We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling, but cheap” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Julian's Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Julian's Bay Hotel
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Appalling, but cheap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Staff was quite friendly, and gave us a free two hour check out extension. However, the door handle came off while trying to unlock the door at the first night. Toilet faucet got blocked up, and the hotel room looked like it needed some maintenance. However, we weren't expecting anything better, since it was quite cheap. Would recommend this place for short stays only. Oh, and if you plan to do computer work make sure that you buy a good mobile data plan, since wifi in the rooms is not really usable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romolus865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    153
    213
    126
    151
See reviews for
66
279
55
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benghazi, Libya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

The view in front of the hotel is amazing!! Saint Julian bay is lovely at night and day time,the hotel is good value for the money,good breakfast, wi-fi is strong at the lobby,loved the helpful staff.

The area is lively and fun with lots of attractions especially night time it's the place to be in.

Will visit again next time I'm in Malta :) .

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MUHANAD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean, well maintained and had good service. Did not take breakfast, as plenty if local cafés available. Requested a change of room due to a noise of unknown origin. Possibly a lift mechanism...but it pulses 6 seconds in, 10 seconds off Right through the night. Management said they would try to ascertain the source, fix it or move rooms. A new room that was larger, me at that the noise, though still present, did I not reverberate around the room. Possibly if the air conditioning had been put on it might have drowned out the noise, but it was not hot enough. Poor sound insulation. It was possible to hear conversation of other guests while in bathroom of room 605, due to some connecting duct, as the nearest room was on other side of the stairwell. Wifi in Reception was fast. Not much use in the room but this was not a problem. A room far far away from any lift might resolve this challenge.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

having read reviews i wasnt expecting much . we arrived to drilling and kango hammers as work going on in building next door. but didnt notice it any more after that. Staff very friendly and helpful. especially Olan ? spelling.
Room 402 comfortable and clean and quiet. hairdryer , bathroom clean. Air conditioning in room but didnt need it. Fresh bed linen and towels every day. Balcony view . Glad we upgraded. It was nice in the evening to relax on balcony and admire views and watch the world go by. As with all hotels in the area if you can go for a sea view. Otherwise looking out on to dark streets.
The safe wasnt working in our room and they got engineers etc to check it out but no good. Every time i called to the desk they apologised about it - I had no problem as I was able to leave things in the hotel safe.
Lift supposed to hold 4 people - at a tight squeeze I'd say. Didnt mind walking the flights of stairs to 4th floor.
Restaurant for breakfast on 1st floor - open from 7.30 to 9.30 am.
Buffet style - 3 choices of cereal. 2 yoghurts choices with fruit salad. Loved their selection of meats. Fruit, boiled eggs. hot buffet of sausages, scrambled egg and beans.
Machine that made different coffees, hot chocolate which i had 2-3 of every morning.good selection of teas, sweet breads , jams , nutella Great selection of breads including brioche which they made in the hotel., and toaster. Staff very friendly and constantly replacing food supplies. Plain decor but comfortable. No restaurant for dinner in hotel itself.
We ate at U Bistrot down the street recommended by reception staff, loved it there. The city of London pub nearby didnt visit there but always looked busy. Boccocino restaurant next door to hotel but didnt eat there. Ate in the Dubliner pub nearer to St Julians in Spinola Bay a short walk along the promenade , food and staff great. Loads of restaurants there - Cuba recommended by reception staff but booked out the night we went to eat there. Ate at san Giuliano restaurant but not that impressed expensive for quality of food served.
So many others to choose from. And pop in to Toni s for a snack or a drink .Wonder local man - great personality. I loved to go there late at night for a hot chocolate and all the local would be there.
Hotel in GREAT LOCATION really. Always felt safe.A guide on a tour that we took was inquiring about hotel as she said the location was nearly the best on the island. Speaking of tours - tour agent in the lobby if you want to book any tours. we didnt avail of their services. And cold drinks machine from what I can remember.
Excellent bus service and buses only 6.50 for weekly ticket.
Buses can be busy so be prepared to wait especially in peak times.
Lovely walk along the promenade either direction.We walked or got the bus didnt uses taxis
Small souvenir shop in the lobby sells water but expensive but handy if stuck. owner very friendly if you want to have a browse no hassle. for water walk towards Spinola Bay and there is an excellent supermarket Park towers - 2 litre water 59 cent and great selection of wines and beers and everything really. All shops closed on sundays and public holidays.Overall had a fantastic stay and would stay here again in room 402 please

Room Tip: would recommend a room with sea view and /or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cumba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Very clean however the beds feel like sleeping on a floor, there are no tea and coffee making facilities, the hot tap is very dangerous in the shower with scalding hot water leaking and extremely hot to turn the tap off. The lift is tiny and doest feel safe, feels like Im on tower of terror ride. It is ok for a short stay but not for a long holiday.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank simoneg295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Spacious rooms, beds very uncomfortable but after 2 nights my body sort if adjusted to it. No tea/coffee making facilities. Glad we brought our own. Be very cautious - especially with young children- the hot water gets so hot it could scald. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and there are plenty more if you are prepared to walk. Just be aware that one evening we went to paceville and we couldn't be bothered to walk back (approx 30 mins) and we got a taxi that cost us 10 Euros which I thought was quite steep seeing as the same fare in the UK for same distance is about £5. We only needed the hotel as somewhere to wash and sleep and it served its purpose for the short stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandieGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Hotel is very clean and welcoming. Our room 403 had a magnificent balcony with beautiful views over the bay. Avoid Boccocino Restaurant next door - awful food AND COFFEE, awful staff. Also, Kazan restaurant who can ruin chips, roast potatoes, veal (not) liver and other. The City of London pub -n50 metres away is great for drinks and hospitality. Further back along Main Street, the Dubliner has the best food in area.
Malta has one saving grace - Valetta, he rest of island is coarse and run down.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.7 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#21 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.5 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#20 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Julian's Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Julian's Bay Hotel

Property: St. Julian's Bay Hotel
Address: 48 Main Street | St Julians, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Julian's Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Julians Bay Hotel Malta is a modern three star hotel fantastically situated on the seafront of St Julians Promenade, a short distance to the popular night spot Paceville as well as a short walk to Sliema Centre. The hotel has 85 rooms including 15 seafront balcony rooms with exquisite sea views. All rooms have a private bathroom or shower, finished in a modern style and to high standards. The hotel is complimented by a lovely lounge with an internet cafe and free WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Guest rooms at St Julian's Bay Hotel, are individually decorated in soft colour tones with complementing soft furnishings and artwork. Elegant in style, with modern wood furnishings, rooms at St Julians Bay Hotel are airy, comfortable and functional with single, twin or double beds, large work area and desk. You will find quality features in all rooms including free WIFI, TV with satellite, room safe as well as air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your St. Julian's Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julians Bay Hotel
St. Julian's Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing