We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really bad hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Julian's Bay Hotel
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really bad hotel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

No noise insulation, dark and dated room interiors, noisy location, tiny bathroom, no toiletries. We checked in (unfortunatley after paying in advance) and immediatly left for a better hotel. As per other reviews, its a youth hostel pretending to be a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wedgy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    155
    219
    128
    157
See reviews for
68
285
57
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

stayed here for 3 nights. was part of hb global meet delegation. my colleagues from all over the world had gathered here. wow! still remember the nights... adventurous i must stay....huge beds and mattresses that you will sink in...though creaky ...the large windows and the tall palms that were behind.. ..cant forget the nights :)
food was average...close to beach...walkable distance to some bigger names...hilton...
gay bars...loud music all close by....
english speaking staff...on the whole enjoyed...with a theatre close by :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelsoftanveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurrieq, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I booked for a weekend last month in this hotel. Of course as everyone else the research was done on-line and I have to say that this hotel's website depicts the three star hotel as beautiful and luxurious as one with more stars. We had a choice of three room types- the normal, the side seaview and the balcony room. We chose the side-seaview since my boyfriend wanted the sea view. On the room specifications there was listed a mini bar which was also one of our search criteria, In such hot weather one would be happy to sip on something cold whilst chilling in the room. the picture gallery on-line showed spacious rooms with modern furniture and everything looked nice and in order. They even wrote there is a spacious working area for those who need it. So we booked!!!!

The day we had to check in arrived and they asked for immediate payment, something which raised my suspicion immediately. They gave us a key to our room and we headed to the lift since it was on the 5th floor....yet the lift seemed like it was bought in a post war auction....old, slow and for the weekend we were there didn't work at all!! We go to the room and for a second we both weren't sure whether it was a prison cell or whether it was a trap to kill us and chop us in this dark room with a 30cm by 30cm window on the top left corner of one of the walls. The bed was made up of two twin beds put together when I had clearly requested a double bed when I placed my booking.

Went down to the reception again and explained this was not what we had booked and they knew it, hence why they looked for another room for us. The second room did have a double bed...but the side seaview they boasted about on the website was merely a door through which you could check out what your neighbours were doing in the block of flats right beside the hotel!!! The room in total measure 4m by 3.5m round about and the spacious working area must have been a typo on their website together with the minibar which was nowhere to be found. I had to go down again and ask about the minibar thingy and they said it was not available because they were renovating.....so which hotel does start its renovation with minibars?? Why not start with fixing the lift and saving many the hassle of having to drag their luggage up to the 5th floor in a 1m wide staircase? Yeah and somewhere on the website they even wrote they have a swimming pool on the roof but god knows if it is the hotel's roof or their mother's!!!

At this point we were about to give up and leave but considering this was the last weekend we could explore the maltese night life together we decided to stay but vowed never to return ever again in this shabby place.

And the breakfast....holy moly what the hell was that?? Boiled eggs looking green, luncheon meat, hams and the like must have been left out of the refrigerator from the day before, biscuits almost all broken, most probably bought cheaply from the last lots at the open markets. Disgrace apart from the fact that the serving staff had no aprons on, no gloves, no nothing, and they go from cleaning tables and the floor to taking out more food for you, the poor victim.

Highly disappointed, would never return not even if I have to sleep outside on the street!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RAZZ1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Europe
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Well, if I could use strong words, all my review would consist only of these words!!!

Never ever on the world I have stayed at such a terrible place like this. Even cheapest hostels in some places and cheapest bungalows was much better than this place!
Even front desk stuff willing to help and kindness cannot help to this trash bin.

short conclusion:

1) elevator - it is working rarely, so you need to use extremely narrow steps to get to 4-5th floor. We even had to carry our luggage there.
2) linen - had to ask front desk to change the bed linen as there were brown dirty stripes on it and hair.
3) a/c and tv - was not working.
4) room door - insecure. It also looked like it was couple of times hit by leg or so from outside
5) interior - extremely outdated, dirty etc
6) shower and wc - out of comments....shaby place
7) breakfast - as all hotel - terrible food. Plates, mugs, spoons etc all different sizes, types, and always not enough amount(you have to wait in a quay to get one)
8) ridiculous sign above entrance "the 3 star with a mind of a 4" - I'm just curious which institution has rated this place with any star? I believe this is just huge imagination of some person.

Please do not stay here if you respect yourself and your bellowed ones. This is not a place for people.

Room Tip: Place of horrors. Dirty, outdated etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BoWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury, lancs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

we recently went to malta (17th july 2012), we started off at one hotel and after what seemed to be a long 3 nights stay eventually ended up moving to the St Julian's Bay hotel, the staff are very helpful and friendly, and were quite happy to do anything they can for you.

The only things that let this hotel down was the wifi if you are sat in their lovely reception area you can pick up the wifi free and easy, if you want to use the computers in the foyer you have to pay (not much tho) but the problem occurs with the wifi once you go up into your rooms it is very hit and miss, and as we were on floor 3 ours was alway miss.

my room was 315 this was ok but did not have a balcony, and although it had an a/c unit it did not work but a fan was provided but is a little noisy

There is an olympic size pool across from the hotel but in order to use their sun loungers and pool you have to pay euros per day as it is a members club.

Room Tip: my room was 315 this was ok but did not have a balcony, and although it had an a/c unit it did not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinklady9969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

If you like partying this is a location for you, otherwise better to look for a differnt location!
It is fine if you stay for few (party) nights.
Else basic and decently clean rooms.
There is small cooking facility in the room/apartment but best plan is to eat out.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor and away from the main street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mateja1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

really really bad seriously stay away:
bad customer service at the desk
ants/bed bugs in beds
yellow looking water in shower
air conditioner weak for a hot country
lingering smell in the foyer
tiny lift
power cuts
poor service/poor food at breakfast
sometimes the purposely overbook and then send you to other hotels outside st julians bay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.7 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#21 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Julian's Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Julian's Bay Hotel

Property: St. Julian's Bay Hotel
Address: 48 Main Street | St Julians, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Julian's Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Julians Bay Hotel Malta is a modern three star hotel fantastically situated on the seafront of St Julians Promenade, a short distance to the popular night spot Paceville as well as a short walk to Sliema Centre. The hotel has 85 rooms including 15 seafront balcony rooms with exquisite sea views. All rooms have a private bathroom or shower, finished in a modern style and to high standards. The hotel is complimented by a lovely lounge with an internet cafe and free WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Guest rooms at St Julian's Bay Hotel, are individually decorated in soft colour tones with complementing soft furnishings and artwork. Elegant in style, with modern wood furnishings, rooms at St Julians Bay Hotel are airy, comfortable and functional with single, twin or double beds, large work area and desk. You will find quality features in all rooms including free WIFI, TV with satellite, room safe as well as air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Julian's Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julians Bay Hotel
St. Julian's Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing