We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, view and food”
Review of Dolce Vita

Dolce Vita
Ranked #80 of 311 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Specialising in exquisitely prepared seafood, the restaurant also enjoys one of the most picturesque views. The attention to detail and fine decor redefines any fine dining experience.
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, view and food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great location, view and food.
We loved our diner here. Great food menu and wine selection!!!
Not to expensive for what they offer!!!
Great culinary experience!!! LOVED it!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelT2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    125
    70
    45
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wine sales scam”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Dear readers recently travelled to Malta where I took my three +18 Children for a May Day lunch to Dolce Vita in Spinola Bay in St Julians, upon arrival on this busy bank holiday where almost all other restaurant in that area were fully booked this was completely empty which made us very suspicious however we proceeded to order the starters at which point the head waiter brought the wine list and when my daughter asked if they had a fruity Sicilian wine he recommended a wine not on the wine list but from Piemonte in northern Italy and without asking the price I agreed to his recommendation. During the entire course of the meal the head waiter was constantly topping up our wine glasses which almost became irritating and continued without even asking to opened a second bottle and continued topping up our glasses as if we were in a drinking competition. The meal itself was very good the fish was fresh and well cooked however the joy was taken out of the meal once the bill was presented €548.50c of which €350 was for the wine yes he was pouring €175 a bottle wine down us like it was some €6 house wine without uttering a word to us about the price. It was then apparent why the restaurant was completely empty and why the waiter was literally force feeding us the wine. We were all shocked and horrified considering that that single 2 course meal for 4 that lasted 2 hours cost more than my last round trip flight to Punta Cana. I found out afterwards that the proprietor of the restaurant is Sicilian so please travelers be warned be very cautious when ordering your wine at Dolce Vita

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank osthusoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A cut above”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The whole Dolce Vita experience came as such a pleasant surprise after the verbal shouting match with a manager of a nearby competitor the previous night over an unexplained hour plus wait for a pizza. The top floor reception area is extremely slick. The staff are knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. The restaurant has nice views over the water and (importantly) has ample space between the tables, which makes it feel like a very personal / romantic experience.

The menu was much more extensive than I thought it would be. We had sumptuous fish and beef mains and a brilliant dessert. The wine list was so extensive it came in the form of a book, and even the lower priced wines were superb.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damien_Marchesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastisk seafood”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Nice place. Lovely ambiance. First Class seafood. With an exceptionell View overklig the harbour. Desserts To die for. Complementery Grappe With the Bill. Whatever more To ask for!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Cross
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fish restaurant primarily so limited for other diners if in a party”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was in a group of 6, and had stuffed rolled chicken. Was too dry as probably had sat too long whilst other fish dishes came together for our other diners, and plate almost cold. Splodge of sauce did not taste of much and accompanying sauté potatoes and broccoli were fairly sparse so whole dish disappointing, as rest of party liked their fish dishes. Wine good, staff attentive, a stylish place, and nice views

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CattyLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolce Vita also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing