We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Wigi's Kitchen

Wigi's Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A little family run restaurant named after Louis, set in the heart of the popular Balluta Bay, overlooking the water as located just above street level. We offer FRESH ingredients, FRESH fish & FRESH meat steaks offering different ideas & recipes complimenting the daily change of the lunch & dinner menu. The aim is to make one's meal a memorable one every time one dines at Wigi's!
Il Gzira, Malta
1 review
“Delicious”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Dinner was delicious and impeccable service , the staff is great and make you feel at home... the owner Wigi is a very nice guy and he helped us tru and explained every dish...trust his recommendations.....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samuel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,233
    251
    55
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rijeka
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very , very good”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Went during our stay in April to the restaurant based in the reviews on the Tripadvisor and I am glad we did.

The food was very good, steaks done as ordered. The atmosphere was nice and service very good. Was the best dinner during our stay in Malta,

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank svet019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best in St Julian's”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Fabulous food, Fabulous service, Great views, Was so good we returned the following night.
Can't recommend this restaurant enough.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneva
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food - high noise level”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our group of 5 ate here in May 14 and we could find no fault with the food, but the low ceilings, and crowded interior makes for high and disagreable noise levels- don't come here in the evening if you want a quiet dinner and intelligent conversation .
The fish was well cooked and tasty, the pasta was good without being excellent, desserts were fine, and the service was personal and discreet.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbeamGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
346 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Although we were staying in Valetta, we decided to eat at Wigi's Kitchen based on the positive reviews. We were not disappointed. We reserved several weeks ahead and when we arrived our table, by the window overlooking the harbor, was waiting with a "reserved" sign on it. This is an upstairs restaurant with about a dozen or so tables, some against the window with nice views. There's also a nice little bar on one side. The wait staff were fabulous: highly attentive and friendly but never bothersome. The restaurant has that perfect balance of "relaxed upscale": elegantly appointed but lively and not pretentious. But the real reason to eat here is the food. Instead of a menu with appetizers and first and second courses, Wigi's has starters and main courses, and based on our experience we recommend getting both and not splitting any. My wife had a rabbit ravioli that was delectable and perfectly portioned. I had a bucket of (very) fresh mussels. For our main course I had the rack of lamb and she had the rack of veal; both were perfectly cooked based on our preference and wonderfully seasoned, with amazing reductions. We shared a panna cotta with caramel sauce--terrific. There's a good wine list ranging from local Maltese wines at really reasonable prices to high-end imports. This was one of those meals that reaches perfection: a fun, relaxed atmosphere, wonderful wait staff, expertly cooked food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorCompRhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wigi's Kitchen also viewed

 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Wigi's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing