brook Estates is comparable. I recommend Acacia. I also recommend a short holiday in Margaret River in a chalet, especially if you need to get away from the bustling city.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelwithbaby18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metricup
15.7 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
13.8 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
9.9 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#6 of 51 in Margaret River
121 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eight Willows Retreat
Eight Willows Retreat
#1 of 2 in Metricup
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Brook Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Brook Estate

Property: Island Brook Estate
Address: 7388 Bussell Hwy, Metricup, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Metricup
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Metricup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Brook Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Brook Estate is a family owned and operated vineyard and accommodation provider. Our three chalets located to the rear of the vineyard, are surrounded by Jarrah forest, kangaroo, and other flora and fauna. Central location in the Margaret River wine region. All chalets have contemporary quality interiors are fully furnished with flat screen TV, queen size beds, double spa, private BBQ and free WiFi. The ideal quiet get-away for family or couples. Our cellar door is open for wine tasting and sales 10am - 5pm, 7 days. (Occasionally the cellar is closed for some quality family time) 4 star rated accommodation (AAA) 4.5 star winery rating (James Halliday) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Island Brook Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing