We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bare bones”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Julian's Bay Hotel
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It was serviceable. Clean but dingy around the edges. The a/c worked. It was clean but the linens were frayed. It was fine if you were looking for a place to sleep at night and not much more out of a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Lovely hotel. Excellent breakfast and very comfortable rooms. Staff very attentive. Swimming pool on the roof with great views. Lots of nice bars etc with a cool marina. Busses cheap to travel on and you can visit the island in no time

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel, especially the restaurant, is in poor condition. The breakfast price is too high, since coffee is horrible and if you are thirsty water is yellow and the place is dark and the air conditioning doesn´t . Not recommended at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank traveling_440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here with my family for a week,it was the worst hotel ive ever stayed in.we changed rooms as there was no air con in the first one, no fridge then the lift didnt work and we were on the 5 th floor! It had no bar therefore no entertainment. The only thing that was good was its location.ideal for youngsters looking for A cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stay well clear of this one. I understand the term you get what you pay for but this shouldn't even be rated 3 star but more like a hostel. Our toilet was broken on arrival. Sink cracked. Safe not working and so asked to change room as you would. Instead courteous staff manager said outright no you are wrong..but then surprise surprise took men and 45min to fix it. Change room to let guests relax. No. We had to sit there and wait and watch while 4 men casually walked in and out with no idea how to fix a toilet by looks of it. Avoid hotel my recommendation will take relaxing holiday and any indulgence away very quickly.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Radhika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room clean small bathroom with very little shelving. Breakfast was adequate nice fresh bread, fresh fruit and tinned fruit. Cooked breakfast which I did not try. Hotel in a very convenient position. Helpful staff. Would use this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here with a group of 18 people for three days. We've been to Malta 4 times now and this was by far our worst experience at a hotel. There is extensive construction on the entry way to the hotel (and throughout) which was quite the eye sore. Check-in was easy enough though having to hand write everything is bit archaic. The elevator is tiny, enough room for two people or one person and luggage. The headroom on the stairs was not good (it was a tight fit for me and I'm on 5'4"). And then the rooms. One of the couples had cockroaches in their bathroom. Our room was dismal at best. The floors were sticky and dirty. There was no remote for our A/C so it was miserably hot. We requested a remote four times and despite being assured we'd have one within an hour each time, nothing ever came. Finally I went down (36 hours after checking in) and was forced to demand resolution. To my surprise the desk attendant simply reached into a cabinet behind the desk and pulled out a remote. Why exactly did the 3 people before him not do this? Of course it was a universal remote that they didn't have the codes for so we had to look it up on our own. And then the A/C would shut off every 5 minutes while we were in bed because of a poorly placed motion sensor. The shower wouldn't drain so I'd have to shut the water off every two minutes to wait so I didn't flood the whole place. The shower doors were broken and wouldn't shut. The bathroom was pretty disgusting in general with dirt and grime in every corner. And then there was the housekeeping staff. The morning we were checking out they came by at 7:30 am to see if we were gone. Then they just walked into the room about an hour later as my husband was in the shower and I was getting dressed. They just walked in! It was horrifying! And there was no apology, rather they just came back every 15 minutes despite us giving them a firm time of when we'd be leaving. This was an absolutely HORRIBLE experience with the location being the only redeemable quality. It seems like a great deal and I have lower expectations sense it is only a 3 star hotel. But the standards there don't warrant one star, let alone 3. And no apologies or anything were ever offered to the numerous issues we had (especially sense we booked 8 rooms). Avoid this place. There are much better deals available. This placed ruined was supposed to be a great trip.

Room Tip: Don't do it. This place is horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.7 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#23 of 33 in Saint Julian's
999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#13 of 28 in Sliema
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#22 of 33 in Saint Julian's
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#17 of 33 in Saint Julian's
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Julian's Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Julian's Bay Hotel

Address: 48 Main Street | St Julians, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £22 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Julian's Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Julians Bay Hotel Malta is a modern three star hotel fantastically situated on the seafront of St Julians Promenade, a short distance to the popular night spot Paceville as well as a short walk to Sliema Centre. The hotel has 85 rooms including 15 seafront balcony rooms with exquisite sea views. All rooms have a private bathroom or shower, finished in a modern style and to high standards. The hotel is complimented by a lovely lounge with an internet cafe and free WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Guest rooms at St Julian's Bay Hotel, are individually decorated in soft colour tones with complementing soft furnishings and artwork. Elegant in style, with modern wood furnishings, rooms at St Julians Bay Hotel are airy, comfortable and functional with single, twin or double beds, large work area and desk. You will find quality features in all rooms including free WIFI, TV with satellite, room safe as well as air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Julian's Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julians Bay Hotel
St. Julian's Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing