We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place of HORRORS!!! Better sleep on street, not here!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Julian's Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Julian's Bay Hotel
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Europe
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Place of HORRORS!!! Better sleep on street, not here!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Well, if I could use strong words, all my review would consist only of these words!!!

Never ever on the world I have stayed at such a terrible place like this. Even cheapest hostels in some places and cheapest bungalows was much better than this place!
Even front desk stuff willing to help and kindness cannot help to this trash bin.

short conclusion:

1) elevator - it is working rarely, so you need to use extremely narrow steps to get to 4-5th floor. We even had to carry our luggage there.
2) linen - had to ask front desk to change the bed linen as there were brown dirty stripes on it and hair.
3) a/c and tv - was not working.
4) room door - insecure. It also looked like it was couple of times hit by leg or so from outside
5) interior - extremely outdated, dirty etc
6) shower and wc - out of comments....shaby place
7) breakfast - as all hotel - terrible food. Plates, mugs, spoons etc all different sizes, types, and always not enough amount(you have to wait in a quay to get one)
8) ridiculous sign above entrance "the 3 star with a mind of a 4" - I'm just curious which institution has rated this place with any star? I believe this is just huge imagination of some person.

Please do not stay here if you respect yourself and your bellowed ones. This is not a place for people.

Room Tip: Place of horrors. Dirty, outdated etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BoWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    153
    214
    126
    152
See reviews for
66
281
56
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bury, lancs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

we recently went to malta (17th july 2012), we started off at one hotel and after what seemed to be a long 3 nights stay eventually ended up moving to the St Julian's Bay hotel, the staff are very helpful and friendly, and were quite happy to do anything they can for you.

The only things that let this hotel down was the wifi if you are sat in their lovely reception area you can pick up the wifi free and easy, if you want to use the computers in the foyer you have to pay (not much tho) but the problem occurs with the wifi once you go up into your rooms it is very hit and miss, and as we were on floor 3 ours was alway miss.

my room was 315 this was ok but did not have a balcony, and although it had an a/c unit it did not work but a fan was provided but is a little noisy

There is an olympic size pool across from the hotel but in order to use their sun loungers and pool you have to pay euros per day as it is a members club.

Room Tip: my room was 315 this was ok but did not have a balcony, and although it had an a/c unit it did not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinklady9969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

If you like partying this is a location for you, otherwise better to look for a differnt location!
It is fine if you stay for few (party) nights.
Else basic and decently clean rooms.
There is small cooking facility in the room/apartment but best plan is to eat out.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor and away from the main street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mateja1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

really really bad seriously stay away:
bad customer service at the desk
ants/bed bugs in beds
yellow looking water in shower
air conditioner weak for a hot country
lingering smell in the foyer
tiny lift
power cuts
poor service/poor food at breakfast
sometimes the purposely overbook and then send you to other hotels outside st julians bay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

when i got there i seen st julians bay hotel a 3 star a mind of a 4 star i laughed a lot when i seen this! its not a bad place its basic its clean u have a bed and bathroom and tv and wifi and fresh towels everyday. i though the staff was nice! u got plastic cups in our room as glasses and u got no kettle but it was fine i didnt mind but u really do get what u pay for!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We were also booked at the Carlton and ended up being put here due to a 'problem' with our room. I would not have chosen this hotel for my accommodation and to add insult to injury our holiday money was 'dipped' into and we were missing 500 euros, on reporting this to the management they implied we must have spent more than we thought, i pointed out the money was in a zipped pocket inside my wash bag and I new exactly how much was there, and now it was 500 short, they did nothing about this apart from tell us to go and report it to the police and make a comment about how strange only some was missing and not all of it was taken??? They never mentioned it again. My only conclusion is that the staff with access to the rooms rely on the fact that you assume you have spent more than you thought, or hope you don't notice or you just accept the fact you shouldn't have left it in the room in the first place. VERY disappointing as having stayed in a few hotels in Malta this has never happen before, and this place does nothing when staff steal from guests.

Every other negative review about this hotel is spot on, rooms basic, shower tiny you bash your elbows every time you move, beds on last legs, pillows like bricks only one towel each so ladies if you like a second for your hair your out of luck, no hand towels, no where to place tooth brushes etc lift a joke, breakfast not even worth looking at, walls paper thin and constant shouting day and night.

Stay elsewhere as Malta is a fantastic place with plenty of other hotels to choose from.

Room Tip: to get a good room, choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GBRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is a budget hotel that offfers BB only. As such there are no frills but it is otherwise good value. The staff were all helpful and friendly, when ever we did have a small problem such as a shortage of towels these were put right promptly and with a smile. Breakfast,which is served in the restaurant of a separate organisation is continental only, nothing special but plenty of choice , certainly adequate and you are made welcome.
The room was fine, fairly large with twin beds. Bathroomi is a bit tight and unventilated.
The hotel is located in an attractive bay right between Sliema which is a quieter area with water taxi access to Valetta and Paceville where the clubs and nitghtlife are situated.
Super lido right opposite , at a moderate extra charge.3 euros for half day in 2012
We did not go to Malta for the hotel experience but as a base to explore from or to use the lido. On that basis the St Julians Bay hotel was a good valiue and friendly establishment. We would use it again.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor as the traffic noise is high on lower floors with balcony. however there is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobyhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.7 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#21 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#20 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#15 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Julian's Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Julian's Bay Hotel

Property: St. Julian's Bay Hotel
Address: 48 Main Street | St Julians, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Julian's Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Julians Bay Hotel Malta is a modern three star hotel fantastically situated on the seafront of St Julians Promenade, a short distance to the popular night spot Paceville as well as a short walk to Sliema Centre. The hotel has 85 rooms including 15 seafront balcony rooms with exquisite sea views. All rooms have a private bathroom or shower, finished in a modern style and to high standards. The hotel is complimented by a lovely lounge with an internet cafe and free WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Guest rooms at St Julian's Bay Hotel, are individually decorated in soft colour tones with complementing soft furnishings and artwork. Elegant in style, with modern wood furnishings, rooms at St Julians Bay Hotel are airy, comfortable and functional with single, twin or double beds, large work area and desk. You will find quality features in all rooms including free WIFI, TV with satellite, room safe as well as air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Agoda, HRS, BookMalta.com and Ebookers so you can book your St. Julian's Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julians Bay Hotel
St. Julian's Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing