We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
Review of St. Rafael`s

St. Rafael`s
Ranked #231 of 318 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
2 reviews
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

We ate here on out 2nd night in nice location but food was terrible. Had garlic mushrooms to start, these we okay however did not come with bread just a plate of mushrooms! Lamb and suckling pig were on the menu however we were told " NO we don't have" no sorry just no, they also didn't have apple juice, and the orange juice tasted like flat fanta. We had mains of lamb kebabs which were full of fat and my friend had spaghetti Bolognese, wanted wholemeal spaghetti which was on the menu, however they didn't have, and it tasted like a packet mix sauce, we also had garlic bread dripping in butter.

Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    27
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a let down!!!”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We thought as the location was so lovely the food would be too but it was a big let down.
The food was terrible and the service even worse. The restaurant does get busy as people love the location, right on Spinola Bay. I think because of their location they think they can get away with this quality of food and service but I will not recommend it or go again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Juv18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stomach turning food”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Ordered Calamari which turned my stomach when I saw it. It was swimming in tomato sauce with potato slices and was rolled into a sausage that looked disgusting. We later found out from our guide book that it in the top 10 of restaurants to visit?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SanneGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice view, decent food”
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Went there for dinner, service was ok as it was still early (7pm). Sat outside to enjoy the stunning view during sunset. Food and pricing was decent but nothing special.

Helpful?
Thank onlyplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“slow service - average food”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

No major issues other than waiting over an hour for our food.
Not great food but ok. One of our guests had only half of what he expected in his seafood meal and my seafood salad tasted of nothing but everyone else enjoyed their food.
Fine for a family meal but nothing special

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spaaddict67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Rafael`s also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to St. Rafael`s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing