We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Julian's Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
InterContinental Malta(Saint Julian's)
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Meridien St. Julians(Saint Julian's)
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Argento Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Malta(Saint Julian's)
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Valentina(Saint Julian's)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Juliani(Saint Julian's)
US$218
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (846)
Filter reviews
846 results
Traveller rating
70
189
260
150
177
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
189
260
150
177
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjulian's bayhotel entrancecleaned every daysmall balconybus routesfriendly hotelst julianair conditioningrestaurants and barsyogurtvalletta
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 846 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We were booked online for 2 night stay at st Julian bay hotel for a double balcony room . Upon arrival, we were given a street view room which barely see the seaview only if I tilted my head aside. Then I went into the front desk , n they apologize of the overbooking n agree to give us compensation on 10 euros per night! I checked the price list difference from a normal double to a seaview double is 20 euros, but reception said since I book thru booking.com difference is only 10 euro!!!! At this point we are forced to accept. The worst is the room is v noisy , waking me up the middle of the night by drunk neighbour next door! Also , the mattress is super uncomfortable , I feel like sleeping on the hard metal! that's why I'm here writing this review by waking up middle of the night! This really left me disappointment as today is my final day in Italy!
My advice is please pay a bit more for a better quality hotel in Malta, don't let ur holiday ruin by this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazeltung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The St Julian's Bay is part of a small chain operated by MyHotels Malta. We booked a seafront double room in another of their hotels - the Carlton - for seven nights via HotelsClick. On arrival we were told that there had been extensive flooding on one floor of the Carlton and that they were unable to offer us a room. Instead they offered us the St Julian's Bay which they claimed was of the same standard.

We checked out both hotels and the St Julian's Bay was clearly inferior (there was also no evidence of major emergency repairs being carried out in the Carlton). The manager in the Carlton offered us no alternative room, no apology and no refund. We agreed to go to the St Julian's Bay and move back when a room was available. After three days we gave up asking about availability in the Carlton as it was clear they had no intention of honouring the booking.

The St Julian's Bay is a 2-star hostel with few facilities - no pool or sun-deck, no wifi beyond about 2 metres of the lobby, no bar just a couple of vending machines, a single tiny lift, no fridge and only an ancient CRT TV set in the room, and corridors which smell of stale tobacco. Breakfast is a small selection of cereals and cold cuts set out in the small L'Ordine restaurant next door - which means it's seriously packed unless you are there early. On the plus side it is well-located for bus routes and restaurants and we had fresh towels every day - the cleaning staff were good.

The failure to offer us an alternative room or a discount was an example of extremely poor hotel management. Or maybe the Carlton was simply overbooked and we were bounced. Either way, there is no reason to risk disappointment with this operator as there are plenty of better options in the same area. (Their other hotels are the Sliema Marina, the Europa and the Onyx Apartments.)

Room Tip: This hotel is only good for crashing out for a couple of nights - as such, any room will suffice.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RougherGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have just came back from this place. We've stayed there for a week and it was a perfect choice. It is in the middle of Malta isle so it is really good for location purpose - easy to get to every place worth seeing - many buses and other forms of transport (to Valetta - 30 mins., to Cirkewwa ferry - 45 mins., to Dingli 1h, to Luka airport 40 mins., to Hagar Qim/Mnajdra - 50 mins.). Rooms are perfectly clean and serviced every day in the morning - if you do not wish, place "do not disturb". These are self-catering appartments, so you may prepare all the food by yourself - e.g. instead of overpaying in the restaurants for fish from refrigerator, we could prepare our own really fresh one, bought from nearby market. Kitchen is fully equipped.

Towels were changed every day, TV, internet wi-fi access included, price - ca. 15 EUR/night.

To recap:

For clubbing fans. couples, solo - perfect location as it is in the centre of St Julian.
For tourists - great base for sightseeing as in the middle of the island.
Overall - Best choice considering value to price.

The person in charge is very kind & helpful, provides support for various queries (where to go, advise on clubs, support with buses/taxis, or - e.g. - lends 240 V adapter to double socket) and is available under cell phone, so you may ask any time, esp. if there is sth urgent.

Book directly @ info@empire.com.mt and you may expect some discount.

STRONGLY ADVISE
Miko & Ive

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

If you only need a basic room in a good location then this Hotel will certainly suffice. The staff are very friendly and speak excellent English and Italian and the rooms are clean.

I only needed a room for one night to shower and change in. Despite the fact the shower unit came away from wall the place was fine.

However if you are looking for a hotel to pamper yourself in then this really is not the place at all.

I did not eat here...in fact with the selection of great restaurants in walking distance I wouldn't recommend you eat in your hotel at all.

I would recommend a room on the lower floors if you have issues with lots of stairs as the single elevator from reception is very slow (I did have to walk up 7 flights of stairs on one occasion as housekeeping staff had monopolized the use of the elevator during their cleaning).

So it's up to you, if you need cheap, clean and cheerful the place will be fine. if you need some luxuries then look elsewhere.

Room Tip: My room was at the back of the Hotel and was very quiet, I would imagine sea facing rooms may be a lot louder.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taff777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My boyfriend and i booked via the internet five night stay at this hotel and asked for a double sea-view room. We were really disappointing upon arrival only to find out that the room we requested was not available because over booking was done. this disappointment was really devastating cause just 3 day before i had phoned to confirm the booking and it was said that everything was OK. The resection that was on duty the day of our check in was really friendly. The hotel offered us a deduction from the price of 25 euros ( 5 euros compensation for a downgrade a night) the room that was to be given to us was a small shabby room looking onto the street behind the hotel the only view we had was a whole row of flats.

really Disappointing ,,,, we will never consider going there ...
avoid this place.

Room Tip: avoid it !!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Abbie1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews