We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eight Willows Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Overall we had a good stay, the chalets are really well appointed and in excellent taste. The location itself is nice , however nothing extraordinary, just an artificial lake (dam) and few trees and shrubs. We were charged AUD350 per night.There is no service per say, the chalets are not daily cleaned and there is a large note saying that if you do not leave it reasonably cleaned you may be charged an extra $60! There is no restaurant nearby, and in general most of the restaurants all around all Margaret River are closed for dinner, as well for breakfast (a lot of the cafes open at 10AM), which I think it's a joke given the huge prices being charged around. This is one reason more and more Australians prefer to take holidays in Asia, where the service And value for monies are so much better.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ULDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

Great location, very central to everything in the area. Chalets are lovely and staff are very friendly.

The owner recommended a private chef through Oslens Catering - www.olsenscatering.com.au One of the highlights of our trip. Greg, our chef, cooked up an amazing three course meal which included Bouillabaisse, Sizzling prawns and a venison hot pot. Greg also imparted a lot of local knowledge and great stories about the area to boot.

Best value for money if booked by two couples. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

WBR suffers from a bit of an identity crisis - not designed for a couple (2 bedrooms), not really suitable for a family getaway (kids would probably be bored).
The views from the chalets arent that great - take away the shrubbery from the perimetre of the chalets which block the views of the forest (of sorts) and which give the chalets a closed-in, suburban kind of feel. The beds are also badly positioned so as not to maximise views.
The resort is seriously overpriced and at that price I resented having to pay for milk to have with my morning coffee!
Apart from that the location is great - peaceful and convenient to all the attractions and the staff are delightful and heplful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The high quality chalets are in beautiful surroundings, quite and undisturbed. The attention to detail and quality of furnishings and fittings are to a very high standard. We met the hosts who are full of enthusiasm in the work that they do, and we hope to be back again soon.

Room Tip: All the chalets are positioned away from each other, so each one is quite with either lake or forest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Welcoming friendly hosts. Modern well decorated chalets that have every thing you need for a relaxing getaway. Chalets are spaced well so you don't notice you have any neighbours. Beautiful surroundings of grapevines and large dams.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fotheringhames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Probably excellent for family groups with 2 bedrooms and a very spacious kitchen and living area.
Not sure I would call it a resort as for me that suggests it has a few facilities like a swimming pool which is almost mandatory if I am staying for a few days.
It is well located if you want to explore the Margaret River region as the wineries are quite close but so too are the wonderful beaches of the region.
We even got as far as Cape Leeuwin for the first time as it was obvious it wasn't a great distance from Willy Bay.
My negatives are probably pluses for other people - I would have preferred not to have stayed for the required 3 nights and its isolation meant I couldn't go searching for a nearby restaurant as I normally do.
Others will find this appealing as the kitchen has everything you would find and I am assuming most guests will stay inhouse and enjoy the quiet and relaxing forest and lake environment.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012


My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Willy Bay earlier this month. From the start we were relaxed. The owners/ managers could not have been nicer and the Chalets are beautifully appointed. Each of the chalets are separated so y
ou have great privacy
We stayed for 3 nights and didn't move at night time. It was far too easy to cater for ourselves and stay put. During the day
We could go anywhere due to the central location.
The Resort is being further developed and it will only end up nicer.

We will be back.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metricup
16.2 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
13.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
714 reviews
9.1 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Yallingup
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
#3 of 13 in Yallingup
228 reviews
2.5 mi away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#7 of 51 in Margaret River
126 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cape Lodge
Cape Lodge
#2 of 13 in Yallingup
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Willows Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Willows Retreat

Address: 266 Metricup Rd, Metricup, Western Australia 6280, Australia (Formerly Willy Bay Resort Margaret River)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Metricup
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Metricup
Price Range: £115 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eight Willows Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight Willows Retreat is a AAA rated 4.5 Star (self-catering) luxury retreat set amidst 30 hectares (75 acres) of beautiful natural bush and parkland. With our chalets offering lake, vineyard and forest views, the property is situated beside thousands of hectares of state forest. Located centrally to Margaret River, Busselton and Dunsborough, in the heart of the world renowned Margaret River Wine Region, Eight Willows Retreat is surrounded by world class wineries and local producers of gourmet delights. The retreat offers a total of 24 chalets - ten 2-bedroom rammed-earth chalets, twelve beautifully appointed 1-bedroom studio chalets and two 2-bedroom chalets, spaciously designed to suit your whole family. All chalets are fully equipped with: - Gourmet European-styled kitchen including: stone bench tops, large refrigerator, microwave, kettle, toaster and Miele electric oven, gas stove top and dishwasher - travertine marble flooring in bathrooms, lounge and kitchen - wide screen high-definition LCD TV with complimentary Foxtel and free view channels - reverse cycle air conditioning - personal outdoor barbecue on private deck - linen and towels provided. As Eight Willows Retreat is located in a rural setting with a focus on premium self-catering accommodation, there is no room service or telephones located within the chalets. Free Wifi is available to all guests. Pets are not permitted. PLEASE NOTE: WE HAVE A MINIMUM STAY POLICY OF 4 NIGHTS FOR EASTER AND BETWEEN 20th DECEMBER and 6th JANUARY. WE HAVE A MINIMUM STAY POLICY OF 3 NIGHTS FOR LONG WEEKENDS and PUBLIC HOLIDAYS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Eight Willows Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing