We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but decent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Julian's Bay Hotel
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We booked 4 nights 14-18 February for a sea view room with balcony, room 303. I was quite apprehensive after reading previous reviews but our stay turned out alright. In large part I think that was because we got the most expensive room (€25 for one night - still a relative bargain after getting used to UK/Continental prices) and, as our luck would have it, our room was the largest one on our floor. Decor is basic and lights are fluorescent and dim (bedside lamps are much better), we had no idea how to open the safe in the room, curtains couldn't fully close, the mini-fridge didn't seem to be working and wifi was nonexistent because our room was the furthest away from the router - had to go out to the corridor to get a connection. The room was very spacious, though, with a roomy cupboard, a working air-conditioner/heater, and a great view of Balluta Bay. Bed might be too firm for some but I thought it was alright - covers could be slightly better though. Considering the size of the room the bathroom was on the small side and rather poorly-designed - when I sat on the toilet my knees went right up against the sink. The door to the tiny shower couldn't fully close which led to floods each night. At least the place was cleaned and towels changed every day.

Didn't get breakfast so can't comment. Reception staff were generally pleasant, and the lady at tourist information was friendly, although she couldn't tell us anything about bus services. Oh yes, the hotel's single lift is tiny - you could fit in probably two people and one piece of baggage. Pretty pleasant location, close enough for Paceville and Sliema. Bus stop 200m away with links to Valletta, Rabat (Mdina), Dingli, the airport, and in the other direction to Paceville and Bugibba. City of London pub just down the road a nice little place for a drink.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

Managed to get this hotel for 3 nights at an unbelievably cheap price for a last minute break to Malta. It was our 3rd time to this area of Malta so we knew it was centre to what we wanted.

There is a pool but it is across the road but due to the weather we never needed to use it. Walls are slightly thin and cleaners could be heard talking very early in morning but because of what we paid for it we could not really complain.....Friends of our stayed here aswell and have said exactly the same.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

As other travellers have also said, we read the reviews after booking and dreaded our stay. Turned up early on 14th feb for 3 day stay. Overall, we were pleasantly surprised... Found room as described, basic but clean. It was then cleaned & towels changed daily. As another reviewer has said, the bed was rock hard, too hard really and the noise from the corridors made sleep fairly hard!! but that happens in any hotel. The breakfast was, as described, basic but again for £3.5 what do people expect, yes there was an instant coffee machine, but on seeing a 'real coffee' machine over the counter, we asked for a coffee, which was made and brought over to us straight away, no problem. you just have to ask!! So as another reviewer has said, it was fine for a few days, i would return for a weekend, but if for a special occasion, you should pay more and stay in a 4star + hotel!

Room Tip: We paid for the cheapest room which was 5th floor, no view. fine for our purpose. thank god for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel from Monday 4th until Friday 8th February and I really have no complaints. I paid £68.00 for 4 nights and got exactly what I paid for. I have listed some key points below.

1. Rooms basic but not unclean.
2. Room cleaned everyday and fresh towels daily.
3. Sea front location (5min walk to pubs and clubs)
4. Reception and staff friendly.

I wouldn't suggest staying here for a honeymoon or anniversary but if you are looking for somewhere to put your head down and relax that doesn't cost the world this is the place! I would stay at this hotel again.

Enjoy your travel folks!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryanpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have just got back from a seven day stay at the St. Julian Bay Hotel. 5th - 12th Feb 2013. We found the hotel exactly what we expected nice sea view balcony, room cleaned every day so no complaints. However what spoiled it was the apology to a breakfast provided in the grubby restaurant at the front of the hotel. A coffee machine that worked occasionally, when there were cups! Cooked meats kept in a fridge that required extensive cleaning. Really, the management of the hotel need to look at this arrangement and appreciate how it pulls the quality of the hotel down.

As for location we found it good for the buses, buy the 12 euro seven day pass which is great value to get about the island. disappointed there were no small shops to buy Papers, fags etc. that we could find. Try Cafe Ole round the corner for a snack and coffee. City of London pub is good for a pint.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHM_Management, Manager at St. Julian's Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Thank you for your review.. We are sorry that the breakfast was not up to satisfaction, in fact we have reacted on recent comments and have now opened our very own new breakfast room serving a selection of warm and cold foods. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Beautiful bouique hotel, friendly staff, very clean. We stayed in a sea view with balcony it was so lovely just to sit and watch the world go by .breakfast was buffet style and really tasty. Local bus can take you to city centre . Will most certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kazz101Kazz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I just got back last night from this hotel, I booked then read the reviews was very worried what I was letting myself in for. When I arrived the staff was friendly the place was very clean, room was clean view was amazing in room 202, cant complain bath room was small but clean. was cheap, clean and friendly what more could you want.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beagle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.4 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#22 of 33 in Saint Julian's
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#20 of 33 in Saint Julian's
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#23 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#13 of 28 in Sliema
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Julian's Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Julian's Bay Hotel

Address: 48 Main Street | St Julians, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £20 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Julian's Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Julians Bay Hotel Malta is a modern three star hotel fantastically situated on the seafront of St Julians Promenade, a short distance to the popular night spot Paceville as well as a short walk to Sliema Centre. The hotel has 85 rooms including 15 seafront balcony rooms with exquisite sea views. All rooms have a private bathroom or shower, finished in a modern style and to high standards. The hotel is complimented by a lovely lounge with an internet cafe and free WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Guest rooms at St Julian's Bay Hotel, are individually decorated in soft colour tones with complementing soft furnishings and artwork. Elegant in style, with modern wood furnishings, rooms at St Julians Bay Hotel are airy, comfortable and functional with single, twin or double beds, large work area and desk. You will find quality features in all rooms including free WIFI, TV with satellite, room safe as well as air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Julian's Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julians Bay Hotel
St. Julian's Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing