We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food & Excellent Service”
Review of Kandles Restaurant

Kandles Restaurant
Ranked #240 of 318 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Sliema, Malta
1 review
“Good Food & Excellent Service”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I went in this restaurant with low expectations but I was positively surprised with the good food and a very friendly service. I went with 5 members of my family, 3 of them ate the dentici fish another one ate breaded veal with lemon sauce and I ate fillet steak called fillet la isola topped with a very nice and unusual sauce consisting of cognac, sun-dried tomatoes, maltese sausage and goat cheese. All of us were very pleased with the food and I can say that I will go again to eat that fillet la isola.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    11
    12
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Arrived too early!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I think we arrived too early, we got there befor the chef. The order was taken and we were still the only customers there.
The drinks arrived and shortly after the starters. Pleasant and eatable. The main course's were Rabbit and Beef stew. The Rabbit came with a side order of potatoes and salad. The wine that was included never arrived. The sweet was hot pastries and squirty cream out of a can. We probably won't go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Banbury1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Maltese traditional meal”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We went to this restaurant as it was close proximity to the Valentina Hotel where we were staying. They promised traditional meals with free wine so we decided to give it a try. Two of us had the lampuki,which is a Maltese fish usually eaten in the fall. It was very flavorable and presented with potatoes and a cabbage vegetable dish made with egg and bacon- very tasty. For dessert we had a fig dessert which was also tasty. The other person had the BBQ chicken breast and was not fond of the sauce used. The wine, both the red and white was tried, was to our liking. Tea and cappuccino was very good to end our meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 155032Traveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Good value and service”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Went there for my girlfriends birthday and we both went for the Maltese set menus 3 courses and glass of local wine for under 20 Euros and all dishes where lovely the desert was a little burnt but to be honest that is just being picky about things. The hosts where friendly and attentive and food was served promptly. Would definitely recommend. The only reason why it gets 4 unlike the 5 it deserves is that the toilet had no paper and no way to dry your hands.

Helpful?
Thank jasoncb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quirky Maltese Restaurant”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Quirky restaurant where the cutlery and crockery don't match which fits in with the hap hazard decor, this said the food was good and simple. Cost on par with elsewhere, waiter was helpful in his own way (fitted in with the decor)

Worth a visit to travel back in time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kandles Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Kandles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing