We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool novelty factor”

Margaret River Silk Road
Ranked #5 of 8 things to do in Metricup
Attraction details
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool novelty factor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I really enjoyed talking the kids to this informative, novel attraction. It was a bit of a shame that we arrived midway through the lady's talk - afterwards we were told we'd have to wait for more people to arrive before she would do another talk, but unfortunately nothing further happened. However! The kids enjoyed looking around. We wish the owners all of the best for this innovative venture.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carla_visits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkR0ad, Owner at Margaret River Silk Road, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Carla
Yes it is difficult and sometimes not possible to conduct back-to-back tours and I apologise that you did not get the full story. For the future, we are currently setting up a more"self-guided" info trail through the showroom, with more to see and touch ,and staff on hand to provide detail and answer questions. We expect this will ensure greater satisfaction for more visitors! Hope you will visit us again in the future to check out the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This was a great stop for our kids to learn about the silk trade and the silk worm cycle. We really enjoyed the visit and the informative presentation and video. Only a small range of goods but that is to be expected given the small amount of silk being produced.

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible costumer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The worst place I have ever been. Terrible costumer service, rude staff specially the blond lady at the front. Very expensive for low quality products. I would never recommend this place !!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LiBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkR0ad, Owner at Margaret River Silk Road, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello LiBird Thanks for your feedback regarding your visit last week.

Your comments have actually surprised us! We are known for our friendly welcome to visitors and the way we conduct a personal tour of our operations for every individual or family that comes in rather than run group tours at scheduled times.

I apologise that your experience was negative - it would be very helpful if you could let us know what happened to cause such a negative experience (you can email me on info@margaretriversilkroad.com if you prefer) so that we can ensure it does not happen for future visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narrandera, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hosts were welcoming and not at all pushing their wares. Thet took time to explain the process and the different types of silk.throroughly enjoyed the time there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fairliekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Have to visit it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Beautiful layout, enthusiastic owners presenting the silk farm concept in a very interesting way. Ploughman's lunch was flavoursome & plentiful - great addition to Margaret River region.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julien J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Margaret River Silk Road also viewed

Metricup, Margaret River Region
Metricup, Margaret River Region
 
Metricup, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Margaret River Silk Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing