We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for the faint hearted.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Julian's Bay Hotel
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not for the faint hearted.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Myself and my wife were booked into this "Hotel" by our travel agent in Dublin on a bed and breakfast basis. When we arrived we were told by the desk porter it was not b+b. After disscussion he accepted our word not that the breakfast was anything to write home about. Itwas always cold and most likely prepared the night before. He sent us to a room that was beside the laundry room with two single beds. Again we complained as we had booked a double room. There was no shower curtain in the bathroom. We were moved to a double room the next day with what was supposed to be a sea view but turned out to be the hotel next door view. The shower continuiously leaked into the bedroom. The light in the bathroom worked only when felt like it. The lift/elevator held only two people comfortably There is no bar in this "Hotel" there is a small area that is supposed to be a lobby which is also used by a tour operator. The place lacks any atmosphere and I would say is only one step above a hostel. As a result of our experience in this "Hotel" our holiday was entirely ruined. All in all an expensive lesson learned. Book your own holiday!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liammaclaimbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    155
    219
    128
    157
See reviews for
68
285
57
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked a room and payed extra for a balcony with seaview. The room we got was with a balcony approximately 1/2 m2, with a view towards the building on the other side. If you looked out the side you could spot the bay through the small alley though, but no point in being on the balcony, it was just shadow and concrete. Went back and complained, but were told we could switch rooms if we payed even more.

Extremely loud, you could here every word said from the corridor/stairs/other floor, which made it impossible to sleep without earplugs. Cracks in bathroom tub, sink and wall.

Beds (and pillows) were really really hard, and I thought that even though I like hard beds. After 8 nights there my back was not feeling very good.

Plus was the location which was really great, bus station just outside and close to restaurants, dive shops, bay and place to swim.

Would definately not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here with my eldest son - his room was 1st floor & mine on the 7th. The rooms were clean but very basic. I had to run around in the shower to try to get wet as the water pressure was not very good. There is no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms and the hair drier had the wrong plug for the socket - you would think they would know what type of sockets they use in their own country and equip electrical items accordingly. The tiny lifts tend to make up their own mind which floor they intend to stop at. One constantly displayed it was on the ground floor when it refused to go any further than the 3rd floor. We requested & paid for balconies and sea views but instead I had a lovely view of concrete buildings and a crane from my balcony & my son could admire a stair case from his window - no balcony. One guest [a lady travelling on her own] complained that her balcony door wouldn't lock and it would be easy for someone to get into her room with the risk of her being attacked. The manager, reassuringly, told her that they had CCTV if she was & they would be able to trace her attacker!! Basically he couldn't care less. Most of the staff were surly and found a smile difficult to muster - until our last day when they fell over themselves to be helpful [wonder why?!?!]. There is a small gift shop in the hotel which wasn't much use because it was never open.

Room Tip: It seems that whatever type of room you book it's pot luck whether you get what you book and pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed there for 3 night in August. The location and view are very good, but everything else is really below average. The reception is poorly lit and smells of mildew. Our room was on the first floor with a sea view. This is both good and bad, as you have a view but it's noisy if you keep the window open. The carpet of the corridor was absolutely filthy and smelly.
The room had plenty if cracked tiles, the doors of the wardrobe had to be handled with care. The shower was pretty small and the tap sink came off, plus the sink was extremely low.
I had breakfast once and it was OK. Overall, it was not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights, during our recent visit in malta, good location, walking distance to major restaurants, and clubs, but far enough not to hear them...
Pool up front the hotel is extra paid, what is stupid, no good beach in the area, strongly recommend rent the car, but be careful, they are driving on the left side, and streets are very narrow.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Customer service is pretty bad, they make you leave the key in reception which I don't like as half the time i went past the desk nobody was on it and anyone could have took a key and ransacked the room.

wifi doesnt work, maid service is beyond terrible. paper thin walls.

Would never return to this dump

Room Tip: AC units are decent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel was old, but it was what I expected it to be like. The breakfast wasn't that good, but was eatable.. The worse part about my stay was that the room having paper thin walls. I was up for 3-nights having to listen to the couple next door in the "throws of passion" and I was none to happy about it. I complained to the front desk, but they did nothing about it. The hotel is right across the street from the Neptune pool and getting woke up early every morning to the whistles of swim practice after not getting any sleep was kind of rude. But hey, what can ya do about it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony/sea view, it makes the stay much nicer..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraVan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.7 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#21 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Julian's Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Julian's Bay Hotel

Property: St. Julian's Bay Hotel
Address: 48 Main Street | St Julians, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Julian's Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Julians Bay Hotel Malta is a modern three star hotel fantastically situated on the seafront of St Julians Promenade, a short distance to the popular night spot Paceville as well as a short walk to Sliema Centre. The hotel has 85 rooms including 15 seafront balcony rooms with exquisite sea views. All rooms have a private bathroom or shower, finished in a modern style and to high standards. The hotel is complimented by a lovely lounge with an internet cafe and free WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Guest rooms at St Julian's Bay Hotel, are individually decorated in soft colour tones with complementing soft furnishings and artwork. Elegant in style, with modern wood furnishings, rooms at St Julians Bay Hotel are airy, comfortable and functional with single, twin or double beds, large work area and desk. You will find quality features in all rooms including free WIFI, TV with satellite, room safe as well as air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Julian's Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julians Bay Hotel
St. Julian's Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing