We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wigi's Kitchen

Wigi's Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A little family run restaurant named after Louis, set in the heart of the popular Balluta Bay, overlooking the water as located just above street level. We offer FRESH ingredients, FRESH fish & FRESH meat steaks offering different ideas & recipes complimenting the daily change of the lunch & dinner menu. We offer a 2 hour free parking at the Meridien hotel underground car park. The aim is to make one's meal a memorable one every time one dines at Wigi's!
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The food and the whole experience were absolutely fantastic. One of my favourite restaurants to date.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,180
    237
    54
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb Chateaubriand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

After reading the reviews of this restaurant on Tripadvisor we decided to book a table for dinner during our recent holiday in St Julians. We were so pleased we had as we were served the best chateaubriand we've had, cooked to perfection. This is not on the standard menu as they show you the cuts of meats and fish they have for that evening before you order so what's available changes from day to day. We enjoyed our meal so much that we booked again for our last night and had another lovely meal - I had fish and my husband had a steak.
The service is very good and the staff know what they are talking about. A real gem but book a table as it is busy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie-Ruggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Wigi's has a tidal wave of positive reviews and, based on our visit in early April, it's entirely justified. We booked a few days in advance to be sure of a table at the time we wanted and had a most enjoyable evening. The beautiful restaurant, warm atmosphere and friendly greeting on arrival immediately made us feel we were in for something special. Throughout, the service was exemplary - we felt the staff just want to make the occasion as close to perfect as possible - and the food fresh & delicious, meats in particular. I wanted to explore the Maltese wines on offer and was very impressed with the helpful guidance to choose an excellent inexpensive local red. My wife and 14 year old son explored the dessert menu and came away very contented. All told this was a fantastic choice of restaurant for our last evening in Malta.

One very minor niggle was the (very reasonable) bill automatically being converted into Sterling when I presented a UK card - I always pay in local currencies and should have been given the option - I didn't notice at the time. That aside, I would have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending Wigi's as a stand-out choice and we will certainly return on our next visit to Malta.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Templegrafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening at Wigi's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We went to Malta for a five day break with our three-month old baby. Wigi's Kitchen was the last meal we had, and by far the best. We are from London and have traveled extensively, and visited many high-end restaurants across the globe. My partner had the Tuna and says it's the best he has ever had, anywhere. My starter of Crispy Beef was also a very special plate of food. The whole meal was fantastic, the service second to none and the atmosphere pleasant, friendly and welcoming. We had to book ahead, so make sure you do, because you will be very happy you did!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sambo82D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic; fresh; authentic. Fine dining with affordable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely experience at wigis and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Beautiful intimate dining area, attentive polite staff and delicious fresh food.

The celeriac and truffle soup, lamb chops, lemon sole and panna cotta were beautifully cooked and tasty.

Highly recommend for fresh fish and meat.

Thank you wigis!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cazschlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wigi's Kitchen also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Wigi's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing