We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eight Willows Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I recently stayed here on the weekend just gone and I was blown away by how beautiful this place is. We stayed in chalet 5 which had a lovely view of the lake and the chalet itself was perfect! It had everything we needed for our weekend away, it was well equipped, modern and cosy. My only negative comment is all the pillows aren't that comfortable so bring your own but otherwise it has everything you need including a complimentary bottle of wine! The chalets look exactly as they are pictured on the website. The owners also made check in and check out a breeze and willy bay is in a perfect location! I would recommend this place to everyone and would definitely stay here again! Thank you Willy Bay!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Shivz91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

These self contained chalets are reasonably new and fitted out nicely. Located between Dunsborough and Margaret River they are in a good location to winery hop.
Not all chalets have a view, and they are quite close together so not that private.
Tip - when my wife and I went there was heaps of Mosquitos so take the aroguard.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Willy Bay is a very comfortable stay when you are planning to wander around the wineries, or even swimming at the nearby beaches
Don't be put off by by the current construction going on, the plans for a function facility will be amazing!
The rooms are very comfortable with everything you need to have a wonderful family holiday, the kitchen is well equipped and you even have a Miele washing machine and dryer
The room overlooks the lake and in the morning you have the local wallabies sunning themselves under the trees
The managers will make sure you have a great holiday here
This resort is well suited to all travellers you will enjoy your stay here

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Recommended by a friend, Willy Bay is a great spot to base yourself in the middle of the winery region. The apartments are as new and well equipped (washer, dryer, dish washer, kitchen utensils etc) and of a great size.

The site is currently under expansion so looks a little like a building site on arrival, but the grass in front of the lake still has wallabies playing on it, which our son loved.

While not on the beach, it is only a short drive to the cheese, chocolate factory and best wineries. With beaches and woods not too much further.

Well managed by Keith, super friendly and helpful.
Thanks

Stayed: October 2013
Thank RichyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Sometimes you wonder if a place that is not on the main tourist track will be worth staying at. Willy Bay Resort is one of those but it was a great location, central to almost everything in the area. 5 minutes from Cowaramup for any groceries, minutes from some great wineries and almost in the middle of both Dunsborough/Yallingup and Margaret River - what more could you ask for? The cottages are set on a great property and we were overlooking the dam which was so peaceful. Well appointed inside with a nice clean bathroom, modern kitchen appliances, good washing/drying facilities, good TV/DVD equipment and very comfortable all round. This was great value for money and I would recommend it for couples or families.

Room Tip: View over the water is lovely - also have chalets with winery vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sadams2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed there for a long weekend and was surprised and delighted with this place. We had a Forrest view cottage which was amazing with the finest quality fittings and furnishing.
The location of this resort is great , right in the heart of the wine region with lots of other attractions near by. It was really easy to go to the bootleg for lunch then back to the cottage for a break, then out to wineries in the afternoon.
The grounds of the resort is great and we were able to long relaxing walks through the Forrest and around the lake. Kangaroos were peacefully laying on the grass and the area is surrounded by padlocks of grape vines over the boundary fence.
This establishment is a jewel and one that I would recommend people to go if they want to relax and enjoy the south west.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank WaroonaWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at the Lakeview Chalet (#5) - well-built, big space (there were 2 rooms and this place can easily sleep 6), which was absolutely clean with a lovely fireplace (very useful as it was a bit chilly!) and an impressive kitchen well-equipped for a big cookout! Tranquil surroundings, lush greens (where you can see the resident baby kangaroos roaming) and a view of the lake. Just perfect for a romantic getaway. The resort is currently being upgraded and so there is a little construction going on, but that never bothered us at all - didn't even notice anything actually! What really topped it off was when our car broke down about 100km from Metricup and we were left stranded by our car rental company, Keith (the site manager) came all the way to rescue us!! We are so grateful for this and even more grateful that we found such a wonderful place to stay at Margaret River!! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESLim2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metricup
16.2 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
13.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
748 reviews
9.1 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Yallingup
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cape Lodge
Cape Lodge
#1 of 13 in Yallingup
464 reviews
8.9 mi away
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
#3 of 13 in Yallingup
234 reviews
12.5 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Willows Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Willows Retreat

Address: 266 Metricup Rd, Metricup, Western Australia 6280, Australia (Formerly Willy Bay Resort Margaret River)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Metricup
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Metricup
Price Range: £119 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eight Willows Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight Willows Retreat is a AAA rated 4.5 Star (self-catering) luxury retreat set amidst 30 hectares (75 acres) of beautiful natural bush and parkland. With our chalets offering lake, vineyard and forest views, the property is situated beside thousands of hectares of state forest. Located centrally to Margaret River, Busselton and Dunsborough, in the heart of the world renowned Margaret River Wine Region, Eight Willows Retreat is surrounded by world class wineries and local producers of gourmet delights. The retreat offers a total of 24 chalets - ten 2-bedroom rammed-earth chalets, twelve beautifully appointed 1-bedroom studio chalets and two 2-bedroom chalets, spaciously designed to suit your whole family. All chalets are fully equipped with: - Gourmet European-styled kitchen including: stone bench tops, large refrigerator, microwave, kettle, toaster and Miele electric oven, gas stove top and dishwasher - travertine marble flooring in bathrooms, lounge and kitchen - wide screen high-definition LCD TV with complimentary Foxtel and free view channels - reverse cycle air conditioning - personal outdoor barbecue on private deck - linen and towels provided. As Eight Willows Retreat is located in a rural setting with a focus on premium self-catering accommodation, there is no room service or telephones located within the chalets. Free Wifi is available to all guests. Pets are not permitted. PLEASE NOTE: WE HAVE A MINIMUM STAY POLICY OF 4 NIGHTS FOR EASTER AND BETWEEN 20th DECEMBER and 6th JANUARY. WE HAVE A MINIMUM STAY POLICY OF 3 NIGHTS FOR LONG WEEKENDS and PUBLIC HOLIDAYS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Eight Willows Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing