We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolce Vita

Dolce Vita
Ranked #78 of 306 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Specialising in exquisitely prepared seafood, the restaurant also enjoys one of the most picturesque views. The attention to detail and fine decor redefines any fine dining experience.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had been looking forward to a meal at Dolce Vita, great location and a lovely looking restaurant, we had a table outside with a fab view. But the service was average - lack of attention to detail, no glasses on the table, had to ask for bread twice, long waits for everything. Then the pasta vongole was full of sand - that was well dealt with and the meal taken off the bill - but overall we expected a lot better from what is billed as top restaurant in Malta. Sadly we would not recommend it in an area where you are spoilt for choice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    119
    67
    43
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here on our holiday in Malta.
Food and service very good.
Amazing views sat on the balcony ...
Chris & Sally.

Helpful?
Thank Cew73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St julians
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shameful for Italians to serve such terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My girlfriend and I live went to this restaurant on the premise that fish served by Italians must be good. Plus it's a posh restaurant which is quite popular, so we thought we're set for a good meal. We booked a table outside and they denied that we did. Not an attempt was made to excuse themselves, they just said 'well, a lot of people call everyday'. After some bickering a table magically appeared outside. With regards to the food... We go to a lot of restaurants of this price bracket, but man this was abysmal. The raw antipasti were boring and tasteless. The pasta with lobster just tasted of tomato sauce although the pasta itself was well cooked. But the biggest disappointment was the lobster, we specifically asked the manager if it was fresh but it was terrible; We LITERALLY could not cut through it, it was as hard as burnt meat and tasteless. The restaurant oozes the aura of an expensive impeccably run joint, however the service is as good as a sloppy burger and chips eatery; plates are just 'dropped' in front of you with no sense of courtesy or greet. Honestly shameful. The wine sommelier was the only person with a smile and good attitude, happy to show his helpful expertise. Overall: TERRIBLE, best avoided.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank IslanderMTL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service, cold broccoli, average food, no chance of a dessert”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We attended a business conference in May staying at the Hilton, which is a great hotel with excellent service. Every restaurant we visited during our stay was good in different ways and on the last night we thought we would treat ourselves to the Dolce Vita as we had spotted the location from a restaurant nearby. The location is great but the food and service is not so good. It started well and went down hill with a 22 minute gap between the very average starter and our main course. The main course was ok the broccoli was cold but despite our attempts to attract the attention of staff we were left unattended and even had to resort to pouring our own wine. Eventually two grubby dessert menus were plonked on our table with no explanation. 40 minutes later after waving at the staff on numerous occasions we decided to leave. We had met some really nice people in the restaurant and didn't wish to spoil their evening with our complaint and therefore we withdrew to the bar where we were told we couldn't pay. I explained that it was perhaps better that we paid in the bar than complain in the restaurant. All the restaurants in the area that we tried are much better than the Dolce Vita. We did hear sorry once but too little much too late.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Excellent food ,lots of good wine recommended by a sommelier who really seemed to enjoy his work. Lots of delicate fish dishes.
This was value for money

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolce Vita also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing