We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real surprise”
Review of Lulu Restaurant

Lulu Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We set out on foot from the Hilton on Monday evening 7th April aiming for Spinola Bay and took the side streets to avoid the traffic choked main road and came across this place. We reached Spinola, looked in a few places and returned to Lulu's because we were intrigued by the menu and the 'upscale' presentation of the place.

We were not disappointed. As non meat eaters it is common for us to be able to choose vegetarian starters but rarely are we offered a choice of vegetarian options as main courses. Lulu's was the exception and I am pleased to report our meals were very good. I recommend the mushroom and brioche starter and the melanzani parmiagani(excuse spelling please!) Service was excellent . Like others I could not manage dessert and noted the pricing issue of paying full price for 2 courses - but I did not mention this to the waiter because I felt my meal was worth every cent of 29 euro. We had a great evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skyecorrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    248
    60
    27
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good surprise”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We had our last diner in Lulu in Malta. What a good surprise! The food was super and the service is great. We spent a great family time there!

Helpful?
Thank Xia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Worth a Detour”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Presumably in order to attract customers even while lacking a view, Nicky - the owner - came up with a clever formula: free choice from a fairly extensive menu, namely a starter, a main course, and a desert at a (relatively moderate) set price. The food is excellent, and the service very friendly. No wonder so many reviewers like myself recommend this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GranZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrivenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good but disappointing service and price”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The idea is good and the food was really good - local and beautifully cooked - but the me he seemed to suggest that three courses were 29 euros, but if you had two courses of would be 22 euros. We couldn't eat three courses so asked for the bill after two, only to be told that 29 euros was the flat rate with or with dessert. 22 euros was for a main course only. The waiting staff we nice but seemed rushed, especially the head waiter/ wine waiter. We waited. Long time for our main but they cleared the plates within second of us finishing our food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Little Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Food was excellent. Strongly recommend the Ravioliis and eggplant parmesan, perfect feast for a vegetarian like myself. Service was great as well, they were very accomodating with food requests and even surprised us at the end with a platter of deserts so we could try them all. This restaurant and the staff, especially the manager, are gems. Must go here if you are in Malta :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelby_i90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lulu Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Lulu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing