We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil chalets” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eight Willows Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eight Willows Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tranquil chalets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just had a two night stay at these chalets, and we're very impressed with everything about it. The decor is very modern and stylish, plenty of room and everything is available to use for a self contained unit. Well thought out design makes it very private and romantic.
Only downside is the sink in the bathroom it is up very high, so that makes it difficult to use for shorter people. Also need a step stool to get into the shower, for shorter people also.
The grounds were pleasant, kangaroos very much at home there. They are extending the property so everywhere you look there is construction sites. Will be good when completed but messy now.
Overall a pleasant place to stay, in the heart of the wine region and about 20 minutes from Margaret river township.

Room Tip: One of the front chalets, so you don't overlook the others, we were in six and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    34
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
102
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Perfect chalet getaway. These chalets tucked into the wilderness are perfectly equipped with modern fitouts to accomodate a family or group traveling to Margaret River. Keith was beyond helpful and acomodating, meeting all of our needs to the highest standard. Very clean, quiet and friendly. Very close proximity to amzaing vinyards and stunning beaches. I would 150% stay there again and recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: The chalets are top qualtiy with all of the amenities you could need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Another return trip to willy bay leaves us unbelievably impressed once again. As always a spotless chalet and fantastic views of the lake and forest. We love the location as it is close to all the best things Margaret river has to offer. Highly recommend wily bay to all. Perfect location for a wedding in their up and coming function centre by the lake. We will be back soon to Enjoy willy bay once again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I must say that I am very impressed by the design and surroundings of the resort. It is so warm and cozy that we all wished we can spend more time in it. I have booked a 2 bedroom resort, it comes with a complete kitchen, a big dining area , a jacuzzi in the bathroom, washer & dryer, a BBQ pit, and even a fireplace! The resort is so clean that after using its kitchen each time, I will make a conscious effort to clean it up!

You can park your car just next to the resort, so moving luggage in and out is a breeze.

Every morning when we wake up, we will see a pair of kangaroo resting by the lake. If you intend to walk on the grass, watch out for the kangaroo's poo!

The location of this resort is about a 20 mins drive from Coles (supermarket) along the Bussell Hwy, and there's plenty of restaurants around that area if you do not feel like cooking or having a bbq.

Do not look elsewhere if you intend to stay in Margaret River.

The only thing I wished is the upgrading work will start later like 10am, cause the hammering is quite loud at 8:30am.

Room Tip: Choose one nearer the lake
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ng G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The chalets have everything you need for a home away from home experience. The living flane gas fire was cosy and without the hassle of wood chopping.

Roos' and Blue Fairy Wrens greet you every morning and the lcoation was great - a few minutes to Cow Town where a perfect breakfast could be had for a few dollars.

Room Tip: I heard the doubel spa suites are great but I must admit I enjoyed the single spa too !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceyMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I would recommend this resort to those travel with family in car. The chalet has kitchen (complete cookware), washing machine & dry machine, dish washer, BBQ set (also we didn't use) & fireplace if you feel cold (like us)! The resort is near to forest and we saw wild animals like kangaroo & rabbits in the resort.

However, you would need vehicle to reach this resort and it was pretty quite at night (far from town). Please also note that there is no wifi in the chalet and the resort is undergoing some renovation work (but it didn't cause any trouble to us).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CheeBengLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The chalet had everything you need for a get away. The beds are really comfortable, kitchen very well equipped if you feel the need to cook. TV great.
Quite, we never heard another person although it was fully booked. Close to all the wine farms. A great stay down South if you don't want to be on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichWPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metricup
16.2 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
9.7 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
9.2 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#6 of 53 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cape Lodge
Cape Lodge
#1 of 13 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
12.6 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Willows Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Willows Retreat

Property: Eight Willows Retreat
Address: 266 Metricup Rd, Metricup, Western Australia 6280, Australia (Formerly Willy Bay Resort Margaret River)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Metricup
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Metricup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eight Willows Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willy Bay Resort is a AAA rated 4.5 Star (self-catering) luxury retreat set amidst 30 hectares (75 acres) of beautiful natural bush and parkland. With our chalets offering lake, vineyard and forest views, the property is situated beside thousands of hectares of state forest. Located mid-way between Busselton and Margaret River, in the heart of the renowned Margaret River Wine Region, Willy Bay Resort is surrounded by world class wineries and local producers of gourmet delights. The Resort offers a total of 24 rooms - ten 2-bedroom rammed-earth chalets, twelve beautifully appointed 1-bedroom studios and two 2-bedroom chalets, spaciously designed to suit your whole family. All chalets are fully equipped with: - Gourmet European-styled kitchen including: stone bench tops, large refrigerator, microwave, kettle, toaster and Miele electric oven, gas stove top and dishwasher - Travertine marble flooring in bathroom, lounge and kitchen - Wide screen high-definition LCD TV with complimentary Foxtel and free view channels - Reverse cycle air conditioner - Personal outdoor BBQ on your patio - Linen and towels provided. As Willy Bay Resort is based in a rural setting with a focus on premium self-catering accommodation in tranquil surroundings, there is no telephone or Internet connection in the chalets or room service. Free Wifi is available in and around the function center. Pets are not permitted. NOTE: WE HAVE A MINIMUM STAY POLICY OF 4 NIGHTS FOR EASTER AND BETWEEN 20 DECEMBER - 6 JANUARY. WE HAVE A MINIMUM STAY POLICY OF 3 NIGHTS FOR LONG WEEKENDS/PUBLIC HOLIDAYS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Eight Willows Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing